We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Kid Friendly - our new "Hidden Gem" in Santa Rosa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2777 Fourth St., Santa Rosa, CA 95409   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Very Kid Friendly - our new "Hidden Gem" in Santa Rosa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just spent Labor Day weekend here with our two young daughters and we all loved it! I thought the rooms were very clean, the beds were comfortable, even the sofa bed was surprisingly comfortable. The pool area was perfect for us. There were lots of families with kids which was great for us. Plenty of lounge chairs, tables and umbrellas. We loved the shady areas under the redwood trees. Our kids searched for snails, ran around in the grassy area, swam in the pool and warmed up in the hot tub. Staff was extremely friendly and courteous. We can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    176
    75
    46
    27
See reviews for
98
165
27
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Well where do you start with this little gem (not).

If you like dogs, well at the least the smell of them this is probably just what you are looking for. We arrived late at night and just wanted to get some sleep. We checked in at reception and all seemed fine and got the keys to the room. We opened the door and was greeted by the stench of 'doggy odour' (and more faeces than 'wet dog'). Don't get me wrong as a former dog owner I'm not apposed to dogs, BUT come on keep the rooms clean. We were all too tied to go back down to reception and agreed to bed down for the night and speak to the staff in the morning. We went down to reception (even the corridors smelt) and after a lot of arguing and denial on their part we where relocated.

The pool especially at weekends when everyone from town seems to arrive to not very clean. I know accidents happen but one corner of the pool had a film of what appeared to be vomit 'bobbing around' on the surface.

Breakfasts... we visited the restaurant and I opted for the full breakfast from the menu, it arrived and all looked fine apart from... no beef patty. No problem, I asked the waitress and she took my plate and returned with my breakfast and a large quarter pound type burger. Great I though until I tried to cut into it and covered my breakfast with blood. The thing was barely cooked and my breakfast looked like a scene from Jaws. Knife and fork down, end of that. Thanks.

Day trips. The next leg of our vacation was to travel down to San Francisco and got talking to the reception staff about 'Alcatraz' trips and the fact that they were all booked out for weeks. DON'T worry they said we know someone who works there. Great we thought, they took our details and managed to get us on a trip, well at least we thought. 'Trusting' them we didn't take much notice of the tickets/printout until we arrived in San Fran and checked the dates. The moron on reception had booked us on a trip in three weeks time (we would be home by then!). I called the hotel and left messages, we even emailed them, but no response. The VERY nice people at Pier 33 returned our money with the exception of the the booking fee taken by the 'flamingo (they also confirm that didn't know anyone from the hotel). Don't trust these people, but if you have to double check everything!

So if you like the smell of dirty dog, fancy a splash about in vomit, enjoy a breakfast that looks like a murder scene or want to pay a booking fee for something you never get to do, then this is place for you.

My Garmin GPS wanted to take us down the road about half a mile to another hotel. Maybe I should have listened to it (sorry GPS for not trusting your judgement).

