We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Town Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Garden Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5428   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Close to Town Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a very nice older hotel with a fine pool. I like the open grass area and it is close to downtown area for eating. Big new flat screens with large rooms that do everything well, good beds with a place to eat on grounds. Really good price for this area. Staff was nice too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you tsudoughhnim, We appreciate your business. I am glad you found our hotel to meet your needs. Please to not hesitate to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    156
    80
    30
    18
See reviews for
119
146
25
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Two couples stayed in two King rooms. They couldn't be more different. One room was large with ample space to walk around the bed, to & from the bathroom,etc. The other room was the SMALLEST hotel room I've ever stayed in. The bed near the wall was maybe 20inches from the wall.

With that said, the rooms were fine. Had been recently upgraded. Nothing outstanding, but nothing horrible. Exactly what you'd expect for a hotel at this price. The shower door did not close fully so water leaked all over the floor.

Only 1.5 miles to downtown Santa Rosa. An easy straight shot down SR Ave.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you Red Zin, I do apologize for the difference in the room size. Problaly what happened was one room was booked as a standard King, and the other room was a Deluxe King. There is quite a difference in the room size. Sorry about the showere door, I do hope that when you are in the area again, you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange county
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed in the garden area which was quiet. The beds are comfortable and the room is clean. It met our needs for a two night stay. The staff was pleasant. It is close to the and easy to get to downtown Santa Rosa and to the wine country. Lots of great shopping and restaurants in Santa Rosa.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you Becky47. I would like to say, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay, and we met your needs for the two nights. Sounds like you had a good shopping adventure, And found some good restaurants. Hope when you are in the area again, you do stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have stayed in numerous establishments near Sonoma/Napa, and for the price I consider this one to be the best deal. It is located in an unexciting, rather nondescript section of Santa Rosa, however it has easy access to the 101 and you'll save a lot of money by staying here. Request a room in the "garden section" which is located in the back of the property. You will not hear any noise from the busy street and you'll be able to enjoy the well landscaped, picturesque garden. The rooms are large and extremely clean. An added bonus is the refrigerator, microwave, and full size closet. There is a nice pool located in the back as well. The motel is reminiscent of an old motor court. I was impressed by the friendly, efficient staff.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you tsudoughhnim, We appreciate your business. I am glad you found our hotel to meet your needs. Please to not hesitate to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This place undercuts itself when it doesn't need to. On one hand, the room was nice, the property is well-landscaped, with abundant flowers and everything is clean. On the other hand, they don't offer a free breakfast, as is typical with Best Westerns in this price range, but instead gouge you for a very pedestrian breakfast at a tiny cafe on the property. You can get much better breakfasts just a short way down the road, but they should at least have included a continental breakfast with the room cost.

Worse, for me, was that they not only don't offer MSNBC on their channel selection, but the TV defaults to Fox News. You get Faux Noise and its conservative viewpoint every darned time you turn on the TV. I don't know if this was the choice of the cable provider or the owner, but it loses them another rating point from this East Coast liberal.

Cheap and right wing: not my choice either way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donadidit44, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Jim- I'm sorry that you were not satisfied with our breakfast cafe', we get numerous compliments on both our menu and our prices. As for the FOX news channel being our default channel, we have no control over this. FOX news just happens to be the first channel on the TV line-up. In no way is this a political statement.
We do appreciate that you liked the property and rooms. We take all comments to heart, good or bad

Thank You-
Donna Renteria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garden Inn

Address: 1500 Santa Rosa Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95404-5428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Garden Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tour the Sonoma Wine Country while staying at this beautiful, garden setting Santa Rosa hotel.The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, located in Santa Rosa, California features 79 guest rooms and a beautifully landscaped quiet garden. Hotel guests are only minutes from Sonoma Wine country and all of the area attractions which include the Sonoma County Fairgrounds, the Russian River Redwoods and downtown Santa Rosa.All spacious well-appointed guest rooms come equipped with a microwave, refrigerator and high-speed Internet access. Guests can start the day off with breakfast at the coffee shop located on the hotel premises. The BEST WESTERN Garden Inn also features two outdoor seasonal pools, dry cleaning services and free parking.Families will appreciate being only one mile from the Snoopy Museum. The Luther Burbank Gardens and the Jesse Peter Native American Art Museum are also close to the hotel. Make a reservation today and save at the BEST WESTERN Garden Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Garden Hotel Santa Rosa
Best Western Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Best Western
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.