We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel - poor signs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fountaingrove Inn

Save Saved
You added Fountaingrove Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fountaingrove Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Fountaingrove Pkwy., Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Wirral UK
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
140 hotel reviews
Reviews in 231 cities Reviews in 231 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
“Ok hotel - poor signs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Arrival 2/5 - we stopped at the Tourist Information to ask about rooms for the night. We wanted somewhere quality with an outdoor pool. The helpful lady phoned a few places and got rates for us. The Fountaingrove fitted the bill. The hotel is not well signed from the road. We drove straight past it a few times. It is on the corner of Mendochino Ave and Fountain Grove. It's there as you turn into Fountain Grove. Blink and you'll miss the entrance!! From the car park there are no signs for reception. Check in was fast and friendly. You can drive to the upper car park if your room is on that level. Again there are no signs to direct you. there is a door to the room, but no signs. One of the worst signed hotels I've ever stayed at. Rather strange.

Room 4/5 - a good size room with king bed, large comfy chair, fridge, board/iron, plenty of storage space. Good quality linen and pillows. Very comfy bed - we slept well.

Bathroom 4/5 - a good size with full size bath and shower above. Separate outside sink with coffee machine and hair dryer.

Location 3/5 - a short drive to downtown Santa Rosa.

Other 3/5 - there is a nice, though small pool with a seating area. The gym looked ok. There is a restaurant. Free wifi. The hallway carpets looked dirty and in need of a good clean.

Value 3/5 - we paid $204 including tax. On the high side.

Overall 3/5 - nice room, pleasant staff, but awful signs and dirty carpets mark it down. Easy to sort out with a bit of thought.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    160
    55
    23
    11
See reviews for
61
163
22
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Stay here for our 4 day weekend visit to Russian river valley and dry creek valley. We stay on the first level in order to avoid the second floor, per notes on tripadvisor and yelp. Room was clean and great for sleeping. Had to keep the fan on in the room all night to fight the dampness/musty smell... But understand basis the recent rain and the room being built into the mountain. Did not eat at the restaurant but caution that there is better places both in this and surrounding towns basis others we met who ate there.
Would stay again for just a bed but might try the Hilton behind it for a step up in room grade..

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Loved the style of this hotel from the outside. Large room and very clean. It has a great pool and hot tub. Nice bar but very noisy. We didn't sleep well as the beds rolled to the middle, we think the mattresses need to be replaced. Very difficult to get to your room with your luggage. You can either drag your suitcases up a steep stairwell or park your car on a steep incline and struggle to get your bags into the hotel as all rooms open to the inside hallway. Room numbers were not marked on the outside of the buildings. We were exhausted by the time we got all of our luggage into our room. No breakfast was included. We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Always get a room on the first floor. This hotel is very difficult to enter otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We really liked this Inn. It is a very, very nice 3 star hotel. The room we had which was in the convention center building, was large, clean, and quiet. The bathroom could use a little more light, but we found having the sink was outside the bathroom was a nice feature. It is near the rte 101 highway and a short drive to downtown Santa Rosa. The main part of our visit was to spend a day at the Charles Schultz museum and wanted to stay nearby so we could explore other places of interest in the area. As part of the hotel package we were able to have "free" breakfast. The breakfast buffet was better than average. The coffee was really good. The other items were eggs, bacon, sausage, home fries, french toast, and fresh fruit. The bacon, eggs, and fruit were good. The french toast was horribly dry - do not eat. The bar was fine and had a decent selection of beers, it was pricey, and cold place to sit. The Inn also has an outdoor pool and hot tub which was a nice area to hang out in. I'd stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Clean and stylish room, pleasant desk staff. My only complaint would be that there was overhead noise very early in the morning. Otherwise perfect for my one night stay. I did not use the pool or spa but I did take a look--they were fine, nothing remarkable. Conveniently located near highways but I did not hear any road noise which is a good thing!

Room Tip: I could hear overhead noise very early in the morning (5:00am) so I would suggest getting a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights we upgraded to a Jr Suite for $20.00 more per night...it was worth it.room 264..bed was soft...shower slow,but nice room.None of the rooms had a decent window or view..at least we had 2 wine glasses,small table and a coffee pot THAT WAS NOT IN THE BATHROOM!...the restaurant has a good happy hour during the week...and the dining room has great food...small portions but they have an awesome chef...the staff here were more than helpful...from the desk to the maintenance to the FANATIC maids...that keep the room as clean as they can....
...

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire,UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights purely to acclimatise from our flight from London to San Francisco, ready for a drive up through oregon to Seattle. This hotel is just 1.5 hrs north os SFO, although we sat in traffic getting out of town over the golden gate bridge (that was a Sat afternoon!) so leave plenty of time. However the hotel is right off the 101 on your way north and made a great place to relax and start our holiday.
The onsite restaurant was very good. Unbelievable reasonable prices, a good standard of food and the service was very good too. We ate on the first night, when we were so tired we just needed food before bed and they were very understanding of our needs to be in and out as soon as possible. We also had breakfast here each day as they had a healthy selection at good prices (big bowl of yogurt, granola with strawberries was $6), so there was no point going elsewhere.
They have a nice small lap pool outside in an enclosed courtyard area with a hot tub and several loungers for anyone who can take the sun. We also used the fitness room which had everything you need for a good workout, although as with nearly every hotel gym I've used, the room was fairly compact and very hot but better than many I've been to.
The rooms were comfy, clean and had all you needed including a fridge and my husband appreciated the coffee maker. The only small downside we found was that the bed was a bit bouncy and so because we prefer a firm pocket sprung mattress we felt we would have bad backs had we stayed more than two nights. However, that's probably just specific issue for me but worth noting if you are the same and need more support. Otherwise the bedding was of good quality and we managed to get the room down to a comfortable temperature overnight. The one thing I am finding on my current US trip is that this hotel (and the following 2 so far) did not have in room safes, which we find unusual) but the hotel is fairly small and felt pretty secure so it didn't worry us. The hotel was quiet so if you are looking for somewhere to stop along your travels up the 101 or want a nice base to go wine tasting, I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountaingrove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountaingrove Inn

Address: 101 Fountaingrove Pkwy., Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fountaingrove Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Fountaingrove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountaingrove Hotel Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountaingrove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.