We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Property - Needs Sprucing Up but otherwise nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
VIP WINE PACKAGE
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
GreenLeadersGold level
Pearland, Texas
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
190 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
333 helpful votes 333 helpful votes
“Solid Property - Needs Sprucing Up but otherwise nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at this location for three nights while traveling for a leisure
trip to visit Sonoma area wineries. While the rooms are somewhat dated, the
hotel is a solid performer for the price point.

We arrived just after check in time and our rooms were available. They
recognized our HHonors Gold Status, and kindly gave us the HHonors Gold
Breakfast vouchers for all four people. (Two rooms) Also, they provided the
full breakfast instead of just continental as well as free bottled water in
the rooms. A nice touch. We knew before choosing this hotel that it was in
suburban Santa Rosa. Not right near downtown, but only a couple of minutes
away. That was fine...we had to get into the car to drive to the wineries.
Heading into downtown Santa Rosa for dinner was a snap. One thing to note,
this hotel is a bit stretched out. It consists of several 2-3 story
buildings. There is not a common covered walkway between the buildings.

The location was just slightly off the highway. Our room faced the highway
and at first that would be a noise issue, but with the windows closed you
could not hear any traffic noise. Probably a combination of the fact that
the hotel is not right on the freeway, coupled with good windows. Our room
was on the entry level, but since the building was on a hill, we were not at
ground level for our window which was nice.

While we did not use the gym, they have a small but decently appointed gym
near the pool. Several of our group members had just raced the San
Francisco Marathon or Half Marathon so were just relaxing during Sonoma
trip. There is a nice outdoor (salt water) pool with nice cushioned
loungers, which is enjoyable to hang out at. There was also a hot tub, but
honestly the hot tub looked a bit grungy. Pool towels were available early
in the day but were not replenished....which they should work on.

There is also a nice running path straight across from the hotel parking lot
which gave us a nice place for a short shake out run.

They have a small two workstation business center off the lobby with one
Mac, one PC, and a printer. The hotel charges for internet. (I am not sure
how much since it was complimentary as a HHonors Gold member)

The rooms were nicely decorated, and comfortable but nothing
fancy...slightly outdated. The room had one lounging chair / ottoman, a desk
chair, coffee pot, ice bucket, desk and flat screen TV.
There were a sufficient number of plugs in the room. The bed was
comfortable. The curtains did a fair job of blocking out the light.
Everything was very clean. The climate control works well but unfortunately
you can not leave the blower motor on for white noise while the climate
control is still functioning. That being said, we used the white noise
application on my tablet and all was good.

The bathrooms are acceptable and have the appropriate amenities. When we
called down to get extra towels and foam pillows housekeeping showed up
promptly. They got the message wrong and brought pillows and a bath robe,
but quickly corrected the request. We tipped housekeeping daily and asked
for additional towels to be left which they quickly did.

There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel, but other than for breakfast we
did not check it out since we were only minutes from Santa Rosa downtown
with a multitude of dining options. The service and food was nice each
morning for breakfast. The breakfast buffet and service were nice, though if
you are paying full charges, I would imagine that there are less expensive
and more creative options around.

The glass door to our building was broken on check in and was still broken
four days later. I would have thought they would have fixed this more
quickly. It is a pretty standard item (the glass) and the plywood door just
looked funny. Walls outside were in need of painting. There was a large patch of wallpaper in our room....the should have re papered the wall, not attempted a kindergarten patch. None of these really affected our stay, but did show a lack of attention to detail.

I struggled with the rating for this property. I would give them a 3.5, but since that is not an option, I felt I would give them a 4. This is a nice property for the right nightly rate.

