We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay if you can find a coupon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fountaingrove Inn

Save Saved
You added Fountaingrove Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fountaingrove Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Fountaingrove Pkwy., Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Suisun City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stay if you can find a coupon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Nice place to stay for our 1-night visit and touring of the Russian River wine valley. The place is a little pricey but we saved big $$$ by finding a coupon from Livingsocial.com.

The place was out of rooms with a king bed so we settled for 2 queens. Normally the room was $159 but got it for $115 thru livingsocial.com. At check-in we also received $20 off for dinner and 2 free breakfast buffet coupons worth $30 total.

The adjoining restaurant/bar is also nice but a little pricey, but with the discount coupons it brought the price back down into proper perspective.

Comfortable beds and pillows and nice large rooms with refrigerator and a Keurig coffee maker. Nice marble tile bathrooms.

The place had kind of a dated 70's style modern wooden theme, it reminded a little bit like something done by Frank Lloyd Wright.

The key to this find was the Livingsocial.com discounts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    157
    53
    20
    12
See reviews for
55
160
22
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This facility was really not to my taste .. it seems quite worn and tired - needs updating. I must be in the minority in my opinion as other reviews I have read here love the place. The carpet in the hallways is won and appears dirty.
However , the front desk / concierge Chris is one of the bets I have ever run across- kudos to Fountaingrove for having him on staff!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is my second stay at Fountaingrove Inn and once again I enjoyed the stay. The hotel is quiet, clean, and comfortable. It is unpretentious and warm. The staff was helpful and Chris was especially helpful in suggestions for wine touring. It is a great central location for going any direction in Sonoma County.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPaso
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Comfortable, clean and quiet. We stayed in October 2013 to visit family and do Sanoma and Napa Valleys wineries. Nice resturant and bar but a bit pricy, which I would expect considering the location. Didn't have time to use the pool or fitness center. Our concierge Chris, was very helpful with locations and times of certain wineries. All the staff was very helpful and friendly. Eye pleasing Inn but is limited in property site, so don't expect a view. Not the typical looking Inn but is nice to see some originality for a change.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Love the very cool vibe of the place. Clean, comfortable, quiet room. Pretty property. Good customer service. Easy access to wine country. Two caveats: because of an odd design choice, many rooms have no view at all and instead face a vine-covered wall. Also, the hotel seems out of place amid all the suburban sprawl. Pick it up and move it to Petaluma!

Room Tip: Ask if they have any rooms with a real view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stay was during October 2013. My wife and I really enjoy our California wine country trips, and like the Sonoma county area much more than the Napa county area. Santa Rosa seems to be a great central location, and has some decent hotels, motels and resorts. Fountaingrove Inn, as other places, has its pros and cons. Our room was a junior suite.

Pros:
1. Great location for easy access to Sonoma county wineries.
2. Polite staff.
3. Clean and very quiet rooms. The only noise you really get is from the outside, which is minimal. The door to the main hallway is solid wood (oak I believe), as is the door to the tub/commode room.
4. Very very comfortable beds.
5. Equus restaurant. We had a dinner there one evening, and it was very very good. Service was fast and polite. Had the breakfast buffet one morning. Good, but price was a bit on the high side (fortunately we were each given a complimentary breakfast due to some minor issues during check-in).
6. Complimentary wifi. However they ask you to not use too much bandwidth (i.e., no streaming videos, online gaming, and things like that).
7. Large granite-top bathroom vanity (separate from the tub/toilet room). They supply a lighted makeup mirror (my wife appreciated that), and a hair dryer.

Cons:
1. The hotel is built at the bottom of a hillside, located at a busy intersection. Don’t expect beautiful views from your room; you’ll either get a parking lot or a hillside with the typical long brown grass.
2. Several places I’ve stayed offer a small refrigerator and microwave oven. This place has a tiny refrigerator, but no microwave. Not a big deal, but a con nonetheless.
3. Not much drawer space to place unpacked clothes.
4. We stayed in building 2 (where the junior suites were located). There is no elevator in that building for getting luggage up and down, but if you drive up the hill to the rear door there is a curvy ramp you can wheel large suitcases down/up. A bit of an inconvenience. I would also like to say that it is even more of an inconvenience for handicapped guests. Although there are no marked parking spaces near that back door, I noticed a couple cars with handicapped permits parked up near there. A bit of a hill to negotiate for those guests.

Not really a con, but there were a couple spots where the carpet in our room was showing signs of wear.

I really have nothing bad to say about this place. However, I think Fountaingrove’s rates are a bit high for the ambiance you get. Not that this stay was bad; the beds are really comfy, and the rooms are ultra quiet. But, I’ve still had better stays at other hotels or resorts. I’d would like to extend my thanks to Fountaingrove Inn’s staff for a good stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We travel to or through Santa Rosa 3- 6 times a year and have found our new favorite hotel. The location is perfect for our shopping trips. We were pleasantly surprised how quiet the room was being right off the freeway. Staff was gracious and helpful. Our server in the restaurant was absolute delightful and our dinner was very good. Yes, the view is not noteworthy, but that wasn't a priority for our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fountaingrove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountaingrove Inn

Address: 101 Fountaingrove Pkwy., Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fountaingrove Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fountaingrove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountaingrove Hotel Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountaingrove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.