We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definetely would not recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   866 Hopper Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Ramada)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Anderson, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Definetely would not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at America's Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country mid-week for two nights in a King room. When we arrived (at 4 pm) there was nobody at the front desk. We rang the bell and waited more than 5-minutes. The room was OK - Not like the owner's pictures displayed on Tripadvisor. The room is old and the carpet is dirty. I was sitting on the bed with my back against the headboard and my hair stuck to it. The mirror had smeared kids finger prints on it - it looked like a finger-paint with milk. It is half a star above Motel 6. There was a mini fridge that buzzed all night loudly and a small microwave. There was a small coffee maker but styrofoam cups. There were only three very small, flat pillows on the King sized bed so we went to the front desk and again waited more than 5-minutes for someone to come out and they said they only had ONE (1) extra pillow but if we stay another night we could get another. There were 8 cars in the parking lot....the hotel was not full by any stretch of the word. While not luxurious the mattress was comfortable. The blanket between the sheet and bedspread didn't cover the entire bed. It must have been for a full size bed rather than a King. The air-conditioning unit was under the window and without a thermostat, we had to get up a few times during the night to turn it on and off. The light switches are energy saving motion detector types, so all night the green light on the switches flashed on and off and at one point, the vanity area lit up bright and woke us up. I don't know what caused that, but it was a bright night light on the switch that lit up for no reason. The first night things were very quiet (the hotel was almost empty) but the second night, people walking down the corridor woke us up. We checked out at 8am and "surprise!" no body at the front desk. We will definitely find a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Bring your pillow, ear plugs and sleeping mask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    21
    9
    3
See reviews for
13
30
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had an event in the Santa Rosa area, but did not want to spend a lot on accommodations. We stayed here three nights. It is clean and quiet and the front desk clerk was very friendly and nice. The neighborhood is pretty crummy, with abandoned buildings and low budget stores. The pool was too dirty to want to swim in it, and the channels on the tv were just awful. To sum it up, it's an okay place for one night. If we stay in the Santa Rosa area again for more than one night, we will not return to this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

clean room, friendly and accommodating staff, easy to find. We were on a long trip and were cutting corners on the hotel budget. We booked this for one night, assuming it would be horrible. But ended up staying all week. The bed was pretty good, the room was clean, and the staff friendly. The only problem was the room was very small, but we only paid a fraction of what other hotels in the area were charging. No complaints for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Overall, good place to stay overnight at a reasonable price. Nothing fancy, but adequate. Staff is friendly and works to provide for customers' needs.
We do wish that those noisy, hard to adjust, heating/cooling units would be replaced with something quiet and more responsive to a thermostat! They have the under-the-window boxes that are either too hot, or too cold, and on all the time with the noisy fan.
Plenty of hot water in the morning, but the breakfast was pretty sparse. Cold cereals, hard boiled egg, toast, small-ish bagels with low quality cream cheese spread, tiny muffins, no danish, nothing else hot except coffee from the machine, or cocoa.
For breakfast, if you'd prefer, there's a Starbucks a couple hundred feet away. There is also an Applebees across the street, in a mall, that was just fine for dinner, but very busy on Friday night.
But, again, not too bad, quiet, and fairly priced.

Room Tip: No elevator, so, if necessary, ask for a ground floor room or expect to deal with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

clean pleasant, surroundings are depressing with so many deserted and empty businesses.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Gallen
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Place is clean, decent and pleasant. Rooms have a lot of extras like Microwave, fridge & freezer, iron boards and coffee maker.

Only downside: Internet failed early evening and wasn't fixed till late the next morning :(

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

If you want to stay somewhere cheap with basic ammenities, this place is fine. Continental breakfast is very basic --coffee, cereal, mini-bagels. My room was quiet and bed comfortable enough. Not spotlessly clean, but okay. No restaurant on site but they do provide you with some delivery menus for local restaurants. Not really walking distance of anything, but if you're just going to be here for the night, it's just fine.

Room Tip: This is a hotel without a lobby--all rooms enter into the parking lot. Probably not much difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country

Address: 866 Hopper Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Wine Country Hotel is located in the heart of the magnificent California wine country. Guests will enjoy our 34 beautifully decorated guestrooms and suites, featuring stylish decor comfortable furnishings and contemporary amenities for an enjoyable stay. At this Lodging Santa Rosa wine country motel our friendly staff is available 24-hours a day. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Wine Country guests are treated to a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Ramada
Ramada Santa Rosa
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.