We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho Hum Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Railroad St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
San Diego, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Ho Hum Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Garden Inn two years earlier for the same bi-annual music festival so we decided to try the Courtyard just across the street next time we were here. As it turned out, the Garden Inn was still a better choice even though we stayed in one of their premium suites (1 of 4 suites in the hotel). The Courtyard rooms have dedicated heater/AC units with a wireless remote control on the wall. Apart from the wireless remote on the wall, these are the same units you'd find in a Motel 8 or other budget inn for under half the price. Our wireless control broke twice and the 2nd time we didn't bother to get it fixed it would only break down again. As such, the comfort and noise levels at night were very poor. Though built-in fridges / microwaves are noted, only some rooms have these. If you are lucky, you can ask room service to bring these into your room but of course these are out of place since these are not built-in.

The food service options are terrible, something I'm not used to. The little "bistro" on the ground floor is a joke with the (upscale) hot food options they serve during their limited hours or you can buy a number of frozen entrees (if you have a microwave!) or locally prepared fresh sandwiches for +$6-$8. You even have to buy your own microwave popcorn, no free snack even for the first night.

Room service was the primary positive. Whether trucking in the microwave or fridge or fixing the wireless AC control twice, all staff were wanting to please however they could.

In the end, we found that walking across the street to our music venue was a hazard and it would have been best if we stayed at the Garden Inn for the 3 days. Parts of the sidewalks were in disrepair and my wife tripped over a lifted corner of concrete from the sidewalk that should have been fixed or fenced off for safety.

Next time we up here, we'll look into one of the bed and breakfast inns.

Watch out parking in the shade and under some of the tallest trees (out in front). The leaves and sap dripping on your car below could be costly ...

Room Tip: Closest elevator access rooms have one wall that is not shared with the adjacent guest room so this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear William B,

Thank you for your stay and taking the time to share your experience. It is comments such as yours that help us to continually improve. I am sorry you did not find the hotel better suited. I can inform you that starting this winter, we will be renovating all the guest rooms, adding refrigerators to ALL the rooms, expanding our Bistro area and improving our outside area as well. I hope you will consider us again for the music event.

Sincerely,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    94
    50
    16
    6
See reviews for
29
63
9
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel previously but not for several years. It has a great location in the heart of Santa Rosa with easy access to freeways and walking distance to some great local restaurants. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

My wife and I stayed here for three nights during Levis Gran Fondo. Storing and caring for our bikes was not a problem. The staff seemed to get a kick out of all the people in lycra traipsing around the hotel. They opened their bistro early for the riders Saturday morning and provided complimentary coffee and bagels.

The food is good. The rooms quiet, comfortable and clean.

I will definitely stay here for the next Fondo.

Room Tip: The elevators are slow so choose a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Ian B,

Thank you for choosing our hotel again and for the fabulous review. It is reassuring to know the measures we took for your group were well received and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This part of the world is the nicest.... Nice in the nicest sense of the word.... I want to live here. It'd be safe and lovely.... And nice.... The hotel is pretty ordinary from an architectural point of view, it's like something from the lego school of design. Inside the staff are a delight, there is a pleasant atmosphere and the rooms are perfectly spacious. The breakfast isn't the best system. But they do have a lot of respect here for systems. Generally speaking, that's what happens when people are nice, they tend to avoid a challenge when if comes to changing a system. Change the bloody breakfast system. Stop the ticket thing. And why the plastic cutler? Why? We're not in KFC?! Please change those two things. The location is fabulous. A short walk from the main downtown area with great bars - not nice but great - and restaurants shops etc. GREAT SHOPS. Nick nack stuff of old rustic America. Great for gifts. I would never had visited Santa Rosa if it wasn't for work. But now I want to come back for a holiday. And I will happily stay in this hotel. It's nice.

Room Tip: Look out for the peculiar tribute to french fries on the shelf behind reception. See photo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Major_Rawls,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experience. I am grateful for your interesting observations and comments. We do live and work in a great place and I am fortunate to have such a wonderful staff. We love our culture and Courtyard provides such great systems for us to follow. You will be happy to know we do typically provide silverware with our meals and the plastic utensils are for the to-go items. I am not sure what is meant about the ticketing system or how that might be changed and again we value your feedback. I hope you are able to someday move to this area. In the mean time, we look forward to your stays with us.

