We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Frog got kissed and Turned into a Prince!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Railroad St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“The Frog got kissed and Turned into a Prince!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

WOW! The transformation is amazing. When I was here last year my room was sort of beat up looking but the room I stayed in this time was fresh and beautiful. The staff is still helpful and pleasant. The parking is very easy and close.The location of the hotel is terrific for visiting Sonoma Wine Country. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was easy to work and supplied with upgraded hair products. We arrived on a busy week when most of the rooms seemed booked and the girl at the desk told us our room wasn't ready so she gave us an upgraded room. WOW! when I saw it I was floored! It was like going from Grand Pa's Old Clunker to someone's cool Beamer. The room was really nice and comfortable. We did miss the fresh baked cookies and all the fun snacks they provided but I note we really didn't need them. We had a great stay and expect to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear TheSaltyPepper,

What a fabulous review - I can't thank you enough! Especially, from one with your stature on TripAdvsor. I am so glad you like our improvements and we have more future enhancements in mind for the public space and exterior. Thank you for your business and please visit the Courtyard Santa Rosa again.

Sincerely,
-Max, the frog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    93
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
29
61
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This Courtyard has been updated since we stayed there several years ago and we were really pleased with our stay. It's an easy drive to most of the areas that we visited - and we enjoyed a lot of the local restaurants in Santa Rosa for breakfast and dinner after spending the day touring around. There is a bistro at the hotel,but we didn't try that this time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear travelsouthatlanta,

We are excited about our newly renovated rooms and it's great to hear you like them. Thank you for the nice review and we look forward to your return to the Courtyard Santa Rosa.

Sincerely,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

A group of us had an enjoyable stay here recently for the July 4th holiday weekend. My husband and I stayed here before sometime ago during their renovation when they offered free breakfast because of the construction. This time, we had a total of 3 families with kids in our group. We all were impressed by the renovated rooms. I especially liked the modern sink and Paul Mitchell toiletries. Our room had a stylish contemporary design. The tub and shower also had nice tile work, although there were a couple of abrasions/scratches on our tub. We traveled to Russian River daily during our stay and slept comfortably each night upon our return. We definitely will stay here again. The only recommendation I would make is for them to open the Starbucks station in the lobby area earlier during the day/ morning instead of opening at 5pm.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Soulfultrvlr,

It was wonderful having your group stay with us. Thank you for returning with more folks! We too are super excited by our renovated rooms and look forward to even more improvements! I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the Russian River, just one of our many natural beauties. I value your comment regarding our Proudly Brew Starbucks which is available 24 hours and we are working toward having our staff cross trained to add that sense of confidence in the offering. Maybe when you return you will bring six families! Thank you and please contact me any time I may be of service,

Sincerely,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF BayArea
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We're Marriott reward members so were looking for a place to stay after spending the day at the Coppola Winery at which we had rented "cabines" for the day. We enjoyed our short stay here which was just over night. This location also was convenient to drive down to the Graton Casino for some gambling or really leaving a deposit for a future return.
The room setups are not very good for a family of four plus 3 additional adults as the choices are two double beds or a king in one room. There is a larger room with a King bed and a sofa bed. We requested three rooms where two were kings and one with two double beds asking that one set be adjoining as we had little grandkids who needed to be babysat while most adults went to the casino. They accomondated us nicely but the King was the smaller one without a sofa bed. As platinum reward members, it would have been nice to be upgraded to the larger King but we were not sure they had adjoining rooms with the larger King rooms. In any case, the rooms are nice but nothing above what we have become accustomed to with the Marriott chains. I don't like having to turn on the mini-fridge but that was what I had to do for our King room. I'm sure they are trying to conserve electricity, but there are no instructions saying what is going on and how to turn the fridge on. Two rooms had showers and no baths but we did luck out with the adjoining King which had a bath tub which the grandkids prefer

The location of the hotel is pretty good as it's at the cross roads of Highway 12 and 101. Of course this then can be confusing as to how to get back on the freeway so be sure you know which highway you want and what direction you want to drive. There is not much around the hotel but it is within a couple of blocks to the large "Plaza" shopping mall which has a food court where you can get some cheap meals if you're so inclined along with Macy's, Sears and other mall stores. Being Santa Rosa, snoopy is close by but we didn't have time to go visit the museum.

The staff was friendly and we had no issues so our stay was pleasant. The Starbucks was nice to have in the hotel and made it easy to grab a quick bite before heading over to Howarth Memorial park where the grandkids enjoyed the rides and animals there. We enjoyed our stay but are not fans of double beds as that forces us to get a 3rd room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Pudgie,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa. We love our Marriott Reward members! It is always reassuring to know our staff is doing especially well and your assessment of our room set-up is right on. We did recently put refrigerators in all of our rooms and typically they are turned on. I am sorry yours was off. I'm glad you liked our location and I am not sure if you had the opportunity to explore Historic Railroad Square right across the street from us. There are fifteen restaurants and shop including the California Welcome Center within a short walk. Perhaps next time.

Again, thank you for your business and kind words. Please contact me any time I may be of service.

Best regards,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, Missouri
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We were in Sonoma to visit the wineries last week. The staff were indeed very pleasant and made us feel at home. It is in a great location with easy access to both Sonoma and Napa Valley. Rooms are clean and updated. Having Starbucks as an option for morning coffee is indeed a benefit but it would be nice if they made it a little more reasonable for a morning cup of Joe. Thanks for making our stay so comfortable

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Momkram,

Thank you for choosing our hotel with all of your choices in the Wine Country. It is always reassuring to learn our staff is doing especially well. Please visit the Courtyard Santa Rosa again the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, FL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I was scheduled to work in Santa Rosa for a few days, and local co-workers had recommended this hotel. I was glad I stayed here.

When checking in, I was made to feel very welcome. However, for the next 3 days, as I would come and go in the afternoon and evenings, the staff would greet me by name, chat with me, ask how the day was going, etc. It didn’t seem like they were following “Employee Manual, page 6, line 5—Make Guests Feel Welcome,” but rather, they were enjoying their jobs and took a genuine interest in their guests. A nice touch.

At the time of my stay, the hotel was being remodeled. My room had been redone, and was spotless and in excellent shape. The breakfast buffet costs extra, and I did not try it.

This hotel costs a bit more than others in the area, but if you want good, personal service, then this should be your first choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear DVD77,

You are indeed a rock star and we are your greatest fans! Thank you for staying with us and the kind review! I am happy to hear you like our renovated rooms too. Please visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This Courtyard has just been refurbished and the room as wonderful. Relaxing grays, the beds, pillows and linens are perfect for a good rest. There is a cafe for breakfast with is not included. The staff are very helpful, infact joyful. We both agreed we would stay again. Oh the room have very quiet aircon! You can go to the Coutyard side to see photos of the new room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear L_A_GuyLosAngeles,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your good impressions of the Courtyard Santa Rosa! It is reassuring to learn you like our new design and amenities - not to mention our joyful staff. Please visit us again soon.

Sincerely,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa

Address: 175 Railroad St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Marriott Santa Rosa has 138 guest rooms including 12 larger king bedded rooms. All nonsmoking and offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and banquet space. Guests enjoy the outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, fitness center and business center. The modern lobby features a GoBoard 55" touchscreen virtual concierge. The Bistro serves breakfast, dinner, full bar and proudly brews Starbucks 24 hours. Offering free parking, this downtown location is only one block from highways 101 and 12 located in Historic Railroad Square with fifteen restaurants and specialty shops, a mall and downtown Santa Rosa is only a short walk away. "It's a New Stay!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Rosa Hotel Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Marriott
Santa Rosa Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Rosa CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.