We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable Hotel with noise problems” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
VIP WINE PACKAGE
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
folsom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel with noise problems”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

We recently stayed at the Hilton (Sonoma Wine Country) for one night as part of a family get together in Santa Rosa. I have broken down my review into different categories as follows:

Price: We paid $114 ($128 with tax) for a one night stay. After reviewing other hotels in the Santa Rosa area, this price was competitive and even on the low end. There are other hotels, such as Quality Inn, etc in a worse location that are available from $70 to $100. We preferred to pay a little more for a better location and nicer hotel.

Location: The location of the hotel was very convenient, located in northern Santa Rosa just a few minutes off the Freeway near Fountaingrove Parkway. This hotel would be a good base for those going wine tasting, etc. Not a walkable hotel, you need to drive, nothing within walking distance.

Hotel/Room: The hotel was in good condition. It is made up of a number to three story wood-construction buildings. There was nice wood decking at the entry and on the back side of the hotel buildings. The room was spacious, even for us with four in the room. The bathroom was adequate and clean. The linens were fine. The big negative with regard to the room was the inability to insulate the rooms from exterior noise. From the room you were able to hear ordinary conversations being held in the hallway and adjacent rooms. We are not sensitive to noise, but something to do with the construction of the hotel allows the noise to pentetrate too easily. For those of you who are light sleepers this could be a problem.

Staff: We had very little interaction with staff, only at checkin which was quick and efficient.

If not for the issue with the noise, this would have been a perfect stay for us.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    274
    173
    75
    40
See reviews for
144
308
28
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

Let me state right up front that I would probably give it another star if it weren't a Hilton. How happy one is with a hotel is in part dependent on how their expectations are met. To some extent, the brand of the hotel sets up those expectations. I don't expect the same things from a Motel 6 and a Westin.

The property looks a little dated, and while the furniture in the room seemed pretty new, the other decorations seemed older as well. The carpeting in the hallways is very worn out. Nothing is broken, it's just in need of updating. I agree with every other reviewer that commented on the noise. It's not horrible, but there is a definite need for greater soundproofing. Our room was near the ice machine, and it could clearly be heard in our room. Luckily, it wasn't used frequently.

The worst part of the room was the lighting/mirror situation. The lighting around both of the mirrors (one in the bathroom, one on the closet) was horrible, rendering the mirrors almost useless. My wife ended up sitting in the window with a hand mirror to do her makeup. The lighting in the bathroom was particularly bad, and very little of it carried into the shower. More lighting is needed.

We had a nice view out our window and the layout of the grounds is pleasant. The property is in an excellent location for visiting the Russian River, Dry Creek, and Alexander Valleys. It's also a great deal for the area.

My biggest annoyance was that we were given a handicap-accessible room. This affected the bathroom significantly, with very little counter space and additional handrails on surfaces. The showerhead was of adjustable height, but it wouldn't go high enough to be over my head. I'm sure these features are great for those who need them, but they were a drawback for us. We were told that it was the only room available.

I simply expect more from a hotel with the Hilton name.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

We returned to the Hilton in Santa Rosa for the third year in a row to participate in the barrel tasting weekend for Russian River wineries. For the third time in a row, we had a nice room--clean and comfortable.
For the third time in a row, we also had a MISERABLE experience with breakfast service. We waited with a gaggle of fellow guests for someone who would even acknowledge our presence and start a list of people who needed to be seated.
There were empty tables, but no one to bus them. We were told that a large party had overwhelmed the staff. (Wouldn't any competant hotel manager be able to forecast that a LaCrosse team might want to be fed at the same time, and that this might necessitate adding extra staff? Or that one of the busiest weekends of the year for wine tasting might create demand for breakfast? Evidently not. )
We were left waiting for over half an hour for a table, even though there were tables and seating capacity in the bar that could have been pressed into service. Guests weren't even offered a cup of coffee or the opportunity to help themselves to yogurt, cereal, etc. for a makeshift breakfast-on-the-go. Excuses were abundant, problem solving was non-existant.
If breakfast service were cooked-to-order, this might be understandable. Unfortunately, it was a buffet. The staff were polite and pleasant. I felt sorry for them. They were subjected to a lot of pressure from justifiably outraged guests, all because hotel management is obviously incompetant. That is the only explanation I can imagine for letting this happen three years in a row!
If we stay there again, we'll opt for wireless internet access as our Hilton Honors Gold perk (yes, I spend way too many nights at Hiltons all over the world to merit poor service) and head for Carrows where they know how to staff a dining room.

