We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same old, is same and now very old.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Railroad St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Same old, is same and now very old.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have been on the road since before the term 'Road Warrior' was invented. I have not stayed in a Courtyard in maybe two years. And they always were consistent and a upgrade from their competition. However, now that has changed and while they have stayed consistently the same others have passed them by.

Have started to stay in Hilton Gardens over the past few years because of the their locations happened to be better to my newer customers that Ctyd and the differences are quite apparent now that i have been to this Courtyard.

The only two nice things I can say was that check in was friendly and they certainly have updated the lobby look and feel both for the better.

However, they have completely neglected the rooms and left them unchanged.

The sink being outside the bath is old, the rounded shower curtain is old, and the mattress in my room is like a ski slope, it slides to the left. The amenities are unattractively packaged and minuscule, they look great for babies maybe.

And the towels are the thinnest, lightest weight, towels I have ever seen and not worthy of a one star property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Bart85,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to provide your feedback. It is reassuring to know you found our staff friendly and the lobby refreshed. I too regret our rooms are still 2007 and you will be happy to know we plan to accomplish the rooms renovation this year. I hope you will consider us again so we may show you how competative we are in the industry.

Best regards,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Marriott Courtyard, as part of the Marriott chain, is predictable, and if you are a frequent business traveler, this is wonderful. A comfortable bed with clean rooms. My complaint about the Courtyard is the noisy room heaters/air conditioners which cycle throughout the night. Plus, they always seem to be located in front of the desk, so if you are working, it blows either hot or cold air on you. This Courtyard has a bistro, which is convenient for breakfast. The great thing about this Courtyard though is that it is walking distance (2 blocks) to downtown Santa Rosa, which is populated with great restaurants and unique shopping. I always look forward to coming to Santa Rosa in the Sonoma Valley and staying at the Marriott Courtyard for their great location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GardeningFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear GardeningFiend,

Thank you for staying and writing about your experience. Yes - Courtyard prides itself on consistency and I am glad you found it so. And, we are in the processs of replacing some of the older HVAC units. I am sorry the cycling disturbed you. We do have a great location and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have always liked Courtyards, but this was my first time staying in one that had the new Bistro. We arrived very late and we were tired and hungry. I was very resistant to the Bistro for a quick dinner, but I was even more exhausted having driven in from Crescent City and a day of the PCH and the Redwoods. We did not want to leave and search for food, so we took the risk, and I honestly have to say I was expecting the worst. Big surprise! Delicious food. My husband had a large salad and it was monstrous and very fresh. I ordered the tunafish salad sandwich on whole wheat toast. I must say it was the freshest, tastiest tunafish salad I have ever had! I am a tunafish afficionado so I know of what I speak. A little hint of lemon, celery and not too much mayo. When I ordered I asked if it was fresh and she told me that it had been made that morning. It just hit the spot and we were able to relax in our room, watch some t.v and enjoy the meal. The young woman, who was very friendly and eager to please, prepared it all right there in front of us, nicely done. As far as the hotel, it was very convenient to the 101, easy to find and the town has a cute historical district. If we weren't moving on early the next day I would have enjoyed exploring it. The front desk women were very welcoming and helpful, they printed out directions to some restaurants for us before we decided to stay in. The room was clean and large with a loveseat across from the bed.

Room Tip: I don't usually pay attention to this but the front desk agent asked me if I wanted to be close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckySurferGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Luckysurfergirl and tunafish afficionado,

Thank you so much for the delightful review you gave to us on TripAdvisor! It is reassuring to know you enjoyed the food in The Bistro. I was excited to share your comments with the staff. I hope you will visit us again soon and contact me any time I may be of service.

Best regards,
-Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
127 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel excels in customer service. The staff are wonderful but the rooms are just so-so. The Bistro had decent food but certainly not gourmet. I would stay here again with the understanding that it really is basic. I did appreciate the items sold in The Market were appropriatly priced. This is a good home base for day trips.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I love staying in courtyard when I travel for Bussines in the USA, they all are the same wich for me is great because I already now what i am gona get and I like what I get



The hotel is a little bit more expensive that other chain but its worth it trust me



Rooms are big and very clean, the staff is super friendly and very young people in most of them, food is not wow but is good enough for a Bussines trip and location is Farley good



Over all I love Marriot courtyards

Room Tip: Ask for the 5 Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gferraez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I typically stay at this hotel 5 or more times per year for business. There are a few things I appreciate about this hotel, which is why I keep coming back. This is an affordable property (usually), I am able to use Marriott points here, it's close to the mall and some good restaurants, and they have Starbucks coffee in house. I have also hosted a conference here and been pleased with the staff. In the summer the outdoor pool and hot tub are a great addition, particularly if I have to bring my kids with me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank astromberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The gentleman that checked me in joke that our room would be near the elevator and noisy (exactly what I didn't want so that was his idea of funny). I asked him about a cab to the airport and he had no idea what the charge would be. Wouldn't that be nice to know since they don't offer a shuttle? I asked for directions to a restaurant nearby which he made fun of my pronunciation. We went over to the "bistro" to see what was available and were told we did not get breakfast with our stay when inquiring what rme they started serving. The room itself was nothing to write about. They serve fake Starbucks in the morning and the service was no better than the night before. Very disappointing stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tougo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerMax, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to express your displeasure. It is comments such as yours that help us to continually improve. Sarcasm and poor information is not the type of service we wish to provide and is not typical of the associate you encountered. I assure you that your comments are being used for training purposes and our Starbucks is a real Proudly Brew Starbucks. I hope that you will consider us for a future trouble free stay.

Sincerely,
Max
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#3 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#7 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#1 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#9 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 487 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#8 of 26 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa

Address: 175 Railroad St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Marriott Santa Rosa has 138 guest rooms including 12 larger king bedded rooms. All nonsmoking and offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and banquet space. Guests enjoy the outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, fitness center and business center. The modern lobby features a GoBoard 55" touchscreen virtual concierge. The Bistro serves breakfast, dinner, full bar and proudly brews Starbucks 24 hours. Offering free parking, this downtown location is only one block from highways 101 and 12 located in Historic Railroad Square with fifteen restaurants and specialty shops, a mall and downtown Santa Rosa is only a short walk away. "It's a New Stay!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Rosa Hotel Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Marriott
Santa Rosa Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Rosa CA - Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing