We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Garden Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Las Vegas NV
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Great Overnight Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We seem to have good luck with Best Western because we have yet to stay at one that was subpar. This place is no exception.

BW Garden Inn is at a great location, seconds from the nearest 101 freeway exit. There's a Costco mere minutes away where we were able to refill the rental. And it's just a short hop into the "downtown" area where you'd be remiss not to indulge in some fine Russian River Brews.

You never know with these places, but our room was great—nice and clean. The bed was comfortable. There's a certain convenience factor with being able to park right in front of your room. I'll say that the bathroom was downright tiny, but still adequate.

We only spent one night, but I'd definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for responding.I am so glad that you appreciate an older property, and noticed that it was well kept. I thank you for your business. Please come see us again when you are in the area.
Donna Renteria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    142
    74
    28
    17
See reviews for
105
140
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orem, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Its a dirty city with a dirty hotel. Over priced for the crappy area with no continental breakfast! Instead there's a shack "restaurant" that charges you $3 for oatmeal! Carpets were nasty in the room & don't shut your door too hard or the tv quits working!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Jessica, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, Sounds like you were not happy with Santa Rosa, or our property. We have a lot of choices of hotels in the area. I do hope that some day you do come back to our fine city.
Donna Renteria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hood river, oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel has obviously been around a long time, but it is well-kept and conveniently located. It was a great choice for travelling with pet. Room was spacious, and very clean. Nice little cafe on premises with full breakfast (for addl. cost, but less than eating out at a restaurant).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Pebbers 60. You are so right we have been around for about 45 years. But we do keep up with all the new amenities that make our hotel. With in the next 3 years there are going to be a lot of hotel improvements with our property, included a hot tub. I thank you for having breakfast in our cafe, do come see us again.

Donna Renteria (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverton, Oregon, Usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We had a nice room near the pool..would not have been so nice if a lot of people were using the pool. Had to find some chairs so we could sit outside the room by the pool. This motel does not have a breakfast program, rather has their own café so you can BUY breakfast. Not so nice. But the room was clean and comfortable. Beds did not face the TV. Would probably look for another place with a breakfast next time. Just too used to having this amenity!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back, away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you Diana, I glad that you had a room by the pool, it,s nice in the summer to be able to sit outside your room. I just want to let you know that the televisions do swivel so you can view better.
Sorry about having to purchase breakfast.. Our cafe is very reasonable, and you do get a full breakfast menu. Starting next week we will start serving a evening menu also. We do hope to see you in the future. Again thank you

Donna Renteria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our room was clean. There was no bathtub, but a nice shower. No free breakfast, which is usually customary at Best Western. Two lights in our room did not work. The staff members were very friendly. We would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for responding, We appreciate your comments. I wish we would have known that there was two lights out, we would have been more than happy to replace the bulbs. You do know that each Best Western is individually owned, so not all have a free breakfast.. Little do you know you are actually paying a higher rate for that free breakfast. This way the way we have it you get a full breakfast at a reasonable price, I do hope you will come stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

While returning to San Francisco after visiting friends in Fort Bragg, we dropped in here in Santa Rosa off Hwy 101. One of the late afternoon staff members recommended dining at nearby Willie Bird's Restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal there. The accommodations here are comfortable enough for weary travelers to find peace and rest before heading out again in the morning.

There's a well manicured garden area near the little breakfast joint on the property called Garden Cafe. The breakfast was one of the most enjoyable we had during our two weeks in California!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you Elnakaz1. I do hope the rest of your road trip is good. Thank you for staying with us, and I am glad you enjoyed your meal at Willie Birds. Hope to see you next time you are in our area.

Donna Renteria (GM)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Although I used to live in Santa Rosa, or in the area, for approx. 30 years I always knew of The Best Western Garden Inn, and have driven passed it numerous times. I always viewed it as an old motel. I am so glad I booked a stay last year as this is now our and our friends favorite place to stay! The rooms are uber clean and very attractively furnished. The rooms with a queen bed are comfortable and inviting. And are nestled around on of the two swimming pools. The 2 king, smoking rooms are very large and spacious!! Extremely attractive décor, excellent ventilation, and wonderful feel to the place. This is a beautiful, safe, and quiet place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you denises 195. You know when you live in Santa Rosa, like you said you drive by the hotel a lot, but never know what the property looks like, unless you drive in, and view the rooms. I am so happy that you found us. Come see us again.
Donna Renteria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garden Inn

Address: 1500 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tour the Sonoma Wine Country while staying at this beautiful, garden setting Santa Rosa hotel.The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, located in Santa Rosa, California features 79 guest rooms and a beautifully landscaped quiet garden. Hotel guests are only minutes from Sonoma Wine country and all of the area attractions which include the Sonoma County Fairgrounds, the Russian River Redwoods and downtown Santa Rosa.All spacious well-appointed guest rooms come equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Guests can start the day off with breakfast at the coffee shop located on the hotel premises. The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn also features two outdoor seasonal pools, dry cleaning services and free parking.Families will appreciate being only one mile from the Snoopy Museum. The Luther Burbank Gardens and the Jesse Peter Native American Art Museum are also close to the hotel. Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN Garden Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Santa Rosa
Best Western Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Best Western
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.