We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Freeway Noise!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rose

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Rose to your Saves list
Hotel La Rose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   308 Wilson St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
San Jose, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beware of Freeway Noise!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Nice enough structure from the outside. Generally clean. Very friendly housekeeping staff.
No mattress covers. If you're after a quiet room- ask for a room that doesn't look out onto the freeway. Overpriced for what it is. Would have given different review had people at front desk said anything about noise reality..... Somewhat staid, and Fawlty Towerish, minus the humor. Well maintained and pleasant, minus freeway noise factor.

Room Tip: Unless you enjoy sleeping with very loud freeway noise, ask for another room! Good walk ability for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We work hard daily to make sure that you as our guest have the best stay possible. I have personally checked all beds along with my hsk supervisor to assure that all rooms have the above mentioned ammenities. The freeway noise is something that we can not control along with anyother Hotel in the area. Knowing that we have streets on all sides of the hotel I would suggest that on your next visit please ask for a room in the Carriage House in the back if possible as we are usually soldout on the weekends. Our rooms once again are clean, the staff housekeeping or front desk very professional and cater to your needs when requested if at all possible. Once again thank you for your comments and staying at Hotel La Rose where you will get a great clean room, curtious service and a wonderful value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    124
    30
    17
    10
See reviews for
42
155
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife and I spent one night at this hotel and had a few ups and downs.

The location is great with restaurants and shopping literally around the corner. The main hotel building is where we made our reservation because we wanted to stay in this great old hotel, but when we checked-in the clerk told us that we had reserved a room in the "carriage house," which is a new building across the street. We were a little disappointed, but I was also relieved because the main building had a very strange smell that would have bothered me if we stayed there (musty).

The "carriage house" is newer and clean, but needs maintenance. The doorknob to our patio door came off when I was pulling on it to shut the door. I had to pull hard because the doorway was warped and had about a 1 inch gap between the top of the door and the upper door jamb.

Overall, it was a clean room in a safe environment, but it was not the "old world experience" we were hoping for by staying at an historic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
I am very sorry that you did not get to stay in the main historic building. At check-in did you advise the front desk about your request as we always try to make sure all of our guest needs are met. Please feel free to contact the hotel concerning your stay at anytime so matters can be corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel La Rose during our trip to the Northern California area. It's a wonderful small hotel that provides a very comfortable bed, wonderful shower, decent breakfast, their own parking lot, and friendly staff. We went on a wine tour with Terrific Tours, which picked up/dropped us off right at the hotel! How awesome is that? My only recommendations would be to provide more options than cereal, pastries, & breads at breakfast. A hot option (like eggs or waffles/pancakes), oatmeal, or yogurt would be a great addition. Thanks for a wonderful stay and if we are in the area again, we will consider staying.

Room Tip: There are two parts of this hotel- a newer section and an older section. We stayed in the older sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hotel La Rose & Bistro 1907 wishes to first of all thank you for your kind words and staying with us during your visit to Santa Rosa, CA. As you know with every hotel and restaurant it is your choice of lodging and we wish to thank you again for choosing us and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

When our usual hotel was booked, we stayed here for a night. It is located in the historic railroad square in Santa Rosa with free parking. We stayed in the carriage house, which is across the street from the Hotel. The carriage house was cute although inside the room there was a weird splotch on the carpet that I just preferred to walk around. The room was fairly large with a decent sized bathroom. The free continental breakfast was a little lacking but thankfully, A'Roma Roasters was across the street with delicious coffee and croissants. Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel La Rose for your rooming needs in Santa Rosa, CA. The mentioned spot is glue that someone spilled on the carpet which is beinging taken care of as our carpets are always cleaned and repaired in timely mannor. Once again thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel La Rose is a good choice when visiting the Santa Rosa area. It is a historic hotel (100 years old), so do not expect large hotel amenities. However, it is a beautiful place. We had a king size bed on the fourth floor. The room was a good size, the bathroom was a good size, and the hotel staff were very nice. There are coffee shops, restaurants, and wine bars in walking distance...as in one block away. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
As the General Manager I wish to personally thank you for staying with us as does the entire staff. Please note that we strive to make every stay a stay to remember. Once again thanks and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had had a fabulous day at Matanzas Creek for their Lavender and Wine festival, then came down to Santa Rosa for the night. Easy to locate, close to many fun restaurants....we chose La Gare, a French restaurant, that was down the street, walking distance. Excellent food and service. The Hotel La Rose's rooms were large and really comfortable, the staff very friendly and helpful. I wish I had known about their Magician's Dinner the same evening we stayed. It sounded incredible, and something we will go back to visit. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about Hotel La Rose and the staff. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stay at this hotel when we cycle in the area of Santa Rosa. This is a small hotel that is cozy. They have rooms in the main building which is an old building and they have modern rooms across the street in a cute small courtyard. We like to stay in the more modern rooms. The rooms are comfortable and large. The upstairs rooms have lots of light. If you sleep with your window open, you hear the water fountain which is very relaxing.

The only complain we have is that they need to get better pillows. The pillows are old and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Upstairs room in the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
First and foremost thanks for your review. Good or bad we look forward to all of our guest reviews. We all work hard to make ever guest stay as pleasant as possible and to their return. Once again thanks for your reviews and kind words about Hotel La Rose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rose

Address: 308 Wilson St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rose 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel La Rose was built in 1906. Our main building has antique furniture in the lobby and all guest rooms. Our Carriage House is more modern with balconies or outside room sitting areas. We are directly across from the Historic Railroad Station in Railroad Square where in 2016 the Smart Train will arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Hotel
La Rose Santa Rosa
Hotel La Rose Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.