We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, but not Great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Rose

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Rose to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Rose
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   308 Wilson St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Dillon, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very Good, but not Great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent five nights here in early October while visiting wine country and attending the BR Cohn Fall Music Festival. The hotel is pretty cool because of all the history associated with it. The room was comfortable, but the TV was so small, I felt like I needed binoculars to see what was on the screen. We did not spend that much time in the room. When we arrived late Wednesday night (after 11pm) the room was set-up with a candles/chocolate covered strawberry/champagne romance package that was awesome. It certainly surprised my wife. ;-) Friendly folks at the hotel & good service, but I wouldn't recommend the restaurant on site for breakfast. Service was slow, order was taken inaccurately, food was not prepared properly, etc. The manager was not happy, so he comp'd our breakfast, which was nice of him, but would have preferred to have it done right. The hotel was walking distance to most everything else, like other restaurants, winebars, cafe's, retail outlets, etc. oh, the visitor center was right across the street.

Room Tip: get a room on the other side of the hotel, away from highway vehicle noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent comments and stay at Hotel La Rose. This year we hope to continue to replace our TVs through out the property. We have been working on this over the last year and will continue to do so. Once again I want to thank you for staying at Hotel La Rose and look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    98
    27
    16
    10
See reviews for
35
132
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I would say this is one of my favorite places to stay at period. I travel a lot! When I come to Santa Rosa, this is where I stay. I did try a few other places, but for the value, location, cleanliness, friendliness, and convenience, this wins for me, no competition. Hotel La Rose is across from a pretty good cafe, around the corner is a fine sushi restaurant, pub, cute boutiques, italian restaurant, breakfast place too. Down a couple blocks is a nice size mall. This is all within walking distance. The prices for Hotel La Rose are quite reasonable, given the area. Each room has comfy beds filled with pillows and fluffy comforters, cable tv, nice furniture. It does feel like a quaint Inn, window boxes at each window filled with geraniums. The staff is wonderful. Staff gives full attention to each person, and they remember my name. There is a restaurant in the hotel, the steak is quite good, and as with the rest of the staff, they are pleasant and accomodating. I highly recommend Hotel La Rose.

Room Tip: I've been on the 2nd floor with all my stays here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
The entire staff wishes to thank you for choosing Hotel La Rose for your rooming needs in Santa Rosa. We also would like to say thank your for mentioning Bistro 1907 in your comments. As you may not know Hotel La Rose with in the last couple of months took over management of the restaurant and we are working hard not only at Hotel La Rose but Bistro 1907 to insure that every guest is treated in a way that will make a great lasting memory. Once again thanks for your comments and most of all being part of the Hotel La Rose family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I drove into Santa Rosa with no hotel reservations and found Hotel La Rose on the web. It was late at night (we were 12 hours on the road) and the desk clerk stayed on the phone so we would not get lost. We had a suite and it was just that -- sweet. We took advantage of the historic location and walked all over downtown. It was the perfect place from which to launch day trips as well. We took advantage of the hotel restaurant, really good food, reasonably priced, and attentive wait staff. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There is a main hotel building and an annex either are great. Location, location, location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Be it a last minute reservation or a year out reservation we strive to make your stay at Hotel La Rose as wonderful as possible. From the time you call and walk in the door we want each guest to feel like family (the Hotel La Rose & Bistro 1907 family) from that day on. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Staying in a Historic hotel in quaint old town (railyard district) Santa Rosa was appealing to us. The price was reasonable, especially compared to anything in Napa. Our room was on the 4th floor, with a very low sloped ceiling that we hit our heads on several times. It felt very closed in, especially since the windows were so small and high up. The comforter and pillows smelled "old", like it needed laundering. The bathroom was marble, and quite nice. The toiletries were very nice, high end. The restaurant was very poor. It took quite a while to get a cold yogurt parfait for breakfast, and there was only one other customer who came after us...
Then, on our last night (of 2), at about 4 am, I felt something on my feet, and turned on the light. It was a mouse! It ran across the room, and hid in the corner. We shooed it out of the room, and tried to report it to the front desk, but there was no answer. We told the desk clerk the next morning, and she seemed quite surprised and alarmed. She said it was not common, and refunded one nights stay. I probably wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: don't stay on the 4th floor, as the rooms are very small to start with, and feel smaller due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We thank you for your comments and for staying at Hotel La Rose. The only way that any Hotel can understand all guest needs is feedback. Please note that your experience has never happened since I have been part of the Hotel La Rose family and has not happened since. Being in the hotel business for many years we strive to make every stay perfect. Please contact me personally on your next stay at Hotel La Rose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spotty at Best!! We stayed 3 days in room 59 of the carriage house. The room was large and the bed comfortable. We had to call to have the room serviced after being out ALL day, our first day. After that the room was serviced in a timely manner. The room seemd a bit worn and not nearly as nice looking as the one that our friends stayed in, in the main hotel. The night light outside our door was not working, and was not replaced even after reporting it on day one. We had breakfast once in the dining room. Service was slow and the food mediocre. Given the historic appeal of this hotel we were disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to be in better condition in the main hotel than in the carriage house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments as that is the only way that we can improve all of our guest stay. Once again that you for your comments and stay at Hotel La Rose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My partner and I stayed at La Rose for 4 nights as we were attending a friend's wedding. A very pleasant stay. Our room was clean with modern amenities. On our third day we had lunch in the restaurant which was very tasty and the waiter was very attentive. The bar person poured the wrong drink for me, when I pointed this out he was very apologetic and I was given a complimentary one.
Would definetly stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a coach house room/suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing Hotel La Rose for your rooming needs in Santa Rosa. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield ,Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for seven of eight nights in this lovely, old, historical hotel in the heart of old Santa Rosa. We enjoyed the whole experience!! The rooms were authentically decorated with modern amenities and our second room was a Junior Suite upgrade that was spacious and well furnished in early 19th century furniture with modern conveniences in keeping with the decor!! We had a delicious extended continental breakfast every morning.

The Staff, Dade, Janet and the lovely woman at night, as well as everyone else, were friendly, helpful, accommodating, and very professional and were there to please us from the moment we arrived until we sadly, left.

I would highly recommend this Hotel!!! It was a GREAT experience!! Thank you so much, Hotel La Rose for everything!!!!

Room Tip: One of the front room Junior Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade V, General Manager at Hotel La Rose, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Sorry for the delay in saying thank you not only for your stay with us but for your nice comments. We strive daily to make every guest stay the best possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rose

Address: 308 Wilson St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Rose 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our airport transportation is a pay shuttle service from hotel. Fitness center is offsite but free to our guest.Historic Hotel La Rose was built in 1906. Our main building has antique furniture in the lobby and all guest rooms. Our Carriage House is more modern with balconies or outside room sitting areas. We are directly across from the Historic Railroad Station in Railroad Square where in 2015 the Smart Train will arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Hotel
La Rose Santa Rosa
Hotel La Rose Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.