We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't come here!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
VIP WINE PACKAGE
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Ana, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't come here!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is possibly one of the worst hotels I stayed in. Poor service and worse accommodations. Bathroom is tiny, it's dirty, smelly. Hilton diamond or gold members beware... Better to pay less elsewhere and stay happy. The breakfast buffet free for diamond and gold members but had melon that's gone bad. Dry eggs, and terrible sausage. The rooms are outdated and dirty. The staff is in attentive and absent at best. Charged $300/night during peak season. Absolute rip off. Really could not recommend to anyone. If u don't have the money, then u can't stay here and even if u can... You'll be disappointed. No bath robe in room, had to ask for one to be brought up. No toothbrush or razor. Shower has almost no pressure. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
It is with deep regret that we read your feedback as this is not the type of experience that we hope for any of our valued guests. Please accept our apologies if your dining encounter was not as it should be or your accommodations were not as expected. If there any amenities that you may need while visiting, our associates can easily provide them, whether it be robes, refrigerators or more. We will be certain to share your comments with our management team and are grateful you have taken the time to detail your experience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    275
    173
    75
    40
See reviews for
144
309
28
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lemurific
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I have stayed here multiple times, but this recent visit was unfortunate. I'll start with the positives... I love the location, vast property, and large rooms with free internet (for the moment). The staff, at check in, were very accommodating and friendly. That being said, my most recent stay here was poor overall. I stayed in the section to the southwest of the pool (I believe it was the Zinfandel building). I had a decent view, considering I was on the first floor. The carpet was a little worn and the decor outdated, but that is no big deal. My biggest problem was terrible noise. The AC was really loud, but what was far worse was the terrible rattling of the pipes when my neighbors were using the water (at 4:30 am, of course). It was louder than my husband's crazy snoring. In fact, he even woke up due to it, and he can sleep through anything.

When we checked out, I made sure to tell the staff (in a nice way) what an awful night sleep it was due to the noise. They assumed I was talking about the AC noise. I explained the situation thoroughly, letting them know that it is most likely a plumbing pipe not strapped down. I was told that they probably shouldn't put anyone in the room until they check it out. That was it! No "sorry". No "thank you for letting us know". At minimum, I expected that.

So, all in all, I had a 1.5 - 2 star experience. I am disappointed in how little I was able to sleep, and how little the check out staff seemed to care.

The next time I am in Sonoma/Santa Rosa I will look elsewhere for a room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We couldn't be more disappointed by your comments and ask that you please accept our most sincere apologies for the issues you experienced during your recent visit to our hotel. What you described does not reflect our high standard of service and we appreciate that you have brought this to our attention. Providing excellent care for all of our guests is of utmost importance to us. We regret if your experience was anything less and will be sure to share your comments with our associates to ensure that all areas are in the best condition. It is our hope that we can have another opportunity to welcome you back. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for 5 nights last week. Very nice stay, staff very friendly and accommodating. We were going to have to move our last night, but they found a room for us. Great pool. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We are truly appreciative of your kind review of the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. Traveling can offer its share of challenges and it is certainly our pleasure to provide you with the most relaxing and refreshing stay possible. Thank you so much for your high recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The rooms are big, clean and nice to stay in.
We stayed here for 1 night and were very comfortable.
Te location of the hotel is just off the highway with no views and you do not feel at all like you are in wine country. All restaurants and vineyards are a drive away.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are thrilled to know you found our accommodations at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel to be so comfortable and that you enjoyed our central location as well. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future as we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country for a few days in February. Nice property and grounds. Found the service at check in to be poor & uninspired, not rude...just ambivalent. Need some customer service training for sure. Found it strange that they have a separate Hilton Honors Desk with a woman sitting there...doing I don't know what. We were checked in by the front desk person and the woman at the Hilton Honors desk didn't say a word ...even though we are HHonors Gold Members....starting to see that this means less and less to Hilton.

We enjoyed having drinks and light meals in the Nectar Lounge, which is very nice. They have a wonderful outdoor deck and the service in Nectar was first rate, as it was for breakfast. Rooms by the pool need some updating, bathrooms were tired looking. Overall, a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool. Check out Happy Hour in Nectar Lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We couldn’t be happier to learn that your overall stay at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel was so positive. From check in to check out, we hope to provide an excellent encounter for all of our valued guests and we are thrilled to know you enjoyed your dining experience at Nectar Restaurant. Excellent service is our highest priority and with that, we must apologize if any of our associates were less than hospitable. We will be certain to share your comments with everyone here to ensure that our high level of service is always maintained. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a very nice reasonably priced hotel- nice grounds, standard rooms, nice pool and hot tub. We have stayed here at least 4 times. Pool gets crowded on weekends. Rooms that open onto deck are worth the extra cost and are not the same as a pool view room ( these do not have a balcony/deck) Breakfast buffet offers good variety of standard fare and healthier choices. Short drive to Healdsburg area wineries and russian river kayaking . Also recommend Biking and mud bath in Calistoga.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are delighted that you chose to stay at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel for your getaway not just once, but four times! We always value our guests’ feedback and learning what aspects of our property they enjoy. It is great to know that you appreciated our convenient location as well as our Lanai guest rooms. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day, and at Nectar Restaurant we love to provide the delicious and nutritious fuel you need for a full day of exploring wine country. Thank you for sharing your comments, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

After checking out of my room at this hotel and 1/2 way to San Francisco to catch a flight home, I realized I'd left my strand of pearls in the room! /They had been given to me 30 years ago by my grandmother after she passed away/....Called the hotel where I was put in touch w/Kim, the Housekeeping Manager, who went and checked the room herself and fedexed them back to me! In addition to this, the hotel brought us a refrigerator for our room within 10 minutes of us calling to ask for it...Rooms are very clean, quiet and a great value and location in Santa Rosa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
While we are glad to know you enjoyed the spacious quality of your guest room as well as our extensive property, it is truly disappointing read that your stay did not exceed your expectations and if you found anything amiss. We encourage all of our guests to share how we can make their visit the best it possibly can be and it is disheartening that we were not able to provide you with a better experience while you were here, when it would have mattered the most. Your feedback will be shared with our maintenance associates to ensure that everything at its best condition. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.