We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   870 Hopper Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were pleasantly pleased with this hotel. It was right off 101, clean and very comfortable. There is no elevator though, so let them know your needs ahead of time. There were plenty of good choices for dinner very close by. The room was spacious, and clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    96
    67
    25
    11
See reviews for
89
108
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Center
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose this hotel because of it's proximity to St. Helena where we had a wine tasting tour booked the next day. We got there early and they let us go ahead and check in. We were in a corner room on the first floor and I feared it would be noisy. Not so. A small patio with furniture. Did not use the pool.
I also appreciated the 2 bottles of cold water in the fridge.
Room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. But the neatest thing was the bath gel, shampoo, and conditioner dispenser on the shower wall. Why all motels don't do this is beyond me. Much more economical that those tiny little bottles.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you and check you in early. I'm thrilled that you found your room quiet and that you liked the patio as well. The dispensers in the showers are one of our many green initiatives. The dispensers reduce the amount of plastic that ends up in landfills from shampoo and conditioner bottles. I'm glad you noticed and liked them.
Thanks again for the review, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is an older hotel that has had a paint job and some updates.
it seems they left the original room doors on as you can see daylight around the door edges.
It did have a nice little balcony with a sliding glass door and chairs.
The rooms interior has been updated with furnishings and was pleasantly clean.
This is an older style motel where you enter the room from outside the building.
Staff was friendly and helpful.
Nice quiet neighborhood!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thanks for reviewing our hotel, We did indeed recently undergo a renovation which included painting the exterior as well as the interior, and replacing all furniture, etc. We are very proud of our housekeeping staff (and the staff in all our departments). I appreciate you mentioning the excellent job that they do cleaning the rooms.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Best Western Wine Country Inn is conveniently located. It's close enough to explore the wine country without the high rates of wine country motels, hotels, and spas. The rooms here are spacious and comfortable. Ours overlooked a tiny but pleasant patio.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad you appreciate our price point, we strive to provide a great stay for an exceptional value. All of our standard rooms have either patios or balconies and I'm glad you liked your view.
We hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My 9 year old son loved the fold out couch and took up residency in the adjoining room of our suite. He settled in next to the refrigerator and the microwave to watch tv and I thought he would never budge from our room. We enjoyed the patio tables and chairs and the jetted tub. I was happy that we could watch the second tv in the bedroom at night and not have to watch kid shows. Loved that this hotel is 1 mile from the Charles Schultz Museum and we added that to our schedule.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, and thank you so much for your review. Much like yourself, I think that one can watch only so much Sponge Bob before completely losing their sanity, so I'm glad the two room suite worked well for you. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Santa Rosa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
234 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was our second stay. Last year we had an upstairs room with a balcony; this year we were downstairs, with a patio. It was nice to have a table and two chairs if we wanted to enjoy a drink or meal outdoors (there was no furniture on the balcony last year). No view to speak of from the room or patio, but the corner location made it very private. Rooms are a bit dark but spacious and comfortable, with a decent-sized fridge and a small microwave, both very handy.

The outdoor pool is clean and a very comfortable temperature, and there are plenty of lounge chairs as well as umbrella tables and chairs, plus pool towels in the fitness room. Breakfast is better than at most chain hotels, though it tends to get a little monotonous if you’re there for six days. There are only two hot selections – cheese omelet and sausage patties one day, scrambled eggs and bacon the next – but they’re both more than acceptable.

You’ll find Starbucks next door, Trader Joe’s within walking distance and Whole Foods a short drive away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thanks for coming back again this year, and for another nice review. Glad you noticed the patio furniture, we were very excited to get it. I wanted to mention that we also have biscuits and gravy and pancakes everyday in addition to the rotating eggs and meats.
Again, thanks for returning and for taking the time to share your thoughts.
See you next year (I hope).

Todd Anderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice hotel for the price. Reasonable for Napa/Sanoma wine country. What you would expect for the chain but nice and pleasant upgrades and nice quiet room. Pool for the kids. Would stay there again. Breakfast was fine and much more than a continental.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion of our hotel. We're glad you appreciate the value that we offer, and enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the Santa Rosa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#6 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#8 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#9 of 26 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Santa Rosa Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Address: 870 Hopper Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of the Sonoma Wine Country! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Rosa is available to serve the needs of both corporate and family travelers. We are within minutes of 30 major wineries including Kendall Jackson, Korbel & Rodney Strong. Our location is just three miles from Charles M. Schulz (STS) Airport, 20 miles from Calistoga and The Napa Valley, and 55 miles from the city of San Francisco. For you Peanuts fans, the Charles M. Schulz Museum & Ice Rink is only one mile from our front door! Race fans can enjoy a short 20 minute drive to Infineon Raceway. All rooms include our expanded hot American Breakfast featuring our famous cinnamon rolls. We also have two separate conference room facilities that can accommodate up to 115 total attendees. Catering is also available. Please call for details. We offer an outdoor heated pool, zen garden and courtyard. Please call hotel for pet policies.All rooms have free high-speed Internet access, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, a private patio or balcony and an exterior entrance. We look forward to having you as our guest very soon! Thank you for choosing to Stay Smart! Credit card and valid ID required for all check-ins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Holiday Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.