We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro hotel that is both cool and in a great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2777 Fourth St., Santa Rosa, CA 95409   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Seattle WA
Top Contributor
371 reviews 371 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Retro hotel that is both cool and in a great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed staying here as rooms were quiet and clean. The hotel is retro with a huge pool in the center and seperate wings. You can drive your car up to your area and a secured door opens up for every 4 rooms. My room had a refrigerator, coffee and ample space. The hotel has live music several nights and a good happy hour. I was able to get a cocktail and appetizer for $7. Worth the stop. You can sit on the patio. This hotel is minutes from Santa Rosa and then you hop on highway 12 to go directly to Sonoma Valley for wine tasting.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    178
    78
    48
    27
See reviews for
105
167
27
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Pros - Room was clean and comfortable
Staff was very polite helpful
Lots of activities going on at the hotel
Cons - Stains on a couple of the pillows
We had a $15 dollar voucher for the hotel so we went to the bar for drinks. We were told that we couldn't sit there because it was closed and were sat at a table. Three minutes later three men went to the bar and were served. And then another one. And then another two. I don't why this happened, but we found it annoying and insulting.
Our Groupon deal said it included a buffet breakfast. That only means the standard crappy cereal and stale pastries continental "buffet". We thought that was highly, and intentionally, misleading. If you go there, don't bother with any Groupon or Living Social deals, you'll just get ripped off.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlamingoManager, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Flamingo Hotel and we are glad you could take advantage of the Groupon offer. We are very disappointed as to the occurance in the bar area and is difficult to understand why the bar was not available, but unfortunately the server wanted to provide a dining table for food service for you. The manager on duty that you spoke with did council the bartender and reiterated the inconvenience caused you.
We do offer an upgraded continental breakfast that includes dry cereals, yogurt, fresh cut fruit, steel cut oatmeal, bagels and cream cheese, muffins, pastries, orange juice and coffee at a nominal charge of $8.95 per person, and is inclusive of tax and tip for all Groupon offers. We will certainly take your suggestions and ensure that our pastry department is made aware of your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were not sure what to expect as we drove up Farmers Lane in Santa Rosa and saw the tower with the rotating pink flamingo on the top. As we walked in I saw the sign that says this is where the Santa Rosa Rotary meets, and wondered whether this was going to be good "Old School California" or something opposite. As it turned out, the place actually had charm, something I don't expect from a place that advertises itself as a "conference resort." But the room was very nice--hardwood floors are a nice change from wall-to-wall carpet--and larger than expected. There was a large pool with several lanes for lap swimming, a bar/restaurant with outdoor seating, and lots of places to lie in the sun. There were several places to eat within walking distance, and a CVS that more or less shared the parking lot. A short drive west got us to downtown Santa Rosa.

The service people were helpful and friendly. Everything was spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: The "2" wing is further back from the main road, and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visitor from southern california
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our stay at the Flamingo Resort was wonderful. It isn't a destination in itself but it's in the midst of good shopping, services and of course just a few miles from the lovely Sonoma Valley. We caught a rare September rain ...but at the Flamingo, there were covered corridors to navigate between the office, the restaurant and our room during the cloudburst. My husband raved about the pancakes at breakfast (regular menu item). The housekeeping staff were polite and accommodating. The pool and surrounding center "hub" of the hotel is comfortably furnished with lounges both in the sun and under the shade of canopies. I especially loved chatting with Ruth at the front desk as we checked out - she had some very interesting local historical tidbits to share about the Sonoma area! If we go back to visit the Sonoma Valley , we'll stay at the Flamingo Resort in nearby Santa Rosa again!

