We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paid more for less...believe web pictures were decidedly misleading” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #9 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Paid more for less...believe web pictures were decidedly misleading”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Booked this room a few months ahead of time for nicer accommodations in Santa Rosa, while we attended the Kendall-Jackson Heirloom Tomato Festival. I recall researching the website and the reviews of this property, noting others' comments that some rooms at this Garden Inn were quite small. Recommendations were to pay a little more and secure a better (thus bigger) room here. We did this -- paying approximately $600 for 3 nights. I do have to say, while on the road we needed to cancel our first night, while keeping our planned last 2 night stay. Michelle (on the phone at the 800 number) was very helpful in arranging to cancel our first night, while keeping the remainder of our reservation intact (they were quite booked this particular weekend). We were disappointed to be placed in what appeared to be "annexed small units." Although, clean and adequately furnished, they were decidedly very different and inferior to those pictured on the webpage! We had no sliding door leading to a garden or pool view from our unit, standard motel window view of parking lot, beyond tiny bathroom with small cubicle shower stall, with a compact erratic refrigerator in which we lost all of our freshly purchased farm produce, no table, just basic motel accommodations at $219 a night. (Ironically, we paid merely $10 less at this Best Western property than we paid the night prior at a luxury resort with an oceanfront room and a gorgeous sunset view). The room pictures posted at this Best Western website look more luxurious, but rooms are really closer to "Motel 6" in quality. I have stayed historically at gorgeous Best Western Inns, but this one was way overpriced and disappointing at best.

Room Tip: Verify exactly which room you are booking. We booked and paid for a nicer room on this property, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you Sophia, Please accept my sincere apology. Sounds like you booked a standard king
These are the smallest rooms on the property, with very small bathrooms, The deluxe kings have
a lot bigger bathroom. i do hope you had a good time at the Tomato festival, The rates for this weekend of the festival are very high, most of the hotels in the area for this event are a lot higher.
I do hope if you come next year you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    114
    56
    24
    14
See reviews for
78
115
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Best Western Santa Rosa is the best place to stop on the way to the Redwoods. We loved having the breakfast cafe right there on the grounds. The one story garden accomodations were so quiet and a perfect setting. The location is so nice, lots of places to eat and shopping before you get into some pretty isolated areas of Northern California. The rooms are clean and the refrigerator is a nice addition.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you Tomas for taking the time to input your comments on this web site.. I am happy to see that you had a good stay at our property. Please do not hesitate to stop in when you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talent, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel. Stay elsewhere, there is another Best Western in town that is VERY nice, Santa Rosa is a beautiful town. We had so many problems here that it really made our stop in Santa Rosa stressful, I so wish we would have picked somewhere else to stay. The management does not seem to care either, in fact if you look at the smart comments to response to negative reviews when people are not happy you will see.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Julyjen 34. Thank you for completing the survey about your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team, we do apologize for not exceeding you expectations. Please let us know what we can do to make your next trip a better experience. And also the problem you encountered on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were looking at property and needed a place to sleep 1 night. This hotel was clean but we stayed in front unit. Too much road noise. $100. too much for the quality and size of the room. Price did not include breakfast as most Great Westerns do. We enjoyed our coffee and quiche bread at Flying goat coffee house in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent survey. Yes I see had a room in the front section of the hotel. When you stay with us again request a room away from the road. I do hope you give us another chance. The Flying Goat is one of my favorite placed to go. I am glad you found them. Yes most Best Westerns do have a free breakfast, but not all do. There are some that actually have a cafe that serve a hot breakfast cooked to order. Which we keep the rates reasonable for our guest. If we can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

For $200/night, I expected a little better than an average hotel. The room was small, but clean and recently remodeled. The bathroom layout was awful with the shower door opening opposite what it was supposed to so you have to climb over the toilet or squeeze between it and the door. The bed was comfortable, but facing the wrong direction for the TV. This was the third time I've stayed here, but first time since the remodel and price increase. I won't be staying here again. Disappointed...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent survey. We are actually getting ready to remodel the rooms in the garden area this winter. I do hope that you will give us another try. The rates are higher this time if the year,
Al the hotels have raised there rates this year. I do apology for not meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I don't usually stay in MOTELs but budget was a problem on this trip. I found this motel to be WAY better than I expected. Right off the freeway, so it was easy to find, but the rooms admitted NO traffic noise. The appearance at arrival was surprisingly nice. The room was spacious and elegant with all the amenities of a high end hotel. The staff were superb. And I especially appreciated the breakfast cafe, with REAL, HOT food, not just a lobby of cold cereal and cold muffins. I enjoyed the pool, which was heated to the perfect temperature. I have never had a better stay anywhere and the value for the price was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you Lorna T, I do appreciate your comments, I am glad our property was more than you expected. Please do not hesitate to call us when you are in town again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very nice room however only one entrance of highway and it was a little tricky if you didn't know where you were going. Very friendly staff. I like the little night lights that help you see your way in the dark without turning the full light on.

Room Tip: Try to check in during the day so you can see the road turn better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your input, Knowing that was staff was friendly is always a good feeling. Sounds like you enjoyed the pool. And yes the little light makes it nice when you first enter the room. Not over powering. Again thank you Auroa B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garden Inn

Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Santa Rosa
Best Western Garden Hotel
Best Western Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Best Western
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County
Address: 1500 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Garden Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tour the Sonoma Wine Country while staying at this beautiful, garden setting Santa Rosa hotel.The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, located in Santa Rosa, California features 79 guest rooms and a beautifully landscaped quiet garden. Hotel guests are only minutes from Sonoma Wine country and all of the area attractions which include the Sonoma County Fairgrounds, the Russian River Redwoods and downtown Santa Rosa.All spacious well-appointed guest rooms come equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Guests can start the day off with breakfast at the coffee shop located on the hotel premises. The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn also features two outdoor seasonal pools, dry cleaning services and free parking.Families will appreciate being only one mile from the Snoopy Museum. The Luther Burbank Gardens and the Jesse Peter Native American Art Museum are also close to the hotel. Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN Garden Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.