We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but with caveats” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2777 Fourth St., Santa Rosa, CA 95409   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice but with caveats”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a nice hotel, very dated but clean and comfortable. Beware first floor rooms as they are right by the entry door so you hear guests coming in and out. Also beware that they charge for internet access which is absolutely ridiculous. On the positive side, they do provide a guest pass for a fitness center right next door. On the down side, this is a public fitness center and VERY busy.

Room Tip: If you want a first floor room, ask to see it first as some are right next to entry doors making it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    164
    71
    45
    27
See reviews for
91
159
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
california
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This place I'm sure was great in the 60's,70's, and maybe even the early 80's. Oh, but it's really time to get up too 2013 Flamingo. I only wish the rooms were priced according to the time era and decoration.
When I drove up to this place it reminded me of an old Las Vegas hotel and was a far cry from resort or spa. Then when I walked into the lobby it smelled like bad air freshener that was trying to cover up the stench of old cig smoke.
The hallway to our SUITE also had a moldy water smell. I had to laugh at what they call a suite, again I'm sure the suite was great way back when...but the furniture and carpet needs to be replaced asap.
I often visit the beautiful Napa/Sonoma wine country and stay in Santa Rosa though in the future I won't be stay at this place again.
Don't be fooled by the pictures.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our stay at the formerly lovely Flamingo was a disappointment. While they are renovating one wing which looked well past due, the part we stayed in had dirty carpets, stained linens, moldy grout, and ill-fitting doors which actually came open once while we were out! Fortunately we left the tv on so it probably looked like we were just airing the place out and nothing got taken. The cord on the hairdryer was so tangled and filthy I didn't want to use it. The parking areas in back are extremely poorly lit so you feel quite unsafe leaving your car parked there, or even walking out after dark.

When I asked to take my continental breakfast to our room, I was informed I could not take the silverware or plate since I might not return them! How nice to treat your guests like criminals!! Perhaps this is indicative of the clientele they are now attracting? Too bad - it used to be my favorite place but we will stay no more.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hi to all,

I made a trip in Santa Rosa during a few days in march 2012. I stay in the Flamingo hotel during 10 days and it was awesome ! The flamingo's crew is very kind and at your service for all you desire. The room, food and also the sports equipments are at a high level.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Oregon Coast
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed two years ago and found the room adequate but dated and with a filthy stained carpet. We stayed for Christmas Eve night and again found the room comfortable but with stained carpets in the room and hall. Doesn't Santa Rosa have carpet cleaners? The staff was very nice. I'm a little leery about parking in the dark, back area but parked under a light. We probably would stay again because it's so convenient but $140 for a quick sleep is a bit much.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room but expect to pay more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlamingoResortSpa, Manager at Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for compliments on our service, staff and location.
We replaced Hallway carpets in the last week and addressing room carpets as well this week.
We appreciate your tryin gus again and would lilke to ensure your next visit is better if you contact us in advance. Our Holidays periods are very busy but before or after is our value season or consider advance purchase specials.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fork, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is an older property that resembles old Las Vegas. The staff and management were great providing excellent service. The rooms we refurbished and left a a bit to desire, the carpet needed a good cleaning or replacement. The hallway had antiseptic smell. The outdoor courtyard was beautiful featuring a huge pool.

I was on business and was treated to one of the best catered lunches I have experienced, and I have experienced many.

The meals in the restaurant were well prepared, but pricy. The service was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights for a conference. Older property but clean comfortable rooms. Service was excellent. I made several requests of the front desk including bringing in a roll away cot to changing my billing credit card and they responded promptly and friendly. Room was very quiet and
Comfortable! I would definitely recommend the hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa

Address: 2777 Fourth St., Santa Rosa, CA 95409
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Landmark located between Sonoma Valley Wineries and downtown Santa Rosa, walking distance to upscale Shopping Montgomery Village, 5 restaurants, 24 hr CVS Pharmacy and Safeway/Starbucks. Full service affordable Destination Resort with 8 treatment rooms Spa featuring a Couples Massage, facials, manicure, pedicure, Vichy Body Scrub,2 Olympic size Outdoor heated Pools, 5 Tennis Courts with Pro, 8,000 Sq ft Montecito Heghts Health Club with child care, personal trainers, Indoor Cycle and Warm Yoga Studios,Free Parking, 170 rooms including 13 Pool view Suites,newly remodeled Executive Kings,Pet friendly rooms upon request,Family rooms-3-4 beds; all non Smoking rooms with mini refrigerators, King or dbl-dbl size beds, complimentary Wine and Cheese tasting every Friday 5-7pm, Poolside Dining, Lounge with nightly entertainment- dancing on weekends, Salsa Sundays,3-6pm Happy Hour,2 Bars,Healthy menu choices, Sunday Champagne Brunch, 15 function rooms 15,000 sq ft of function space ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Conference Resort And Spa
Flamingo Resort Santa Rosa
Flamingo Hotel Santa Rosa
Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Conference Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.