  • Liked — rooms clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Wretched service at breakfast, no PBS on TV
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2007

HILTON SANTA ROSA - Avoid styling here at all costs. The hotel may look nice and the rooms are clean but the hotel is the worst! Staying 3-nights we had to change to 3 different rooms. Our first room was right next to the ice maker and totally and completely noisy. We moved; the second room seemed ok at first but the A/C didn't work and we came back from dinner to a room that was 78 degrees hot and no sign of cooling off. The front desk was notified and sent an "engineer" out. We were told no other room was available as they were sold out. The engineer called the front desk and told them our room was not cooling down: they told him they had a room. So the front desk flat out lied to us. We moved at 11:30pm to a new room that was again NOISY and with a crappy view of the freeway. This is a noisy hotel. Doors slam shut all the time, the showers next door wake you up, the air flow in the rooms in nil.

The restaurant is terrible as well. The non-existent hostess finally sat us after a 20-minute wait, only 7-other tables were occupied and we saw about 4-5 wait staff. Our server had an iq of about 65 is seemed and we were not presented with menus, napkins, or coffee. We basically has to get everything ourselves even after we asked for it.

Speaking with other guests, everyone moved rooms for one reason or another and everyone complained about the restaurant staff and service. The front desk service was terrible and the emergency hallway lights did not work at all during a power outage which is very dangerous and not in compliance.

There is a Fountain Grove in on the corner, a Residence Inn across the street, a Good-Night inn on the other side of the freeway and Vintner’s Inn a mile down the road. Any of these places would have been better. I am stunned that a Hilton would be this bad and will never stay in one anywhere, anytime-ever.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — the hotel
  • Stayed February 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2007

Arrived tired and hungry after 11 hour flight and 2 hour coach journey. We were greeted by friendly and efficient staff. Our room was very spacious and clean with a great view.
Ordered room service, told 30 mins, took a shower and within the time promised, we were taking delivery.
Very good food, comfy bed only to be woken by a 3.8 earthquake! Breakfast in reasturant first clas with friendy staff. Definatley will stay again

  • Liked — The room was perfect! We've stayed in worse 5* Hotels.
  • Disliked — Had to walk outside from breakfast room to room block - but was not a problem for us. Very good to have the excercise in lovely weather.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa, ca
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2007

We live here and know all the inns and outs. The Hilton offers good value, good location, nice rooms, good pool. We checked in for a quick romantic get away mid fall. Sometimes we stay in summer just for the pool. The food is fair so eat in Healdsburg or downtown Santa Rosa. Easy to get to the vineyards out drycreek valley, the best of the wine country hands down, without going broke staying in Healdsburg...been there, done that. Overall a nice place to stay with a pretty view of the city lights.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — not in middle of downtown but easy to get to
  • Tips/Secrets — bring a good bottle of wine and relax
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2006

Check in was a breeze, they gave us a room at 10:00am. Parking is ample and free. The room itself was lovely -- - clean, nice bathroom, wonderful king size bed. However, the noise from the room above us was absolutely HIDEOUS!! Every step they took could be heard. Had breakfast in the restaurant both days - - it was ok, typical hotel buffet. All in all a good experience. Again, the room was lovely but the noise from upstairs unbearable.

  • Liked — The bed!! Very, very comfortable.
  • Disliked — Noise from room above.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.