We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can definately find better.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   866 Hopper Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Ramada)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You can definately find better.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Compared to similarly priced hotels this place is terrible. Of course prices in California are terrible to begin with and I'm coming from Anchorage Alaska! I will never come back to this hotel and doubt I ever visit California again either. I checked in and asked if there was a pool, yes there is, and how late it was open, til 10. Went back to the front desk to ask where it was, it was closed. There was no light bulb she said, so no way to use pool. I guess I'm lucky the lights in the room work because the air conditioner doesn't and it's hot! So much for cooling off after a long day of riding my motorcycle around California. Taxes are 14%! It's sad to see such a beautiful state run straight into the ground by a over zealous government. I will be riding straight out of California tomorrow and spending not a dime more than the gas I need. Guess I'll be filling the tub, no apology or any sign she even cared that I payed for a room after being told there was a pool. A dump with no ammenities, the continental breakfast is cereal or cereal apparently. 3 kinds to choose from, and there's still some spilled on the counter probably from this morning. Pathetic.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    20
    19
    9
    3
See reviews for
10
27
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Comfortable enough for a reasonably priced motel. Fridge and microwave in room are an addded bonus. Bed was comfortable, noise level not loud. Some smokers congregate at the table downstairs, but the office people promised to call them if they were noisy after 10 PM. Good coffee machine in the office, breakfast very minimal. The location is off the road and that 's a plus. Nice Hospice Thrift Store(one of the best) close by as well as a Goodwill.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs, that' s better because you don't get the parking noise and the office tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califorina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked two rooms. I first talked to Sonny. I requested two rooms on the lower level. He said he would have to call me back but never did. I called the next day at 8:15 am. A sleepy female answered the phone. I could tell I woke her up. She told me people were checking out and asked me to call back later. When we checked in, the only front desk gal was really slow. Our room did not have a computer table, ironing board, or iron like our other room did. When I requested the items, I was told they would bring them, but they never arrived. The hotel is two story with no elevator. I felt uncomfortable. There was no safe in the room. Breakfast was posted to start at 6:30 am. It started at 7:30 am. I guess sleeping in is more important than their job? The breakfast items promised over the phone were not what we received. They ran out of milk and orange juice. No one was available to ask for more. The pool was closed, waiting for parts. The room cost $95.00 for Thursday and $159.00 for Friday. It was way over priced. There is another Americas Best Value Inn & Suites in Santa Rosa. It is a lot cheaper than this one on Hopper Avenue. The owners need to hire better help. On the good side, we did sleep well and didn't get robbed! If you stay here, do not expect much. Then you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early July and were highly skeptical when we finally found the place. It is well hidden. The girl who worked the desk could have been somewhat more friendly. That aside, the room was old but functional if you don't plan spending a lot of time there. The free breakfast is served in the lobby with the idea of taking it back to your room on a tray. Beware, the tray is in your room so take it with you! The good news is that after a few wine tastings, the place looked better. The price was right and we were next to a Starbucks and a Trader Joes. I'm not sure I would stay here again but it was where we wanted to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This was our first experience ever with that chain. Name sounds promising. Well, as we quickly learned, it does not mean much.
The only positive thing about the place is that it's in Santa Rosa, not too far from Napa and Somoma.
It's far from downtown, so not much around. Swimming pool was closed, because of the law about not having an handicap ramp. I call BS on this, this is summer!!!
The room was stinky, like if some cat (or dog) had urinated in all corners.
From the outside, it looks ok, that's it.
As anything around, you pay much more than it's worth because you're close to the 2 major wine valleys of CA.
Not saying that you should not go there, just set your expectations low and you'll be OK.
Maybe the owner should sell his huge Mercedes and spend some money on refreshing the rooms. It makes you feel being taken for granted.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Your average motel in a good location. Rooms clean and quiet and food nearby within walking distance. Staff friendly but no coffee etc in the morning until almost 7:00. Pool is green and not usable so do not count on it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

After reading some of the reviews of the budget hotels in the area we decided on this place on the strength of the reviews. I have to say I was disappointed.
The rooms have paperthin walls and poor fitting doors. With people arriving at all hours of the night and as soon as the arrivees stopped the leavers started. Each dragged cases and banged doors (they had no choice it was the only way to close them) which you could hear all night. Not that I was asleep as the in room fridge made as much noise as a tractor running and the light from the cable box was burning my retinas out being so bright and so close to the bed.
We have stayed in many hotels in this price bracket on our trip and this was far from god value. For the same money we have got pools, lifts and sleep.

Room Tip: Another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country

Address: 866 Hopper Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Wine Country Hotel is located in the heart of the magnificent California wine country. Guests will enjoy our 34 beautifully decorated guestrooms and suites, featuring stylish decor comfortable furnishings and contemporary amenities for an enjoyable stay. At this Lodging Santa Rosa wine country motel our friendly staff is available 24-hours a day. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Wine Country guests are treated to a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Ramada
Ramada Santa Rosa
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.