We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay, for Valentine's Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountaingrove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fountaingrove Inn to your Saves list
Fountaingrove Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Fountaingrove Pkwy., Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great stay, for Valentine's Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The hotel is right off the highway, but once you walk into the beautiful lobby, you don't hear the noise. The whole place is very nicely designed, warm colors and stone everywhere.

We got a great price, last minute Priceline Express Deal for Valentine's Day, and were very happy with this choice.

The front desk staff were friendly and check-in was quick.

The room was in the back and the window faced the hill, giving us a view of the green hill and a quiet atmosphere. We had a room with two queen beds, and the one we slept in was very comfortable, The Keurig coffee maker was a plus, it worked perfectly, and we found fresh half and half in the small fridge in the closet.

The bathroom was larger than expected, and comfortable.

We did not ask about a breakfast voucher, and we had to leave early so didn't have breakfast at Equus.

The hotel deserves its star rating, 3.5*, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    191
    71
    29
    13
See reviews for
75
192
23
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I spent two days at this hotel. It is a lovely property and while there were some minor issues during our stay, we brought them to the attention of the staff and the hotel manager, and they were addressed and resolved immediately! The Equus restaurant served a very nice breakfast and the food was good. We would stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We liked this hotel and location. Didn't use heated Jacuzzi/swim pool. Beds are very comfy. We had a junior suite in the second building, far from the road, so didn't hear any noise.
Like the morning buffet and very attentive staff in the restaurant. We also took our lunch "to go" and it was made withing 15 mnts as promised.
Planning to come back and enjoy another stay:-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We "won" this hotel on a Priceline bid for $75. We stayed two nights in room 102, which is on the ground floor of the main building. We did not get told of a free breakfast, nor did we ask. We were here on a beer drinking weekend at Russian River Brewing and knew we would never, ever make it down to a breakfast before 11am.

I love the look of this place. It is really beautiful, designed in what I think of as Prairie School style, though I'm not an architect and might be wrong. Lots of wood and stone and strong horizontal lines. The lobby has rough-hewn stone walls, lots of natural light coming from above, and a water feature. You feel like you are outside. Seriously, someone took a lot of care designing it because.even walking down the hallways was visually pleasing. It is NOT located in a scenic area, but in a typical "hotel row" right off the freeway. However, they have built a fence around the perimeter of the building to help with noise reduction. Ivy is growing over it and they planted ferns and birch trees inside of it, so you actually have a rather pastoral view and sense of privacy. Our room had a enormous picture window, so it was wonderful to actually have a pretty picture!

Our King room was very spacious. I had work to do, so it was nice to have both a desk and a chaise lounge on which to take advantage of the free wifi. The bathroom was huge, with plenty of counter space over which to strew my mountain of cosmetics and face care products. Two of us could function perfectly well together in that bathroom, a rarity in most hotels. A tiny fridge in the closet was nice for leftovers.The King size bed was comfortable with soft sheets and mounds of down pillows. Keurig coffee maker with (gasp) real half in half in the fridge. This alone made me a devoted fan. Seriously loath the powdered crap (which was also available).

We tend to stick to ourselves, but the woman who checked us in was nice. Seemed to be happy that we were SO into the decor. Also, the housekeeper happily gave me extra Keurig coffee packets when I asked.

The only bad thing about this hotel is now I won't want to Priceline in Santa Rosa anymore....I'm just going to want to stay here. We come here a few times a year, and I'm looking forward to returning to the Fountain Grove Inn.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms in the main have sweet little "walled garden" views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Since I will no longer stay at the Flamingo, I did the roll-of-the-dice deal on Hotwire where you can book a 4-star hotel at a great price but don't know which one it is until you pay. That's how I ended up at Fountaingrove for two nights this January. It was very clean in all regards and the coffee machine brews those little premeasured cups. They had real creamer in the fridge and not that powdery junk. The beds were very comfortable but there is a lot of road noise that comes through the windows, even though I was staying in the back. This part of town has sirens that blare quite often too. The drapes didn't quite shut tight and I like it dark when I sleep, so I had to push them behind the lamp to block more light out. There is a little fridge in the room but no microwave. They did not include breakfast with my low rate, but I did hear them offer vouchers to another guest. Be sure and ask for the breakfast vouchers if you stay here. The 2nd floor back door to the parking area was also not a secure door so anyone can come and go through it. I would stay here again as I don't mind sleeping with earplugs.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the road as you can, ask for breakfast vouchers, and inquire ahead of time if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Checkin went very smoothly as was our entire stay. We had a room on the second floor in the rear of the Inn. The furnishing were nice and the room clean. We did not eat or visit the bar, so I cannot comment. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was a TravelZoo experience for us and we enjoyed our stay very much. What we liked about it was the spacious room (Jr. Suite), the quiet and the good quality. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the restaurant had a great breakfast buffet that was included. We didn't have any other meals there. Our rating could have very well been a three also for the reasons that there wasn't anything that distinguished this above other good quality establishments and the location wasn't particularly special. Probably this was a 3 1/2. We would go back again on the same TravelZoo deal but probably not at full price.

Room Tip: We were in building 2 facing northwest. The hallways were very cold - probably conserving electrici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fountaingrove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountaingrove Inn

Address: 101 Fountaingrove Pkwy., Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fountaingrove Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Fountaingrove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountaingrove Hotel Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountaingrove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.