We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, Clean rooms... horrible service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
VIP WINE PACKAGE
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“New, Clean rooms... horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2005

We booked this hotel via the hotel's own website and got a great deal. The rooms are obviously newly renovated and ours was quite spacious. We dined in the restaurant on-site, and the food was nothing special, but we adored taking a glass of wine out on their lovely heat-lamped terrace. If we hadn't needed to encounter any staff during the stay, we may have given this hotel a higher rating. The front desk agent said no more than 3 words to us at check-in, ignored my request to reconfirm our room type (and we ended up having to move rooms, as we specifically wanted a different bed -- which also required us driving to a different building), and could not answer my query about morning breakfast service. Do you have it? Yes or no. Usually I would chalk that all up to a new employee... except it kept happening. After dinner, we decided to watch a movie. It took us a few minutes to agree on a title, and then the movie wouldn't work. We waited about 10 minutes and tried again. I called the desk and got another employee who stated, "we're full and everybody must be watching movies." Then HUNG UP! I called back after 10 more minutes of trying and they said someone was resolving the issue. Great, thanks for letting us know. The next morning we woke to ice cold water. Absolutely couldn't get a drop of hot water. Did the whole sink bathing thing and headed to check out (pretty annoying to spend more than your room rate on dinner at the property and then not get a hot shower in the morning!). When we mentioned to the staff that our wing had apparently run out of hot water, she blankly stared at us and said, "we had a water main break, didn't you see the water outside?" Well, um, no. It was raining. No offer to compensate us or even take the silly movie off our bill! We were annoyed and we got into the car and left. It was only after driving for about 1/2 hour that my companion realized they'd cut our room rate in half! It was a very nice surprise, and I instantly felt better. Why hadn't they mentioned that when we checked out? It would have turned our departure into such a better experience. There were no other guests in the lobby at the time, so it couldn't have been an issue of "others wanting the same". We probably won't return to this hotel based solely on the service. I am of the thought that if you care enough about where to stay (as opposed to randomly entering a rate on an opaque website and not choosing your hotel) that the employees should make an effort to care about you.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    275
    173
    75
    40
See reviews for
144
309
28
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2005

From the outside, this hotel looks pretty junky. Fortunately, the inside is MUCH nicer. The buildings are spread out over the property, and parking can be tricky during busy times. Yes, the hallways have this weird new carpet/smoke (?) smell, but that did not extend into the well-appointed, completely remodelled room. There were nice pillows, a chair for relaxing, etc. The OnDemand movies didn't work correctly. We did not get a nice view like others did, but that's okay. We weren't in our room during the day anyway. One rant about Hilton in general, when will they get rid of the horrid Neutrogena bath products? I've gotten better products at a Sleep Inn. Seriously. We ordered room service and breakfast (included). The food was actually surprisingly good, but as usual for most hotel restaurants, the service was GOD-awful. Slow and rude. You have to check out the new bar and restaurant area, though. Since the hotel is up on the hill, there's a superb view of the valley. So lovely! The location is absolutely perfect with only 10-15 miles to Healdsburg with great shopping, and wine in surrounding area. Would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So, Cal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2004

Driving through the area, I called them and was transferred to the 800 booking service. After obtaining preliminary info, it turned into a hard sell sales tactic, they just wouldn't let me off the phone. I called back a few minutes later to book and was quoted a higher rate. "The property is booking up and there are limited rooms available." I made a reservation at the higher rate but called the hotel to relay my experience. I was given the original rate from my first call and an apology for having encountered this on the phone. (More on this later)

The layout of this property is gorgeous and spacious. Check-in was pleasant and our room was located in the Chardonnay wing. The moment we opened the door to see through the large picture window over looking the pool, we were amazed. Simply gorgeous with well manicured landscaping with large trees providing shade. I could only imagine the view from the rooms looking over Santa Rosa and beyond.

Our room was well maintained and not a hint of any odors with tasteful up to date decorating. The room itself has ample space to move around, maybe 750+ sqft or so with the king bed layout. (Just to note, this was a handicap accessible room so a regular room may vary slightly.) It had the usual desk and a small circular glass table placed next to a lounge chair and ottoman. A nice 25" TV and enough counter space for items like my camera bags and her purse to be placed on. Lighting in the main room was above average and a couple lamps had 3 way bulbs so reading was easily accomplished in multiple locations.

The bathroom was nicely set-up though sink counter space was a bit cramped. Very clean and not a sign of any mold or mildew. Lighting in the bathroom was a bit dim though. Water pressure was sufficient though I would have liked a shower massaging head.

