We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay at BW Dec 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   870 Hopper Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #8 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Ukiah, California, USA
1 review
“stay at BW Dec 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I use a softer pillow and all four pillows were quite firm, i stay at a lot of Best Westerns and for the most part have a least one or two softer pillow; otherwise the bed was comfortable. The room was clean and the climate control was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    68
    37
    15
    5
See reviews for
58
69
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We, my sister, niece and I stayed at this BW while visiting friends in Santa Rosa, CA. The rooms were clean and well decorated. My only issue, and a major one, is that the beds were horrible. They were very hard and you could tell that they have not been replaced in quite some time. Not a conducive sleeping experience at all. I think that most people visiting Wine Country, come from quite a distance. We traveled from Oregon, and most folks need a good nights rest to feel refreshed and enjoy their visit.
I Would not stay at this location again just for that reason, this was not just my opinion, but that of my sister and niece as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Easy access from southbound 101, roundabout but manageable from northbound.
Adjacent to Starbucks, convenience store, shopping, gas.
Beside highway but not noisy.
Clean and fine.
No, it's not IN wine country, nots beside the vineyards, but it's close.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The name conjures up something exotic...."wine country" and the picture of the front lobby of the hotel is as good as you'll get. Exterior doors to your room in a somewhat seedy section of Santa Rosa. Had the front desk clerk not given me a room next to my female business associate, she was prepared to go somewhere else...too creepy. Rooms appear renovated on the inside, but that's the best I can say. Free breakfast, but quality not that good. We would stay somewhere else if in Santa Rosa again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I would like the reviewer for sharing their opinion of our hotel. While I am glad the name BEST WESTERN Plus Wine Country Inn & Suites conjures something exotic for them, I am sorry we fell short of your expectations. Indeed our rooms are renovated on the inside, as well as the outside, lobby and all public areas. Our location in Northern Santa Rosa is generally one of the more desired areas to stay within the city.
We sincerely hope you decide to stay with us again next time you are in the Santa Rosa area.
Todd Anderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently had water damage in our house and had to stay here for a week while the damage was repaired. I was beyond happy with all aspects of our stay. The staff was very sympathetic to our situation and went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. One day I sat in the lobby while the maids cleaned our room and the front desk brought my son a coloring book and crayons while we waited.
Our room was clean and we had plenty of space for the three of us. The beds were comfortable and my son loved the lounge chair. The breakfast was better than any hotel breakfast I had ever had and it was FREE. My son thought the pancake machine was the coolest thing ever.
We will be using this hotel for our family that is coming in for the holidays and I will recommend it to everyone. Thank you for easing the pain of a bad situation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for sharing your opinion of our hotel. We are so glad your stay was a success. Be sure to swing by and say "hi" when your family is here.
Thanks again,
Todd Anderson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, FL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights here. One of the quietest rooms ever, even with people on both sides we heard no noise from them or the busy street nearby (we were on the west side of the west wing). All the rooms have patios or balconies. Wi-fi was really spotty and we had to use a wired connection much of the time. The room was cozy and the bed really comfy. Kudos for a recycle bin in the room. Covered walkway from our wing to the lobby/breakfast area (had some rain). Towels were replaced the first day but not the second (not a big deal, but consistency is a good thing), nor did we get any new drinking glasses during our stay. Adjacent to Starbucks and across the street from McDonalds. Breakfast was a rotating hot menu (omelets or scrambled eggs and bacon or sausage), plus the usual yogurt, breads, etc. Our first time here, but probably our new place to stay when in Santa Rosa.

Room Tip: I'd stay away from the pool and, just because it could get noisy as on any other property, and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WineCountryHotel, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, we're glad you found your room to be one of the quietest ever. I did want to touch base on the towels. One of our efforts as a carbon neutral hotel is to only replace towels if they are on the floor. If they are hung on the towel racks the housekeepers will leave them, if they are on the floor, they will be replaced.
I apologize that you didn't get any new drinking glasses, that was an over site on our part, and I apologize.
We are thrilled to be your "new place to stay in Santa Rosa" and can't wait to see you again.
Sincerely,
Todd Anderson
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites

Address: 870 Hopper Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Santa Rosa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of the Sonoma Wine Country! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Santa Rosa is available to serve the needs of both corporate and family travelers. We are within minutes of 30 major wineries including Kendall Jackson, Korbel & Rodney Strong. Our location is just three miles from Charles M. Schulz (STS) Airport, 20 miles from Calistoga and The Napa Valley, and 55 miles from the city of San Francisco. For you Peanuts fans, the Charles M. Schulz Museum & Ice Rink is only one mile from our front door! Race fans can enjoy a short 20 minute drive to Infineon Raceway. All rooms include our expanded hot American Breakfast featuring our famous cinnamon rolls. We also have two separate conference room facilities that can accommodate up to 115 total attendees. Catering is also available. Please call for details. We offer an outdoor heated pool, zen garden and courtyard. Please call hotel for pet policies.All rooms have free high-speed Internet access, microwaves, mini-refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons and ironing boards, hair dryers, a private patio or balcony and an exterior entrance. We look forward to having you as our guest very soon! Thank you for choosing to Stay Smart! Credit card and valid ID required for all check-ins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Best Western Plus Wine Country Inn And Suites
Holiday Inn Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa Holiday Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Wine Country Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.