We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Quiet comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   866 Hopper Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Ramada)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
302 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good location. Quiet comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I met up with two other couples for an overnight stay. When we entered our room, we immediately noticed a couple of flies buzzing around over the bed. There was a chemical smell that seemed like an attempt to cover up a smoke smell (non-smoking room). When we opened one of the dresser drawers, we found 2 trash bags filled with empty beer cans.

I went to the front desk. The clerk was very apologetic and immediately gave us another room. The new room was much better and as expected for this hotel class; clean, no smells, and no flies. We checked our friends' rooms and they were great, as well. So, we'll consider the first room an anomaly, due to the behavior of the prior guests. We did notice later that a cleaning crew had been dispatched to that room, so they appeared to make a serious effort to correct the issues we found.

Because of the immediate and appropriate staff response and the fact that the other 3 rooms were good, I can say that we were happy with our stay and would likely stay here again when in the area. The rooms were very quiet.

We didn't take advantage of the breakfast, but it looks like a typical continental style for this hotel class.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    28
    12
    4
See reviews for
18
33
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hobocamp
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Because we have stayed with America's Best Value Inns before, we got a 15% discount which made this a good price in an area where prices tend to be high...California Wine Country. There are two Best Value Inns in Santa Rosa --this was the Hopper St. location. We had a Kingbed room, upstairs (although we oldsters prefer down) and there were fridge and microwave, in-room coffee, internet access and cable TV. The room was attractive and the bed comfortable, and all very clean. Great shower/bath, good hefty towels, and wall dispenser for shampoo, conditioner and body gel--so much easier than fumbling with tiny bottle tops or trying to tear open a packet.
We found the room noisy and chilly in the morning, then realized we'd not closed the window all the time we were there!
Check-in was fine, continental breakfast adequate but "take it to your room." Super fine coffee/cocoa/etc. dispenser! Leaving the parking lot next am was tricky: commuters line up fiercely at the adjoining Starbucks! Best to drive out the side exit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We found the rooms nice with all the facilities like microwave , refrigerator and all basic amenities. Breakfast was free and had decent choices. Swimming pool was there but not cleaned. All the rooms are positioned side by side so it can be noisy at a times. Good location of you are visiting to Safari west or calistoga - this is towards the north of Santa Rosa and near or those places.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was pleased with the room. It was clean, no bad smells, shower water pressure was fine. The free wifi was great. It was all I needed. But the staff was in training (I checked in Friday night and checked out Sunday morning). As a result they admittedly gave me the receipt for what they paid the online booking agency. The difference between rate they paid and the rate I paid was $30 per night! In other words, a $90 dollar/night room was $120 night. Seems like we're paying a steep premium for the convenience of online booking. This is of not this hotel's problem per se, but it leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at America's Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country mid-week for two nights in a King room. When we arrived (at 4 pm) there was nobody at the front desk. We rang the bell and waited more than 5-minutes. The room was OK - Not like the owner's pictures displayed on Tripadvisor. The room is old and the carpet is dirty. I was sitting on the bed with my back against the headboard and my hair stuck to it. The mirror had smeared kids finger prints on it - it looked like a finger-paint with milk. It is half a star above Motel 6. There was a mini fridge that buzzed all night loudly and a small microwave. There was a small coffee maker but styrofoam cups. There were only three very small, flat pillows on the King sized bed so we went to the front desk and again waited more than 5-minutes for someone to come out and they said they only had ONE (1) extra pillow but if we stay another night we could get another. There were 8 cars in the parking lot....the hotel was not full by any stretch of the word. While not luxurious the mattress was comfortable. The blanket between the sheet and bedspread didn't cover the entire bed. It must have been for a full size bed rather than a King. The air-conditioning unit was under the window and without a thermostat, we had to get up a few times during the night to turn it on and off. The light switches are energy saving motion detector types, so all night the green light on the switches flashed on and off and at one point, the vanity area lit up bright and woke us up. I don't know what caused that, but it was a bright night light on the switch that lit up for no reason. The first night things were very quiet (the hotel was almost empty) but the second night, people walking down the corridor woke us up. We checked out at 8am and "surprise!" no body at the front desk. We will definitely find a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Bring your pillow, ear plugs and sleeping mask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had an event in the Santa Rosa area, but did not want to spend a lot on accommodations. We stayed here three nights. It is clean and quiet and the front desk clerk was very friendly and nice. The neighborhood is pretty crummy, with abandoned buildings and low budget stores. The pool was too dirty to want to swim in it, and the channels on the tv were just awful. To sum it up, it's an okay place for one night. If we stay in the Santa Rosa area again for more than one night, we will not return to this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

clean room, friendly and accommodating staff, easy to find. We were on a long trip and were cutting corners on the hotel budget. We booked this for one night, assuming it would be horrible. But ended up staying all week. The bed was pretty good, the room was clean, and the staff friendly. The only problem was the room was very small, but we only paid a fraction of what other hotels in the area were charging. No complaints for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
0.4 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#8 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
1.7 mi away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#12 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#6 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Santa Rosa Wine Country
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
Hilton Sonoma Wine Country
#9 of 26 in Santa Rosa
3.5 of 5 stars 889 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country

Address: 866 Hopper Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Wine Country Hotel is located in the heart of the magnificent California wine country. Guests will enjoy our 34 beautifully decorated guestrooms and suites, featuring stylish decor comfortable furnishings and contemporary amenities for an enjoyable stay. At this Lodging Santa Rosa wine country motel our friendly staff is available 24-hours a day. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Wine Country guests are treated to a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Ramada
Ramada Santa Rosa
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.