Climate controls were challenging and setting a constant room temperature evaded us. Setting it at 72 degrees you'd think wouldn't be hard but it would cycle heat to maintain that temp and a cool 72 and warm 72 was obvious. We'd cool cycle till it was comfortable and shut it off.

This place is quiet! No road noise or anything could be heard originating from outside. The trade-off was that inside you could faintly hear guests in the adjoing rooms and those walking in the room above. Overall a minor issue and fortunately most were sleeping once it was past 10:30 p.m. The location really came into itself while walking the grounds about 9'ish in the evening and hearing frogs and an owl here and there. :)

The parking lot offers ample space and there is sufficient space for most courteous drivers. Finding a remote space is not hard here either. Just watch your location as you may get an unexpected car wash from the sprinklers in the mornings. ;)

The whole location appeared clean and this is due to the number of staff maintaining the grounds and buildings. It is refreshing to not see cigarette butts or other trash thrown recklessly around the grounds to bring a lower class feel to an otherwise nice location. This attention to detail promotes a pleasant experience for guests and it carries through to what we experienced at this property. A first rate stay.

The on site restaurant Nectar is excellent though be prepared $-wise as this is a small dish course. Food is top notch and our waiter was very attentive and knowledgeable about their offerings. Fresh plates between dishes and not a want was not addressed at this level. The bar is well stocked for mainstream requests and the atmosphere overlooking Santa Rosa is quite a sight to take in while dining or having a cocktail.

*As for the property booking up, our mid-week stay I estimate around 30% capacity so when 800 booking said limited availability, it was far from it. This was the one turn-off with this Hilton experience.

Overall, I would stay here on my next visit in the Sonoma area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2004

Stayed weekend late July. VERY pleasantly surprised to see rebirth of this hotel! Have stayed many times over the years, during which time it had declined. Happy to see the great care taken with improvements and renovations that have completely turned hotel around. Hallways quiet with thick carpet, rooms soothing with all new decor, luxe beds and bedding divine("heavenly bed"-like), bathrooms updated,special Hilton-only white french milled-Neutrogena soap. Furniture, carpet, drapes redone. Coffee/Tea service in rooms. Large Pool (with plenty of both new comfy lounge chairs and table/chairs for dining-poolside room service available) and location still the best in Sonoma County. North Santa Rosa locale easy hop to beautiful Healdsburg, Sonoma vineyards/wineries, Russian River-all scenic short drive away. Restaurant ambitiously featuring local produce/artisianal Sonoma-centric menu items-with wonderful views. Staff has "can do" attitude with positive excitement. Family friendly. Easy parking by your room. Daily wine tastings in the lobby. HIGHLY recommend hotel as terrific alternative to the typical high-priced, small sized room B&Bs and hotels in Healdsburg/Sonoma area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2004

A brief visit ( 18th-22nd July).
I cannot see any problems here at all, the rooms were spacious, clean, well decorated in the hues of a vineyard and most important, very comfortable.
Our room led out onto a balcony that gave access to the pool - pity about the unruly (embarassingly English) children - which was clean and relaxing (apart from the children).We breakfasted only -- it was adequate, not great, food but a very pleasant outlook to make up for it; either indoors or out.
The staff were very helpful indeed and the only problem with the room ( I was being picky) was resolved the same day.
Will definitely use it again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2004

Stayed here 2 nights June/2004 for a wedding at a nearby vineyard. Much family there from all over the world. Nowhere to gather but your rooms during the day. No indoor dining so the only place to eat was the outdoor dining patio. OK for breakfast - lunch - 90+temperature with no shade! Dinner- down to about 50, we were cold and mentioned it to waitress but no action. Mentioned it to another staff person on the way out who said - oh-we could turn the heaters on and did so as we were leaving.
To walk from rooms to dining is uphill so if you are not in tip-top shape, some difficulty. Oh yes - the handyman will take you on the golf cart if you can find him - sit on small back ledge so hang on for your safety. He took an elderly relative to his building and left him outside with his heavy luggage that the man had to carry down a long hall to his room.
Rooms with new furnishings are dark colors, depressing for our tastes. Lobby staff pleasant but they don't have much to work with. No concierge service. Water off for repairs for about an hour and a half Sunday - day of wedding - of course at the time we planned to get ready for the wedding. Generally an unpleasant experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2004

I have stayed here several times over the past few months during which time they have been completing their renovations. The hotel is now completely upgraded and very comfortable. I booked them through Priceline and every time was successful in getting a $45 per night rate which is unbeatable

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.