We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable but Noisy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fountaingrove Inn

Save Saved
You added Fountaingrove Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fountaingrove Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Fountaingrove Pkwy., Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable but Noisy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Since I will no longer stay at the Flamingo, I did the roll-of-the-dice deal on Hotwire where you can book a 4-star hotel at a great price but don't know which one it is until you pay. That's how I ended up at Fountaingrove for two nights this January. It was very clean in all regards and the coffee machine brews those little premeasured cups. They had real creamer in the fridge and not that powdery junk. The beds were very comfortable but there is a lot of road noise that comes through the windows, even though I was staying in the back. This part of town has sirens that blare quite often too. The drapes didn't quite shut tight and I like it dark when I sleep, so I had to push them behind the lamp to block more light out. There is a little fridge in the room but no microwave. They did not include breakfast with my low rate, but I did hear them offer vouchers to another guest. Be sure and ask for the breakfast vouchers if you stay here. The 2nd floor back door to the parking area was also not a secure door so anyone can come and go through it. I would stay here again as I don't mind sleeping with earplugs.

Room Tip: Get as far away from the road as you can, ask for breakfast vouchers, and inquire ahead of time if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    158
    53
    21
    12
See reviews for
56
162
22
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Checkin went very smoothly as was our entire stay. We had a room on the second floor in the rear of the Inn. The furnishing were nice and the room clean. We did not eat or visit the bar, so I cannot comment. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was a TravelZoo experience for us and we enjoyed our stay very much. What we liked about it was the spacious room (Jr. Suite), the quiet and the good quality. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the restaurant had a great breakfast buffet that was included. We didn't have any other meals there. Our rating could have very well been a three also for the reasons that there wasn't anything that distinguished this above other good quality establishments and the location wasn't particularly special. Probably this was a 3 1/2. We would go back again on the same TravelZoo deal but probably not at full price.

Room Tip: We were in building 2 facing northwest. The hallways were very cold - probably conserving electrici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I purchased a Travelzoo deal for this hotel. For the price, the hotel was really nice. The staff was very friendly, room was clean and spacious (small sitting room with TV separate from the bedroom with another TV), and the breakfast was hearty (buffet including eggs, bacon, sausage, potato, french toast, fruit, oatmeal and pastries). There was free parking, as well as internet (although we didn't use it), and a pool and gym (that we didn't use, either). The room had a small fridge, coffee maker and hair dryer. Cons: dim lighting in room, cold hallways, poor quality TV. We had dinner at Equus (we tried their BBQ, which was good, but not great). If you're looking for a quaint hotel in wine country, then this isn't it, but it's a decent, clean, affordable hotel with typical amenities,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

great spot to relax while on business. even a great spot when you want to go into the wine country. spa decored lobbey, soft and comfortable rooms, oh by the way best sleep in many nites, matress the best.
food in an atmosphere that is quiet and the food at Equas is dynamite. cooked to order. osobucco was succulent and more than enough.
can not wait until the next visit to my account in the Santa Rosa territory. Thanks Fountaingrove Inn, great job.

Room Tip: rooms are great soft and the mattress is the best, what a real sleep long time over due.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was THE high-end place to be in the mid-Eighties in Santa Rosa and a lot of its charm remains, except for large sections of former lawns eaten away by road expansion. The waterfall and stone floors in the lobby, and the overall Frank Lloyd Wright-esque feel to the exterior and decor are rather comfortable to the eye. The room we enjoyed (Junior Suite) was nicely furnished, very clean, the beds were quite comfortable, and the in-room amenities pleasing. The Equus Restaurant's food was very good (you should try the calamari!!) and its morning breakfast buffet (although quite limited) started each of our two days in Santa Rosa off just right.

As others have mentioned, the hotel essentially overlooks Highway 101, so traffic noise can be a problem. Therefore, if you enjoy quiet as we do, would recommend a hillside-facing room if you are staying in the main building and an even-numbered room in the adjoining (north) building. Our initially assigned room was an odd-numbered room in the adjoining building. We moved to an even-numbered room immediately. Front desk was more than pleased to meet our needs. Also, in the adjoining building, there is no elevator; you access the rooms by ramp or stairs on either end of the building.

Speaking of noise, Equus is all hardwood flooring so even walking creates a cacophany. However, the food and good service are worth a little distraction.

All in all, we would stay again if Travelzoo runs the $99 offer again which includes a $25 per day restaurant credit and buffet breakfast for two. Otherwise, we are not into $225/night accommodations.

Room Tip: Get rooms that face away from freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We've stayed at the Fountaingrove three times and have always felt that it was a good value and pleasant experience. The rooms are small but comfy. They have a fitness center, and often wine-tasting in the evenings. The location is close the the freeway (but not at all noisy) and 10 minutes from the downtown. They have an on-site restaurant (Equis) which is particularly good for a weekend brunch. Watch for their special rates!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fountaingrove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountaingrove Inn

Address: 101 Fountaingrove Pkwy., Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fountaingrove Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fountaingrove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountaingrove Hotel Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Santa Rosa
Fountaingrove Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountaingrove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.