Room Tip: The design of the hotel is like a wheel, with the "spokes" being wings of the hotel radiat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I booked 2 nights at the Flamingo as it was the only hotel under $200 a night on the weekend I was going. It is a convenient place to stay for Northern wine country. The place really needs to be updated though. The carpet in my room and in the hallways were all stained. The bed was super soft and worn out. The bathroom was moldy and rusty. On the other hand it has a nice pool and lounge area. The restaurant was not good and it seemed only seniors ate there. I think there are plans to update the rooms, but until they do, I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlamingoManager, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Flamingo Hotel. We are excited to announce a renovation of our deluxe rooms (300 and 400 buildings) with new furniture and carpet in all of these guest rooms. We are constantly replacing beds that seem to be worn out and we would appreciate letting us know the room number you occupied so we can get it replaced immediately. We value your comments and we hope to welcome you again in our of our new "superior" rooms. Our renovation will be completed by March 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Literally two days before we departed to Wine Country, we did not know where we were going - Napa or Sonoma - let alone where to stay. After a bit of research we were leaning towards, Sonoma. Then a quick look on Groupon made out decision. We were going to Sonoma and staying at the Flamingo. This was a great decision, as we really enjoyed the hotel. The girl at the front desk when we arrived was SUPER! She answered our questions, and passed along a lot of good information for the area for us. Our King Suite was very roomy, clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were awesome!

We never had an opportunity to utilize the pool, hot tub or fitness center which is too bad. They appeared to be a good asset for a few families. The only potential negative for us was the continental breakfast. It offered fresh fruits, oatmeal, bagels, rolls, coffee and juice. This was fine, but we tried 3-4 of the different rolls and they were "hard", and the croissant was not really good at all. That being said, it would not deter us from staying here, nor recommending the place. Just have a bagel or oatmeal with your fruit.

If given the opportunity to return, we would definitely stay again. The Flamingo was a great place and great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis/St. Paul
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed at the Flamingo in August for 10 days as part of the McDougall Wellness program. The 'resort' definitely has a vintage, mid-century feel. My room was pretty spacious, and only mildly dated in the bathroom. The lack of a bathtub was a negative, but the shower was fine so no problem. The hotel is essentially a circle, and the center is a courtyard with a very large pool. I really enjoyed hanging out in the pool area. The pool itself is only heated to 80 degrees according to one staff member, so that was a little chilly for me.

If you are looking for an upscale, 5-star sort of experience with people waiting on you at every turn, this is not that sort of place. If you appreciate a retro style, friendly staff, and a relaxing atmosphere, the Flamingo may be just right for you. There is a restaurant on site, large pool, hot tub, and that is about it. Using the word 'resort' may be stretching it as far as the number/type of amenities/activities go, but the hotel overall was charming and cool.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a patio - ask for one if you'd like a separate entrance. Avoid them if that mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa

Address: 2777 Fourth St., Santa Rosa, CA 95409
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Landmark located between Sonoma Valley Wineries and downtown Santa Rosa, walking distance to upscale Shopping Montgomery Village, 5 restaurants, 24 hr CVS Pharmacy and Safeway/Starbucks. Full service affordable Destination Resort with 8 treatment rooms Spa featuring a Couples Massage, facials, manicure, pedicure, Vichy Body Scrub,2 Olympic size Outdoor heated Pools, 5 Tennis Courts with Pro, 8,000 Sq ft Montecito Heghts Health Club with child care, personal trainers, Indoor Cycle and Warm Yoga Studios,Free Parking, 170 rooms including 13 Pool view Suites,newly remodeled Executive Kings,Pet friendly rooms upon request,Family rooms-3-4 beds; all non Smoking rooms with mini refrigerators, King or dbl-dbl size beds, complimentary Wine and Cheese tasting every Friday 5-7pm, Poolside Dining, Lounge with nightly entertainment- dancing on weekends, Salsa Sundays,3-6pm Happy Hour,2 Bars,Healthy menu choices, Sunday Champagne Brunch, 15 function rooms 15,000 sq ft of function space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Conference Resort And Spa
Flamingo Resort Santa Rosa
Flamingo Hotel Santa Rosa
Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.