We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel; Excellent location and setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
VIP WINE PACKAGE
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
SF Bay Area, United States
1 review
“Very nice hotel; Excellent location and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was a very nice hotel for the price and located in a nice setting; enjoyed the wine and cheese reception on Thursday night. Rooms were clean and ventilation system was very good. Pool was clean and attractive. Outdoor patio off of bar a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
There is nothing quite like a getaway to Wine Country! Thank you so much for sharing feedback of the time you spent with us at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found such good value here. Our Lobby wine tastings are always a hit with our guests and we are glad you agree. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    287
    178
    77
    41
See reviews for
151
320
29
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had some concerns based on other reviews of the property. We called and voiced our concerns. Upon arrival we were pleasantly greeted. The rooms were spacious, the beds very comfortable, and the bathrooms very clean! The front desk staff were exceedingly helpful. Pool area nice. The Fitness Center is adequate. Grounds are well kept. We did not visit the restaurant so cannot comment. Location is perfect for visiting the Sonoma wineries, the coast, or a short drive over to the Napa Valley.
My only suggestion is that the rooms could use new carpeting.

Room Tip: We overlooked the parking lot and noise was not a problem. I was concerned about that. A non-issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. It is always our goal to deliver exceptional service to all of our guests and it is fantastic to hear that our associates were able provide you with such a memorable experience. We will be sure to share your kind words and appreciation with everyone here. Your input is valued and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country for one night on our way from Napa Valley to the California North Coast. The hotel is located on a hill overlooking Santa Rosa, and is spread out in different buildings like a country inn. Our room was beautiful, clean and well equipped. As a Hilton Diamond member we were upgraded to a Jr. Suite King, which had a lot of room and a great comfy bed. Also as a Diamond Club member we received a free full buffet breakfast, which was great. All of the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
It thrills us to hear that you enjoyed such a great stay on your coastal trip. Located on 13 beautifully manicured acres, the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beauty of the surrounding Sonoma Valley. We are glad you had an opportunity to experience it all including our spacious guest room accommodations and buffet breakfast at Nectar Restaurant. We hope that you will make staying with us a regular getaway, as we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans, la
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was our third year staying at the Hilton Santa Rosa. I am torn between giving it 3 or four stars, so I will give all the pros and cons. Main issue is that this hotels needs new carpet everywhere along with an update in the rooms. We had just left the Hilton in Concord where we have stayed on many trips and they just under went an renovation. Santa Rosa really needs to check it out. It came out fantastic!!!! For this reason alone Santa Rosa does not meet up to Hilton standards in my opinion. With that being said there are some fantastic reasons to stay here. It is an absolutely fabulous location for touring wine country. You are minutes away from numerous wineries in Sonoma. A 15 minute drive to Healdsburg area. Lower Sonoma is about 20 minutes away with Napa being about 30 to 40 if you choose to do that for a day. We found the restaurant/bar to be fantastic with a wonderful patio overlooking Santa Rosa. The view was great both in the morning at breakfast and at night with all the lights from the city. We had breakfast everyday and the buffet could not have been any better!!! We also had drinks and appetizers in the evening and enjoyed them also! We never had dinner but I can say I did see the entrees and all looked enticing. They had a very nice wine tasting in the evening with cheese platters from different wineries, Merriam being our favorite! Also, had a someone playing music while the tasting was going on which added a nice touch. The service and staff was always friendly and helpful in both the lobby and restaurant. Now for the negatives, which I hate to have to talk about since i do love this hotel for all its pros! Yes, the hallways smell a bit musty. Carpets REALLY need to be changed!!!! The rooms themselves are quite comfortable and large, including the beds. But I will say again, the carpets REALLY need to be changed along with updated decor and draperies. I found the the bathroom to be quite clean, but again could use some updating. Because of the things I like about this hotel, I will give it another shot, but will have to say if the carpets get much worse it won't be an option. For this reason, it just does not live up to Hilton standards for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We are truly delighted you have enjoyed so many wonderful stays with us over the past several years. Thank you for your review and detailing all that you appreciate about our Wine Country hotel. From your account of our location, convenient to so much that makes the area so appealing, to dining at our on-site restaurant and more, it seems that you have certainly made the most of your stays. It is greatly disappointing, however, to know that you were recently disappointed in some of our public areas or your guest room. Please know that your comments will be shared with our management team as we truly value the insight of our guests. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of wine country and the staff was so helpful with organizing our wine buys to be shipped home to us. Although there needs to be more ceiling sound proofing, the room was large with a great veranda.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We love knowing you found your stay at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel to be the perfect respite, thank you! It is always our pleasure to provide the very best to our guests and we couldn’t be more delighted that you enjoyed the helpful service you received. We do apologize if you encountered any disruption to your peace resulting from the sounds of other guests, however. It is our hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Do not stay at this hotel. Unless you like dated, mildewy bathrooms with a collection of hair in the tub, hallways that smell like a dog park, and house keeping that wakes you at 7:30am on a Sunday morning. Restaurant was quite poor as well. Considering we paid nearly as much for a room here I had paid for other amazing wine-country hotels in the past, I would have expected a lot more.

The initial interaction we had with staff set the mood for the rest of our stay:

We booked a room last-minute via Expedia and apparently our info did not make it to the hotel. Fine. These things happen. However, the gentleman that was helping us asked his colleague (who we later found out to be THE MANAGER) to see if she could diagnose the issue, and her response was this:

"Nope--they are not staying tonight. It's not our problem, it's Expedia's. Too bad." This was said in our direct presence! Thankfully some of the other staff were better-trained in customer service and helped sort things out.

Bottom line: The location is not bad (though right beside Kaiser...), and convenient for wine touring, but there are probably cheaper, better options if you just need a wine-country crash pad without fancy amenities. I'd avoid if at all possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Please accept our most sincere apologies that we did not create the experience you deserved as a valued guest. While we cannot speak for third-party booking sites, it is truly regrettable if there was any confusion or if you encountered any issues at check in. We will be certain to address the concerns you have mentioned with our housekeeping associates as well as our management team. We value the feedback you've offered and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This site has a great view of the city. Wonderful restaurant and great staff. Whether you're young or old it's a great hotel for every ages. The pool is a fun hang out area for the young at heart and the flirtatious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We truly appreciate when our guests take the time to let us know about their stay at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel, thank you! It sounds like your experience at our pool was one of the highlights of your visit and we are so glad that our staff provided you with the service you deserved while here. Located on a knoll overlooking Santa Rosa, views from our property cannot be rivaled. Thank you for your kind comments, we would love for you to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.