Sincerely,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
435 reviews 435 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

With its location 10 min walking distance from 4th street, downtown Santa Rosa, this is a great hotel location and I will definitely come back. Rooms are quiet and clean like they should. Good place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Banbooly,

I am very glad to hear our location suited your needs and you liked our hotel. That is high praise coming from someone of your stature. We look forward to your return and contact me any time I may be of service.

Best regards,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was a recent guest at the Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa. Although the location of the hotel was perfect for me, the bathroom was certainly not. There was one grab bar at the foot of the bathtub that was useless and unsafe. A vertical grab bar (18-24 inch) at the front edge of the shower/bathtub wall and/or a horizontal grab bar (18-24 inch) across the back wall of the shower/tub would provide safety to anyone needing assistance getting in or out of the shower/tub. Next time I will request a handicapped room (even though I'm not), but I think that these grab bars would benefit non-handicapped people also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Mary M,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to let people know about the concern. We will undergo a renovation in our guest rooms this fall, which includes the tub/shower enclosures so I will do my best to ensure your concern is addressed in the new design. I'm glad to hear you will consider us again for next time.

Sincerely,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

An adequate hotel with friendly staff. Rooms are fairly standard for a mid-priced hotel chain. A sort of counter for serving basic breakfast, but no real restaurant to speak of. There are restaurants in the area within walking distance, including that at the Hyatt, which is across the street.

Not a bad option for Santa Rosa,but the Hyatt is better, but also more expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your fair review. Our aim is to be above standard and impress our guests. Your stay was adequate and not great so we missed our mark with you. I am grateful you will consider us again. I look forward to showing you our new rooms come Spring and our outstanding guest service.

Sincerely,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I spent 5 nights at the Courtyard by Marriott in Santa Rosa while I was in town for business. In some respects it seems to be away for it all but it was still close to the courthouse square and the old railroad station.

When I walked in, I notice that the cooperate direction looks like “hip modern” at least in the lobby area. Big screen touch TV, not a coffee shop or a restaurant but a Bistro and three lecterns were you check in at. (You will have to excuse me here, and this might be old news, but I have not stayed in many Courtyards’ in the last few years.)

Now for the important stuff, the room was clean. The sink for the bathroom was outside in the room. There was a small refrigerator hiding in the dresser/desk (it was all one unit). Flat screen LG television (with “56 channels and nothings on” cable, a Marriott or their website said they had pay-per-view movies but no, just cable). The beds seemed a bit soft to me but I was able to sleep and there was a nice touch with electric outlets on the wall near the bed so I could charge my phone and not have to walk across the room when it rang early in the mornings. Another nice touch was a rolling table which was the right height to work from with the desk chair that was in the room. I have one minor gripe about the room, WI-FI only. It was strong but I prefer a hard wire connection for my computer.

Small minus at least for me, I need a little something in the morning and I have gotten used to having some sort of breakfast offered free in the morning, even if it is bread for toast and coffee. Well here, you have to buy breakfast at the Bistro. That would be OK except the Bistro seemed not to be up and going at 6 AM in the morning (I had to report on site where I was working by 7). I did find the free coffee that have in the morning (looking at the elevators, there is a hall to your left, turn down that hall and in a small indentation in the wall where payphones might have been at one time, was two coffee carafes and cups).

Would I stay here again when in the area? Most likely yes since it seemed to be a good deal for the location I was in.

Room Tip: Across the Street there is a Chevy's Grill or a place called the Vinyard in the Hyatt which I wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear GoodDoctor,

Thank you for staying with us and the good check up you gave us. I am glad you found our lobby "hip modern." I know you will love our new look in the rooms come Spring. I appreciate you letting us know about the pay-per-view still showing on the website so I may have that updated. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa

Address: 175 Railroad St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Marriott Santa Rosa has 138 guest rooms including 12 larger king bedded rooms. All nonsmoking and offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and banquet space. Guests enjoy the outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, fitness center and business center. The modern lobby features a GoBoard 55" touchscreen virtual concierge. The Bistro serves breakfast, dinner, full bar and proudly brews Starbucks 24 hours. Offering free parking, this downtown location is only one block from highways 101 and 12 located in Historic Railroad Square with fifteen restaurants and specialty shops, a mall and downtown Santa Rosa is only a short walk away. "It's a New Stay!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Rosa Hotel Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Marriott
Santa Rosa Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Rosa CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.