Checkout was quick and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed account of your stay with us at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. With easy access to over 330 area wineries and some of the best Santa Rosa attractions, our hotel is positioned to enjoy it all. We are always delighted to welcome our loyal guests and are glad you appreciated the additional amenities that were provided as well as our breakfast buffet at Nectar. We apologize if you found any areas were in need of attention and will be certain to share with our maintenance associates to ensure that all is at its best for future stays. It is our hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    291
    182
    77
    42
See reviews for
153
323
29
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Point, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I was super excited to find a hilton within my budget using my government discount...but in the end I would have been happier with a more typically budget friendly hotel. I was traveling with small children and thought breakfast "in room" was just going to be a great treat...NOT. It's room service..so mcdonalds was my breakfast. Wi-fi was not included...it's 9.95 per day. The desk did comp me wi-fi for the night tho. That was nice. I just felt like I was being nickle and dimed and it just wasn't my style. The room was nice, of course. Large and spacious. It did have the best temperature controls of the five hotels I stayed in. I was able to run the fan the entire time and set a temperature. LOVED that! Good location, beautiful, and close to freeway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Please accept our most sincere apologies that we did not create the experience you deserved as a valued guest. We are truly disappointed that your experience was not as you had hoped. While we do charge for guest room Internet access, as you mentioned, wireless service is complimentary in all public areas. We value the feedback you've offered and thank you for your review. Please know that we will share this with everyone here to improve in all ways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had a living social coupon for a one night stay with 2 wine tastings. Staff was very helpful in showing us the area and how to get to the tastings. Restaraunt was really really good. not one complaint. the drinks were good, food was amazing, and wine was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We couldn’t ask for a better review, thank you! Ensuring an excellent experience is paramount to all of us at the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel and it is wonderful to hear that you had such a positive encounter. Your kind words will be shared with everyone. We value your feedback and hope to see you again for your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Upon our arrival we were informed that the two queen beds bedroom we have booked through a third party was not available. They shameless blamed the third party company even though they recognized that our reservation was for a two queen beds bed room when we complained about the situation. Sure blame who is not in the room. They offered an extra bed to be brought into the room, which we accepted since it was almost midnight. That bed was disgusting. The mattress was visible after the night of sleep because the sheets moved and it had a million stains. They then charged extra, though it was not mentioned at the reception upon check-in or check-out.

We paid almost $200 to sleep in a extremely thin full of stains mattress in a really worn out bedroom.

Next time I will stay in another hotel in the wine country. There are plenty options.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We appreciate you sharing your experience. It is terribly disappointing to read when a guest feels their expectations weren't met in all ways and we regret that we missed the opportunity to create a better stay. Unfortunately we cannot comment in this forum regarding any third-party booking sites but we apologize if you were inconvenienced in any way. It is also disappointing to learn that you experienced any issues with your guest room. This is not the type of encounter we would expect for any of our guests and your comments will be shared with our housekeeping associates. We hope you will visit us again for a stay that exceeds all that you are looking for. Thank you for your time and candid review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is right off of the main artery through Sonoma, so the location can't be beat. We used the hotel for breakfast, one dinner, sleeping, and showering. For all of those things it was very good. It is a very pretty property - the rooms are a bit dated, I grant you, but for the price and the location this place is great for touring Sonoma.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We can’t think of a better getaway than exploring Sonoma and all of the amazing attractions in the area. Thank you so much for sharing your review and appreciation of the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel. Our location truly does provide easy access for getting around and we are delighted you enjoyed your time. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is really worn out. The staff wasn't a lot better. Check is was poor, the guy kept playing on his phone. The room just smelled and the weeds were pretty tall out side our window. Really had no amenities. Paper cups for coffee. In fact after staying there, I returned my Hilton American Express card and will not stay at another Hilton. There are much better hotels for the price in Santa Rosa. I have stayed here a lot over the years, but it really is a motel six

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback. It is our single most important priority to ensure excellent service so we are certainly troubled by the details you have provided. Please know that someone is always available should you require anything during your stay. We will share your comments with management as we are continuously working to improve our guests' experience and to provide the best possible services to all. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was close to family. Our room was an upgraded pool lanai room which we enjoyed a lot due to having family join us at the pool. The rooms are average, convenient mini fridge, nice TV etc... In Hilton's usual fashion however there just doesn't seem to be anyone paying attention to the details. The property has peeling paint from the deck to the trim and entire exterior. Maid service didn't happen on day in spite of me calling to request it. The screen door sticks, tables outside on the lanai were never cleaned and not cleared of glasses and things for the duration of our stay (3 days). Hilton isn't my favorite for this reason because its I feel high priced without any attention to detail.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
A visit with family can be such a special time and it is great to know that you enjoyed your guest room accommodations with full access to the pool via your lanai. Please know that we highly value all of the feedback that we receive from our guests and regret that you felt your entire stay did not reflect the high standards you deserve. Your comments will be shared with our Housekeeping and Maintenance associates to ensure that all is at its best for future stays. We sincerely regret any inconveniences and hope you'll allow us the chance to welcome you back again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Rosa
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.