We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“flashback to the seventies” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside Inn

Hillside Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Rosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside Inn
Save Saved
You added Hillside Inn to your Saves list
2901 Fourth St., Santa Rosa, CA 95409   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Italy, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“flashback to the seventies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

felt cozy, like being at your great aunts home. you have to pay for wifi. great value for a one night stay

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob C, General Manager at Hillside Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Hi and thanks for your review. I just wanted to clarify that WiFi is free in all of our rooms for all of our guests, so that there is no confusion with anyone reading this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    16
    8
    16
See reviews for
23
22
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, CA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This family owned property is a pleasant change from pricey chain hotels in the Santa Rosa area. It's a well-maintained older property with large, clean rooms, pretty landscaping and owners who work hard to provide guests with a good value and a comfortable stay. Many rooms have small kitchen areas; some are full suites with a 2nd bedroom and separate kitchen. Hillside has a great location by Montgomery Shopping Center. There is an excellent restaurant on the property and several other good places within reasonable walking distance. "Downtown" Santa Rosa is a short straight drive away. We rarely use the pool, but it makes a pretty place to visit or read on warm days. Hillside became our home away from home in Santa Rosa nearly a decade ago. Few places stand up to repeat visits the way this one has.

Room Tip: We've been comfortable in various rooms. Some rooms have separate kitchens for which there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I was so pleasantly surprised by how big our room was! There was only a suite available, so we took it (especially b/c the price for a suite here compared to a normal room elsewhere) and wow, it was big! Two bedrooms, plenty of other space to move around. but I peeked into other rooms at checkout time, and even the smallest rooms were very large and have kitchenettes. Especially pleasing considering the price! The pool is big, and not cold, and there are mature trees, and it's just a pretty place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This cute inn right in Santa Rosa is very affordable and in a great location. The rooms were well kept and have ample room. Nice kitchenette. We left some items after check out and the housekeeper had them all turned in and waiting for us. The front desk service was great. I would stay there anytime I am in Santa Rosa.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I love this place. Easy to book. Large, comfortable, quiet rooms. And very affordable. It's the only place I'll stay when in Santa Rosa.

Room Tip: I usually stay in the back where it's completely quiet. Never stayed out front, so not sure how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Hillside Inn was one of the most affordable accommodations we found in California, and offered the most space. We had high expectations since it was off season, and were very happy with the price, size of the bed, working kitchen, and friendly staff. It was way too cold to try the pool sadly. We stayed an extra night to enjoy the Charles Shultz Museum and more wineries. Jeffrey's for breakfast was amazing- best banana pancakes and great service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northglenn, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was our second stay at The Hillside Inn and it did not disappoint. The room was immaculate and the housekeeper a gem, making for a great experience. Guests should also check out Jeffrey's Hillside for breakfast which has great espresso drinks and generous entrees. The Hillside Inn sits on busy California Highway 12 which is both a blessing, centrally located in the Wine Country, and a curse, somewhat noisy. The Hillside is a tremendous value in a clean and well kempt environment.

Room Tip: For those bothered by road noise, ask for a room on the backside of the inn - much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Address: 2901 Fourth St., Santa Rosa, CA 95409
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the heart of Sonoma County the Hillside Inn offers a variety of accommodations, comfort, and in-city conveniences. Located just a few blocks from village shops and restaurants and two miles from downtown Santa Rosa the Hillside Inn is ideally located. Guest rooms are affordable and cozy, a ‘Home Away from Home’. Come and discover nearby area wineries for tasting and tours, wander the scenic north coast, or explore the towering redwoods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Santa Rosa
Hillside Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.