We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay at Santa Rosa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   870 Hopper Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Harlingen, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Pleasant Stay at Santa Rosa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We traveled with our daughter and her family to attend a "Baccalaureate" and "Commencement" programs of their cousin at Pacific Union College at Angwin, California on June 15, 2013. Based on our good experience with other "Best Western" Hotels in the past, we opted to book an overnight stay in one of their suite rooms at Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites in Santa Rosa despite the great distance. The place was spic and span. The suite room is spacious and the beds are comfortable. They have large and seemingly new hi-def plasma screen TV, one on the sala and another in the spacious bedroom. The hotel is conveniently located and we did not have difficulty finding it. Breakfast has a wide selection of food to eat like, bread, cereals, eggs, etc. I certainly recommend it and would love to come back here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    77
    43
    19
    6
See reviews for
68
74
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Had a chance to stay at their spa suite and it was very clean, spacious, and had everything that we needed. It has a lovely jacuzzi in the room. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was very good, just wished we stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Recently stayed here with some family for a weekend to just get away from the craziness of the city, the pool and garden area was beautiful, and there were tables outside for us to enjoy some time in the shade. We had both a suite with 2 beds and a king bed room, so we got to see what both were like, the place looks like it was recently updated, with new t.v's and a keurig like coffee maker in both rooms (for a coffee drinker like me, this was very nice to have) and fresh cookies in the afternoon for a treat for the kids. The breakfast was ok, could use a little more fresh fruit, but the options where good, eggs, bacon, pancakes ect....the basic breakfast staples.
The staff was very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful when some of us adults wanted to go for a wine tour, they hooked us up with a tour company Platypus, it was a great time. Did have a few issues with the blow dryer, but after letting the front desk know it was fixed by the time we got back from our days adventure.

Overall our stay was very pleasant, and a great value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Spent a quick night here & it was perfect - no complaints.

* Courteous, friendly staff.
* Large, plush, comfy king-size bed
* Large hi-def plasma screen TV easily watchable from the comfy bed
* Enormous, well-stocked bathroom
* Clean & nice-smelling
* Quiet -- I had a 5:30 am alarm & no trouble getting to sleep.
* Reasonably priced. Pretty sure I paid less than $100.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California, Usa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. The staff here is friendly and efficient. The hotel itself is easy to get in and out of if you aren't familiar with the area. The front desk woman give my kids little treat bags which made my kids so happy and instantly my kids forgot how tired they were from the trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twain Harte, Ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I reserved a suite with a credit card, then later decided to use Best Western Points. Using points got us switched from a suite to a very small room with a smoker below. His smoke came right into our little room through the air conditioner.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I would like to apologize to Daniel M if the online booking process and room type descriptions were confusing. It is not possible to book a suite using points. This is something that the hotel can not control as the website is set up and controlled by Best Western headquarters. I can assure you without any hesitation that nobody switched your room. I would invite you to examine your confirmation email to verify this.
Unfortunately people do smoke outside. I apologize that this happened near your room. As much as I wish we could control other peoples smoking habits, we have not been able to accomplish this yet.
Although I feel this review is unfair, I do appreciate Daniel M taking the time to share his thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, B C, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Room ok, staff good, breakfast standard and ok. Room smelled like stale smoke and we could smell it on our clothes the next day. Wifi intermittent so not good service. Bed good and sleep good. Room clean. Vanity small. Mostly good except for cigarette smell even though we requested non-smoking and the door to room had non-smoking on it. Room looked like it had been redecorated but smelled smokey. Location to Healdsburg ok so we could ride our bikes in wine country. Healdsburg booked-up so Santa Rosa next choice.

Room Tip: What do you do if room smells smokey and you've requested non-smoking room even though room says...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I would like to thank Marilyn M for taking the time to comment on our hotel. I would like to apologize for the smoke smell in your room. I know which room you are referring to as it is now undergoing a very deep cleaning. You are absolutely correct, although it is a non smoking room, it smelled like smoke. Despite our best efforts, once in a while people smoke in non-smoking rooms. I believe that the person who stayed in that room the night before you smoked in the room. We shouldn't have caught this and not rented you that room, and I sincerely apologize for our error.
I'm glad that you were satisfied with the rest of your stay, and I hope that we see you next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Address: 870 Hopper Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of the Sonoma Wine Country! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Rosa is available to serve the needs of both corporate and family travelers. We are within minutes of 30 major wineries including Kendall Jackson, Korbel & Rodney Strong. Our location is just three miles from Charles M. Schulz (STS) Airport, 20 miles from Calistoga and The Napa Valley, and 55 miles from the city of San Francisco. For you Peanuts fans, the Charles M. Schulz Museum & Ice Rink is only one mile from our front door! Race fans can enjoy a short 20 minute drive to Infineon Raceway. All rooms include our expanded hot American Breakfast featuring our famous cinnamon rolls. We also have two separate conference room facilities that can accommodate up to 115 total attendees. Catering is also available. Please call for details. We offer an outdoor heated pool, zen garden and courtyard. Please call hotel for pet policies.All rooms have free high-speed Internet access, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, a private patio or balcony and an exterior entrance. We look forward to having you as our guest very soon! Thank you for choosing to Stay Smart! Credit card and valid ID required for all check-ins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Holiday Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.