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlamingoManager, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear John S.,
Thank you for staying at the Flamingo Resort and we appreciate your comments in regards to your stay here. We were all very surprised and disappointed regarding your room and the smell that you encountered. Please be assured that we will inspect and dry clean all soft goods in any room that has any evidence of odor in our pet friendly rooms. Our rooms on the floor that you occupied have new hardwood floors and are inspected before our guest’s arrival. Again, thank you for bringing this concern to our attention. We do have the largest swimming pool of any resort in the area and we are very busy with guests visiting from all over the World. We have pool attendants that hand out towels, keep the pool area clean and have a watchful eye on any unsanitary condition and are trained to respond immediately for any accident. We are surprised that no one reported an accident in the pool while you were here. We are also very concerned and saddened about were not able to participate in the Alcatraz trip and our front desk’s attempt to get you a reservation while the trip was at capacity. It is our policy and was our procedure to have you use our computer to book your Alcatraz trip at the front desk and I do recall you making the arrangements yourself. We would like to know that name of the booking agent used, and we will make a point to not use that service again. We do not receive any commission from any booking agents and please be assured that we were trying to make your California trip enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have great family reunions every few years and typically travel around the states but this year was special in that we wanted to stay close to the Santa Rosa area because one of our nephew's wife was expecting at anytime and we wanted to make sure they would be included in the reunion. The family picked out the Flamingo Resort in Santa Rosa for a number of reasons and we were not disappointed. Great layout with a huge pool situated right in the middle of the location with different buildings fanning out from the center. We would congregate at the pool or at one of the rooms that was situated around the pool every day/night. Rooms were very nice, clean and served their purpose (sleep!). Played tennis at the club adjacent to the hotel and there were plenty of things to do in and around Santa Rosa. My wife and daughter also enjoyed the amenities of the spa. Would definitely stay here again. Great for families.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were in town for the marathon and were lucky enough to book a room at the Flamingo. The hotel is laid out like a sunburst with the pool at it's center...I asked for a quiet room and we were placed at the back of the complex on a ground floor. The room we had was huge - king bed with sleeper sofa for our girls. The service was excellent on our separate requests for 1) more shampoo 2) spoons 3) blanket. Seriously...each request was responded to in ~5 minutes...and the blanket request was at 10pm or so.
The room was quiet, bed comfortable, and they also let us have late checkout (12noon) although we ended up being ready by 11:30am. Although I do not consider the hotel "super" luxurious it was great for our little family and very friendly staff and attention to customers. We hope to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room near the back, and if you have a family ask for a room with additional space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlamingoManager, Front Office Manager at Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Buggybug,
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Flamingo Hotel. We are so glad our staff were so attentive and quick to your needs. We do all possible to accommodate late check-outs for our guests are so appreciative of you being here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family and I just recently stayed here. The staff was very helpful and the beds were very comfortable. The only odd thing was we had a small refrigerator to use, but it was placed in the closet. So to reach anything you had to step in the closet. But otherwise nice. The pool was great for the kids and the hot tub amazing. The downside was they have a gym that they boast about and have pictures for you to see, but to use it as a guest you have to pay $12.00, never heard of that before. But otherwise nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

we have stayed here many times and are always happy. the hotel is clean, friendly and well located. The kids love the pool, and the staff are helpful and kind. In the summer the pool helpers throw coins in the water for the kids. My mother had a large party here and it was a great place for a reunion.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I stayed here for a week and a half. The room was clean and very comfortable. The pool at the center of the hotel is one of the best hotel pools I've seen. I came for a conference, but I would consider coming back for a vacation, it's such a beautiful area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa

Address: 2777 Fourth St., Santa Rosa, CA 95409
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Landmark located between Sonoma Valley Wineries and downtown Santa Rosa, walking distance to upscale Shopping Montgomery Village, 5 restaurants, 24 hr CVS Pharmacy and Safeway/Starbucks. Full service affordable Destination Resort with 8 treatment rooms Spa featuring a Couples Massage, facials, manicure, pedicure, Vichy Body Scrub,2 Olympic size Outdoor heated Pools, 5 Tennis Courts with Pro, 8,000 Sq ft Montecito Heghts Health Club with child care, personal trainers, Indoor Cycle and Warm Yoga Studios,Free Parking, 170 rooms including 13 Pool view Suites,newly remodeled Executive Kings,Pet friendly rooms upon request,Family rooms-3-4 beds; all non Smoking rooms with mini refrigerators, King or dbl-dbl size beds, complimentary Wine and Cheese tasting every Friday 5-7pm, Poolside Dining, Lounge with nightly entertainment- dancing on weekends, Salsa Sundays,3-6pm Happy Hour,2 Bars,Healthy menu choices, Sunday Champagne Brunch, 15 function rooms 15,000 sq ft of function space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Conference Resort And Spa
Flamingo Resort Santa Rosa
Flamingo Hotel Santa Rosa
Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.