We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Sonoma Wine Country to your Saves list
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
VIP WINE PACKAGE
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Columbia, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I arrived around midnight and left at 8:00 a.m. so had little time to do anything but sleep, but I was very impressed with this property. I would definitely return and stay here again. The area is very picturesque.

Room Tip: Each room grouping is named after a type of wine. I kept trying to go to the Riesling group of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Despite your short visit, we are so happy to have provided you with the accommodations you needed for a restful night’s sleep. At the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel we always have the best interest of our guests in mind and make every effort to create a wonderful experience. It is our hope to welcome you back again soon for a longer stay, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    267
    172
    74
    40
See reviews for
140
304
27
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Humboldt County
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Room was very quiet. Heard your typical doors shutting from other rooms earlier in the night, but dead quite the rest of the night. Was 60 degrees when I checked into my room in the winter. Front desk thanked me for bringing it to their attention because they broiler had gone out, but they reset it. They told me my room would heat up quickly but it took five hours for my room to reach 65 degrees, I typically like 68. Had I known it was going to take so long (not "rather quickly" like they told me) I would have requested a room in a different building...I imagine when the broiler goes out in an enter building it takes awhile to reheat...
We got the "Cheapest" room with two queens. I was surprised that there was no Fridge...even a quality in gives you a fridge.. Also, internet is NOT free...wasn't an issue this trip, but MOST hotels these days have free WiFi, even the economy ones...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are always happy to welcome our valued guests to the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel, thank you for your review! We couldn’t be happier to know you appreciated the peace and quiet of your guestroom and glad that despite the initial issues with the temperature in your accommodations you enjoyed such a good stay. Please know that refrigerators are available upon request and that we do provide complimentary wireless Internet in all public areas of our hotel. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more comfortable while you are here, just ask one of our associates! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had 28 night stay at Hilton Sonoma was like feel of home. Very nice hospitality and services provided which never made me feel lost in the new city. Everyday cab was made available before me asking... good discount on long stay.... Very good breakfast and reception services.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are honored to be your home away from home and to know that everyone here was able to help provide such a positive experience. It is always our highest priority to ensure that our guests have the best possible stay and it is a thrilling that we achieved that with you. Your gracious comments will be shared with all of our associates. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed here for a get away weekend. Upgraded to a mini-suite that included a refrigerator and microwave. On of the common complaints regarding this hotel is with respect to dated and drab rooms. We could have put up with this, however, we soon discovered the hotel age also affects the heating system. Upon arrival the room was cold as expected; but not similarly expected, despite increasing the wall thermostat heat and fan, nothing! We called the maintenance personnel who giggled the thermostat and declared victory. Unfortunately, the heat again failed that night--Low of 32F in Sonoma that evening. We again called, the thermostat was replaced, but still minimal heating. The maintenance crew opined this issue was not uncommon and we can only conclude; it requires a complete renovation! Get a blanket!

Room Tip: Select one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
While we are glad to know you enjoyed your upgraded accommodations as well as the convenience of amenities such as an in-room refrigerator and microwave, it is with great disappointment that we learn you were not impressed at every turn or if you experienced any issues with the thermostat in your guest room. Please know that this is not a typical experience for our guests and we will share your comments with our Maintenance Manager to ensure that everything is at its best for future stays. Thank you for sharing your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I think Hilton might of just taken this property over recently. Rooms and hotel are in need of a major renovation and update.
Staff is friendly and the place is clean but in the middle of nowhere.If you love to hike you'll find a couple cool wineries you could get to.
If you have a car, don't worry, town is close.
Restaurant is decent, 90 percent of the meals were awesome, I shouldn't of ordered risotto, that's a dish you need to get just right.
It was a good stay, but a little run down.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your stay with us. Located in the heart of Wine Country on 13 lushly manicured acres, the Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel offers some amazing walking trails, beautiful views and easy access to both downtown Santa Rosa as well as over 330 area wineries and vineyards. While we are so glad to learn that you enjoyed hospitable service and an overall positive experience, we regret if our décor was not more to your liking and will share your comments with our Management team. It is our hope to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here for a business planning meeting. The hotel looked nice, but I would call it a 3 star hotel. The reason is that the rooms need to be updated. The bedding was not food and the decor was like green and pink. The rooms were really far from the main lobby and so walking to and from your room was a burden. The lobby was nice and had wine tasting and the restaurant at the hotel great both in atmosphere and food. The truth is this is a great city and there are so many great hotels, I would seek out something a little more luxurious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Whether positive or otherwise, your feedback is extremely important to us. We are truly grateful to learn that you enjoyed the beauty of our hotel and complimentary lobby wine tasting, however it is regrettable that you were not completely impressed at every turn and that our décor was not more to your liking. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, we hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a nice pool and hot tub but when it takes almost 20 minutes to check in and it's super expensive it's not worth it . Was put in a room that someone was in ! Second room had not been cleansed. Long walk back to the front desk each time . Staff was not great .

Bar is way way to over priced . Poor service . Try the Hampton in the area much better

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonSonomaWineCtry, General Manager at Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding recent stay with us. Whether positive or otherwise, to is critical for us to receive feedback from our guests, so that we can continually take the opportunity to evaluate our service and make improvements when needed. It is disappointing that your entire stay was not completely positive and that you experienced any lapse in service during check in. Your comments will be shared with everyone here and we apologize for any missed opportunities to make your stay exceptional. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Sonoma Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sonoma Wine Country

Address: 3555 Round Barn Blvd, Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Sonoma Wine Country 3.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sonoma Wine Country hotel is the perfect California retreat. Set in the midst of 13 acres of private land, the hotel boasts panoramic views of the Santa Rosa Valley. Enjoy our spacious and modern guest rooms, and take advantage of complimentary local wine tastings on Friday evenings. Our stunning indoor and outdoor event space is perfect for weddings and conferences. Dine at the Nectar Restaurant & Lounge, featuring wine country cuisine, created from the finest local produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Sonoma Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Hotel Santa Rosa
Hilton Santa Rosa
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Sonoma Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.