We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, well located if you've got a car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   870 Hopper Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Valencia, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, well located if you've got a car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As I have been stayed in other BW hotels, this was a guarantee for me when I picked it up. I stayed for one night and everything was correct. Nice room, service and staff. But there are other cheaper choices in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    65
    37
    14
    4
See reviews for
53
66
4
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san leandro, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

our two rooms next to each other were clean, comfortable, close to freeway and restaurants. the staff were helpful and accomodating , but with one exception. we were told the night before, we could check -in at11:00 a.m. on sat.as we were with the wedding party, but when we called the day of check-in, we were told no we couldn't until 2:00pm . that put us off a bit. price was okay. pool was out of order was the other bummer, as a nice swim would of been great. the food in the a.m. was enough to satisfy us and a great variety to choose from.overall it was fine other than losing my necklace and the later check-in. we thought because we booked months ahead we would have no problemm arriving earliar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I would like to thank Charlotte G for taking the time to review our hotel and service. I wanted to apologize that we were unable to extend the courtesy of an early check in. While we always try to accommodate every request (and early check in is normally not a problem), sometimes it is just not possible. The ability for us to allow you to check in early is not based on the time that the reservation is made, but on when the guests who are in house the night before check out. Obviously we can not tell a guest who is in house "I'm sorry Mr. Smith, Charolette G would like to check in early, so you need to depart right away so we can prepare the room for her." The additional request of having two rooms adjacent to each other also adds a challenge for early check in. Again, my apologies that we were not able to accommodate this request for you.
I am glad that you found your rooms clean and comfortable, and our staff helpful. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Santa Rosa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here move in weekend of SSU on Saturday night.We had a king Suite with jetted tub.It was a very nice room. The a/c air intake made a noise like a squirrel on a wheel on/off. I called the front desk and they came up and also heard it. However they did not have a maintance person on shift. I spoke with front desk at check out.
I later spoke with the manager. He listened and said he was sorry and please call him when we stay again in area as he would comp a night.
We will stay here again even if room is not a comp.

Room Tip: Note: No elevator to get up stairs and No outside jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had booked a hotel for a week and when we arrived they had messed up our reservations, badly. We gave that hotel a day to get it fixed but they didn't even return our call, making us worry and wait, knowing our stay was going to be just wretched and cut short as they had overbooked and we didn't have a room for the last half of our trip. We found this Best Western in Santa Rosa who got us right in and turned our vacation around. Thank you everyone at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I'm so glad we were able to turn your trip around and pick up the ball that my competitor had dropped. Thank you so much for your review, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the Santa Rosa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here before. The motel is quiet and clean and has a nice pool. I was happy we got the room just before the pool closed for repairs since it was hot in Santa Rosa that week. We arrived a bit late but had no troubles with check in. The grounds around the pool area are very lush and pretty although someone has decided to throw their cig. buts on the breeze way roof and you can see them from your balcony, Yuck! We would recommend this hotel if you are in the area or planning on a trip to Santa Rosa. We will stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so happy you found our hotel quiet and clean and that you were able to get one last swim in before we re-plastered the pool. I am happy to tell you that the pool renovation is now complete and will be open for your next stay. The butts had been removed by the time your review posted. I would like to personally thank the person who threw them up there as it was "thrilling to climb up there to remove them" according to my Chief Engineer.
Again, thanks for reviewing our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We checked in very late and were able to book the last, available room. We were upgraded to a suite which was quite nice! The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very large. We were in a suite that was handicap accessible on the ground floor. this room had two outside patio's. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your outstanding review. Glad you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you are trying do wine country on a budget, this is a good choice. The room was clean upon arrival, but we were missed twice during our stay by housekeeping and had to walk up front to get our towels. Beds and bedding appeared brand new, but bed was extra firm, so it was not comfortable (for me). The staff was not particularly friendly or helpful or knowledgeable about the town of Santa Rosa or Wine Country in general. While driving to the choice wineries in St. Helena in the morning, a 45 minute drive feels like nothing, but that drive back after a long day is not exactly pleasant. Also had the same experience as a previous reviewer that we had a confirmation number, but they didn't have us listed in the system. I suggest making a reservation online instead of directly with the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you felt our hotel is a good value and that your room was clean. You are correct when you mentioned that our bedding was recently replaced. I did want to mention that if your "Do Not Disturb" sign is on the door, our housekeeping staff respects your privacy, and will not service your room.
I hope you get the opportunity to return to the area soon and experience some of the wineries just minutes from our hotel, so you don't have to drive back after a long day of wine tasting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Address: 870 Hopper Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of the Sonoma Wine Country! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Rosa is available to serve the needs of both corporate and family travelers. We are within minutes of 30 major wineries including Kendall Jackson, Korbel & Rodney Strong. Our location is just three miles from Charles M. Schulz (STS) Airport, 20 miles from Calistoga and The Napa Valley, and 55 miles from the city of San Francisco. For you Peanuts fans, the Charles M. Schulz Museum & Ice Rink is only one mile from our front door! Race fans can enjoy a short 20 minute drive to Infineon Raceway. All rooms include our expanded hot American Breakfast featuring our famous cinnamon rolls. We also have two separate conference room facilities that can accommodate up to 115 total attendees. Catering is also available. Please call for details. We offer an outdoor heated pool, zen garden and courtyard. Please call hotel for pet policies.All rooms have free high-speed Internet access, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, a private patio or balcony and an exterior entrance. We look forward to having you as our guest very soon! Thank you for choosing to Stay Smart! Credit card and valid ID required for all check-ins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Holiday Inn Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Holiday Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.