We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient place that needs to be updated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2777 Fourth St., Santa Rosa, CA 95409   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Convenient place that needs to be updated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I booked 2 nights at the Flamingo as it was the only hotel under $200 a night on the weekend I was going. It is a convenient place to stay for Northern wine country. The place really needs to be updated though. The carpet in my room and in the hallways were all stained. The bed was super soft and worn out. The bathroom was moldy and rusty. On the other hand it has a nice pool and lounge area. The restaurant was not good and it seemed only seniors ate there. I think there are plans to update the rooms, but until they do, I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlamingoManager, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Flamingo Hotel. We are excited to announce a renovation of our deluxe rooms (300 and 400 buildings) with new furniture and carpet in all of these guest rooms. We are constantly replacing beds that seem to be worn out and we would appreciate letting us know the room number you occupied so we can get it replaced immediately. We value your comments and we hope to welcome you again in our of our new "superior" rooms. Our renovation will be completed by March 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    157
    65
    40
    27
See reviews for
83
150
24
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Literally two days before we departed to Wine Country, we did not know where we were going - Napa or Sonoma - let alone where to stay. After a bit of research we were leaning towards, Sonoma. Then a quick look on Groupon made out decision. We were going to Sonoma and staying at the Flamingo. This was a great decision, as we really enjoyed the hotel. The girl at the front desk when we arrived was SUPER! She answered our questions, and passed along a lot of good information for the area for us. Our King Suite was very roomy, clean and comfortable. The bed and pillows were awesome!

We never had an opportunity to utilize the pool, hot tub or fitness center which is too bad. They appeared to be a good asset for a few families. The only potential negative for us was the continental breakfast. It offered fresh fruits, oatmeal, bagels, rolls, coffee and juice. This was fine, but we tried 3-4 of the different rolls and they were "hard", and the croissant was not really good at all. That being said, it would not deter us from staying here, nor recommending the place. Just have a bagel or oatmeal with your fruit.

If given the opportunity to return, we would definitely stay again. The Flamingo was a great place and great value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis/St. Paul
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed at the Flamingo in August for 10 days as part of the McDougall Wellness program. The 'resort' definitely has a vintage, mid-century feel. My room was pretty spacious, and only mildly dated in the bathroom. The lack of a bathtub was a negative, but the shower was fine so no problem. The hotel is essentially a circle, and the center is a courtyard with a very large pool. I really enjoyed hanging out in the pool area. The pool itself is only heated to 80 degrees according to one staff member, so that was a little chilly for me.

If you are looking for an upscale, 5-star sort of experience with people waiting on you at every turn, this is not that sort of place. If you appreciate a retro style, friendly staff, and a relaxing atmosphere, the Flamingo may be just right for you. There is a restaurant on site, large pool, hot tub, and that is about it. Using the word 'resort' may be stretching it as far as the number/type of amenities/activities go, but the hotel overall was charming and cool.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a patio - ask for one if you'd like a separate entrance. Avoid them if that mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It's funny, what others here call "outdated", I call charmingly retro. I love how the Flamingo has maintained a 50s-60s ambience while maintaining their standards as well. We were there for the McDougall program which included meals so I can't comment on their lovely restaurant. The patrons seemed quite happy. The pool is lovely and the spa next door was beautiful. Our first floor room at the front of the hotel was very large, spotless and nicely furnished. The bed was comfy and we slept like babies. The staff was friendly and responsive, We couldn't have been happier. And the location......perfect.

Now, this place isn't luxurious and it won't be everybody's cup of tea, but we had no complaints and will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This historical hotel provided me with respite from the crowds during marathon weekend in Santa Rosa. Unlike a previous reviewer I encountered a clean, odor free room, non carpeted and dog friendly on the ground floor with easy access to the outside. We visited the pool area, very relaxed atmosphere with a nice pool, cocktails and food can be served there, though dogs can't so I have to try the pool out next time I travel without my canine companion. Found the staff friendly and efficient. Definitely a place I will return for a weekend relaxer. a plus for me, a nice Safeway and Starbucks right down the street, you can walk for coffee in the morning

Room Tip: The rooms that face the pool area have patios and are worth checking out for next stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I had heard some not so nice reviews on this resort hotel, however I always judge a place on MY experience...not on others', so we booked a 4-night mid-week stay 8/25-8/29 in an Executive King. It was wonderful! The bed was so comfortable, the room and bathroom were immaculate...thank you "Espi"! The pool was to die for-I loved doing my laps every morning. The only drawback was the water aerobics classes that interrupted my lap swimming. I don't know why they couldn't have used the Spa pool for that???

That was the only drawback. The food was delicious and the drinks (Raspberry 75) were amazing!!
Thank you do much for an enjoyable stay...and for allowing us to extend our stay an additional night at the same wonderful mid-week rate!!
Will definitely stay there again and recommend it to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our room was adequate but had an odor that was tough to tolerate. Very much in need of modernization. Restaurant and pool were very nice. Probably would look for somewhere else next time. Convenient to both Napa and Sonoma valleys.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa

Address: 2777 Fourth St., Santa Rosa, CA 95409
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Landmark located between Sonoma Valley Wineries and downtown Santa Rosa, walking distance to upscale Shopping Montgomery Village, 5 restaurants, 24 hr CVS Pharmacy and Safeway/Starbucks. Full service affordable Destination Resort with 8 treatment rooms Spa featuring a Couples Massage, facials, manicure, pedicure, Vichy Body Scrub,2 Olympic size Outdoor heated Pools, 5 Tennis Courts with Pro, 8,000 Sq ft Montecito Heghts Health Club with child care, personal trainers, Indoor Cycle and Warm Yoga Studios,Free Parking, 170 rooms including 13 Pool view Suites,newly remodeled Executive Kings,Pet friendly rooms upon request,Family rooms-3-4 beds; all non Smoking rooms with mini refrigerators, King or dbl-dbl size beds, complimentary Wine and Cheese tasting every Friday 5-7pm, Poolside Dining, Lounge with nightly entertainment- dancing on weekends, Salsa Sundays,3-6pm Happy Hour,2 Bars,Healthy menu choices, Sunday Champagne Brunch, 15 function rooms 15,000 sq ft of function space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Conference Resort And Spa
Flamingo Resort Santa Rosa
Flamingo Hotel Santa Rosa
Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.