We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blah” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Railroad St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
nc
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Blah”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Run down. Outdated. Wouldn't got back to this hotel. Very old and outdated. The front desk staff wery VERY friendly and helpful. It appears they may be renovating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYbistro, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Yes, we are under renovation or as we like to call it "a reinvention" to the Courtyard Refreshing Service Bistro and Lobby concept. We invite you to return if you're travels bring you back to this area; I'm sure you won't find us "Blah" any longer. Our new lobby will offer an interactive GoBoard, 24/7 Starbucks, a full bar, Breakfast & Dinner service, individual media booths and outside dining area.

Again thank you for your comments and we truly hope that you will give us the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott
Santa Rosa, CA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    99
    53
    16
    6
See reviews for
30
68
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed here after getting a reasonable price on Priceline. The hotel was under renovation so you entered the hotel from the side. The reception is what looked like a converted meeting room. The staff was nice and attentive. As others have mentioned, the hotel is a little dated. Hopefully, they will be updating the rooms as well as the main floor. The room was standard size but the beds (2 queens) were a little soft and lumpy for my taste. There's free wi-fi in the rooms. There's a small gym with free weights and cardio machines. The location of the hotel is great, right off the 101 and as short walk to Railroad Square. While renovations are ongoing, there's a complimentary hot buffet breakfast which was pretty good. It included eggs, a corn beef hash, waffles, fresh fruit, pastries, etc. Get there early though as they ran out of the fruit and yogurt.

Overall, the stay was decent and if the price were right I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYbistro, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear Priceline Guest,
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all comments, good and bad, in order to help us to improve our service to meet the expectations of all our guests. Please come back and join us once the renovation has been completed. I'm sure you'll find that the experience will more than meet your expectations. Our new Refreshing Lobby & Bistro will consist of a complete breakfast and dinner menu, a full bar and 25/7 Starbucks.

Thank you again,
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott
Santa Rosa, CA.
707-573-9000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Great location & nice people at check in, but TOO expensive even during so much remodel construction plus guests yelling in parking lot, grabage trucks at 4am, street cleaning trucks all night & other early morning constuction sounds. (Worst night of sleep all week!) To top it off, the loose full length mirror on the closet falls off by itself & breaks in the morning.....could not wait to check out! Complained later and could not get even a discount. Warning - ask & make sure the construction is fully done before staying at this Courtyard & stay away from the corner rooms with all the street noise. Wish we had been warned.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are much nicer and larger, but if paying more for this extra...make sure room is away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYbistro, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Thank you for your feedback; especially during our renovation process to a Courtyard Refreshing Service Lobby & Bistro. Your comments are very helpful during this challenging time, to insure our guests expectations are met. I apologize for the noise you experienced during the wee morning hours; but can assure you we have taken every precaution to eliminate any construction noise by not allowing any constrution to take place on the weekends. I do sincerely apologize for any noise caused by the garbage trucks and street sweepers and yelling in the parking lot. As for the mirror that broke, this is our responsibility and within our control; therefore it would be my pleasure to give you some type of compensation for this mishap, if you would be so kind as to contact the hotel and ask for the General Manager, so we can discuss this further.

Again thank you for your feedback.

General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott
Santa Rosa, Ca
707-573-9000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulare
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

No lobby or restaurant or lounge...it was like they slapped a 7/11 onto the building for checking in and snacks. The"free" breakfast was gone when I got there to grab a bite at 9:45...Felt ripped-off! When the remote on the TV was troublesome, the young lady downstairs was no help.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYbistro, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for your comments; I appreciate the feedback, as we always strive to insure our guests expectations are met. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused by the current renovation of our lobby and restaurant. While it is true that our restaurant is closed, we have made every effort to accommodate our guests by setting up a complimentry breakfast in one of our meeting rooms.

I invite you to come back once the renovations are completed in early August to experience the new Courtyard Refreshing Bistro and Lobby concept, which includes a restaurant servng breakfast and dinner, a full bar and 24/7 Starbucks coffee. It is truly a "New Stay".

General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott
Santa Rosa/Wine Country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

The hotel was being remodeled and it did not say anything about it at their website or anywhere else. We arrived around 5 pm and there was only one employee at the site. The desk employee had to bring us the towels that were not in the room (there were towels for 2 people and we were 4). They offer free wifi but that is only if you find a spot where there is actually signal in the room. It was one disaster after the other. A pillow without pillowcase in the bed, a faucet that does not close properly so we had to hear the drops all night, the towel bar that fell off on my foot when I pulled the towel, the carpet smell... The "best " part is that we paid more than we had paid the previous night at the JW Marriott Downtown San Francisco.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYbistro, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I apologize that you feel we did not meet your expectations. As you mentioned, our property is currently under renovation as we strive to bring you a newer, more modern hotel. We are looking into adding more prominent verbiage on the website regarding the renovation. I'm sorry that it did not catch your attention when you booked, as this information is listed on the second page when you move forward to select your room type. We have also contacted our Internet provider to see about raising the bandwidth available on property and we have just had our room carpet and draperies cleaned. I do hope that when our newly renovated hotel is available to you next month you will give us another opportunity to better meet your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We were only here for one night and it was fine for what we were looking for. The room was ok, nothing special but nothing wrong with it either! Staff were friendly.

The swimming pool area could be a bit cleaner, it was a lovely sunny afternoon and having spent the day touring the wine country it was great to sit out by the pool but there was a lot of bird droppings on the sun loungers!

It is right by the freeway so can be noisy!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This hotel is located right off of 101, so it was easily accessible. The Hyatt is in the same area (the negative reviews on Trip Advisor of the Hyatt influenced my choice to stay at this Marriott property. I had not realized they are neighboring hotels).

The staff was friendly and helpful, providing easy-to-follow directions to many places. There was often a bowl of fruit on the counter, and free coffee in the lobby all day. The Internet in the lobby was too slow to be useful.

The room was fine. Comfortable, no problems at all. My sister had a room across the hall on the same floor (same price room). Her room had a couch and looked out over the parking lot, toward the Hyatt, whereas mine had a chair and looked out over an old (unused?) railway track. I thought it peculiar that there were no cups or glasses in the sink area (the sink was outside of the bathroom). I asked housekeeping about this and was told they no longer provide them. There were coffee mugs, so I used those instead.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa

Address: 175 Railroad St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard Marriott Santa Rosa has 138 guest rooms including 12 larger king bedded rooms. All nonsmoking and offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and banquet space. Guests enjoy the outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, fitness center and business center. The modern lobby features a GoBoard 55" touchscreen virtual concierge. The Bistro serves breakfast, dinner, full bar and proudly brews Starbucks 24 hours. Offering free parking, this downtown location is only one block from highways 101 and 12 located in Historic Railroad Square with fifteen restaurants and specialty shops, a mall and downtown Santa Rosa is only a short walk away. "It's a New Stay!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Rosa Hotel Santa Rosa
Courtyard Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Marriott
Santa Rosa Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Santa Rosa CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Santa Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.