We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok rooms but service almost ruined our trip” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Talent, Oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“ok rooms but service almost ruined our trip”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would not recommend this hotel. Stay elsewhere, there is another Best Western in town that is VERY nice, Santa Rosa is a beautiful town. We had so many problems here that it really made our stop in Santa Rosa stressful, I so wish we would have picked somewhere else to stay. The management does not seem to care either, in fact if you look at the smart comments to response to negative reviews when people are not happy you will see.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Julyjen 34. Thank you for completing the survey about your recent stay. On behalf of our entire team, we do apologize for not exceeding you expectations. Please let us know what we can do to make your next trip a better experience. And also the problem you encountered on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    130
    66
    26
    16
See reviews for
93
132
16
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
La Habra, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were looking at property and needed a place to sleep 1 night. This hotel was clean but we stayed in front unit. Too much road noise. $100. too much for the quality and size of the room. Price did not include breakfast as most Great Westerns do. We enjoyed our coffee and quiche bread at Flying goat coffee house in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent survey. Yes I see had a room in the front section of the hotel. When you stay with us again request a room away from the road. I do hope you give us another chance. The Flying Goat is one of my favorite placed to go. I am glad you found them. Yes most Best Westerns do have a free breakfast, but not all do. There are some that actually have a cafe that serve a hot breakfast cooked to order. Which we keep the rates reasonable for our guest. If we can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

For $200/night, I expected a little better than an average hotel. The room was small, but clean and recently remodeled. The bathroom layout was awful with the shower door opening opposite what it was supposed to so you have to climb over the toilet or squeeze between it and the door. The bed was comfortable, but facing the wrong direction for the TV. This was the third time I've stayed here, but first time since the remodel and price increase. I won't be staying here again. Disappointed...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent survey. We are actually getting ready to remodel the rooms in the garden area this winter. I do hope that you will give us another try. The rates are higher this time if the year,
Al the hotels have raised there rates this year. I do apology for not meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I don't usually stay in MOTELs but budget was a problem on this trip. I found this motel to be WAY better than I expected. Right off the freeway, so it was easy to find, but the rooms admitted NO traffic noise. The appearance at arrival was surprisingly nice. The room was spacious and elegant with all the amenities of a high end hotel. The staff were superb. And I especially appreciated the breakfast cafe, with REAL, HOT food, not just a lobby of cold cereal and cold muffins. I enjoyed the pool, which was heated to the perfect temperature. I have never had a better stay anywhere and the value for the price was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you Lorna T, I do appreciate your comments, I am glad our property was more than you expected. Please do not hesitate to call us when you are in town again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very nice room however only one entrance of highway and it was a little tricky if you didn't know where you were going. Very friendly staff. I like the little night lights that help you see your way in the dark without turning the full light on.

Room Tip: Try to check in during the day so you can see the road turn better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your input, Knowing that was staff was friendly is always a good feeling. Sounds like you enjoyed the pool. And yes the little light makes it nice when you first enter the room. Not over powering. Again thank you Auroa B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This property is a mixed bag: It's not really located in an ideal part of town, although it's very convenient to the highway and downtown. It's as if it's also stuck in the mid-century, but not in a bad way. It's an old fashioned "motor court" motel, yet it's well maintained, clean, updated, and has all the amenities. The linens were good quality and seemed recently updated. The check-in and check-out desk clerks were very, very friendly and helpful. There was no included breakfast, but there's a little cafe on the premises, and the breakfast was inexpensive yet complete and good. The waitress was very friendly and attentive, and the cafe was bright and cheerful. I needed a laundry opportunity, and their little laundry room was just that -- little. Only one washer, one dryer, yet both were clean and the laundry room was clean. But it would have been nice if there had been at least 2 washers, 2 dryers. It meant I had to hang out there for 2 consecutive loads, vs. 2 simultaneous loads. No biggie, I guess. Small concession for an overall great room at a great price.

Room Tip: Sorry, I accidently rated "kids activities", which I know nothing about. So in fairness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you Sarah T. I appreciate your comments on our property, and how you view everything about an older property, as having all the amenities that a guest needs. and being clean. and my staff as being friendly. . Thank you, and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We used Trip Advisor reviews and pictures to pick this hotel and we were actually shocked when we pulled up and realized it looked nothing like the pictures on here. We booked a King room and it was very small with the tiniest bathroom I've seen in a motel. I am not sure why it is a plus as it appeared to be just another motel with no added amenities. There is a pool but it was close to the busy road and not the cleanest area. The room itself was clean enough but many of the fixtures are looking tired. None of our party slept well as the two rooms we booked had extremely noisy air conditioners that seemed to not work very well. I would look elsewhere for a better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
So sorry that you did b not enjoy your stay. I see you booked a standard king bed, not a deluxe king.
There is a big difference between the two rooms. The deluxe king room have a large vanity area, and the room is larger also. By the way we have two swimming pools. The one that you did not mention is in the back section of the hotel, in the garden area. Not sure what your idea of a plus is.
But we meet all the requirements for a plus property. All Best Westerns are individually own, there are no two alike. If there was a problem with your air conditioner, if we would have known we would have been more than happy to see what the problem was. We are actually getting ready to replace the furniture in all of the rooms in the one story building. Again sorry you were disappointed. Next time you are in town, you may want to pay $100.00 more a night, and find what you are looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garden Inn

Address: 1500 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Garden Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tour the Sonoma Wine Country while staying at this beautiful, garden setting Santa Rosa hotel.The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, located in Santa Rosa, California features 79 guest rooms and a beautifully landscaped quiet garden. Hotel guests are only minutes from Sonoma Wine country and all of the area attractions which include the Sonoma County Fairgrounds, the Russian River Redwoods and downtown Santa Rosa.All spacious well-appointed guest rooms come equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Guests can start the day off with breakfast at the coffee shop located on the hotel premises. The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn also features two outdoor seasonal pools, dry cleaning services and free parking.Families will appreciate being only one mile from the Snoopy Museum. The Luther Burbank Gardens and the Jesse Peter Native American Art Museum are also close to the hotel. Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN Garden Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Santa Rosa
Best Western Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Best Western
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.