We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk staff leaves a lot to be desired!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   866 Hopper Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Ramada)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Holiday Savings Special
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Nevada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Front desk staff leaves a lot to be desired!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011 via mobile

After traveling 23 hours the day before & arriving on Santa Rosa at 12:30 pm, we just wanted to dump our luggage & freshen up before a 2pm b-day party, we hoped for some empathy. Yet when I went to check in, the first words out of the clerk's mouth wasn't welcome to put hotel but "check-in is not til 3pm". I understood that but as there were only 3 cars on the parking lot, we said we'd take anything. She said to come back in an hour which I did. Found another couple waiting there, they'd rang the bell 3 times @ finally chose to go elsewhere after waiting 15 minutes with no response! We got our room at 1:50, making us late to our party. And the value club card says "free room upgrade" - HA! We got the smallest room/bed they had but at least we got a room before 3pm. To the management, your front desk person makes the 1st impression. Wrong person to have there! Also, they advertise an expanded breakfast & the office was locked at 7:25 on Sunday morning. Couldn't even get coffee! Trip Advisor has always helped us in our travels - skip this hotel, pay a little extra & stay at the Extended Stay across the freeway. We stayed there on our last visit to Santa Rosa & they were great.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisantarosa, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country for your recent stay in our area. I hope everyone had a wonderful time at the birthday party.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• The front desk person received additional training in the courteous, helpful way in which he is to treat our valued guests. I realize we can’t always be as accommodating as we would like to be, but we can do our best.

• Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast and maintaining a proper time frame.

We take our reviews very seriously. I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
14
30
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011 via mobile

The room reeked of cigarette smoke, even though was in a non smoking room. People smoking pot right outside. Outside entrance . TV didn't work. Had to pay for coffee at the "free" continental breakfast ! Only had cold cereal at breakfast . Will not stay here again .

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisantarosa, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry it didn’t turn out to be exactly as you had anticipated.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Management and security staff were advised of your report that you felt Pot was being smoked on the premises.

• Maintenance was informed of the television not working in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair or replacement.

• Breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast.

We take our reviews very seriously. I hope that you will reconsider and that the next time you are in our area, you will once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country. I think you will be very pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCKINLEYVILLE
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We liked this place enough to stay there twice on the same trip. we were touring central California between Santa Rosa and Santa Barbara. This was the best deal of the whole trip. has everything the pricier places have except for a hot tub. I even used the unheated, seasonal pool to dunk my hot, tired feet after dancing. sat on the edge and cooled them under the stars. They even had an ironing board. Two Queens for $79 at the end of October. When it came time to come back through Santa Rosa on the way back, we stayed there another night. Comfortable beds. 4 big towels. Walls must be good because I didn't even hear the engines of early risers in the morning. Big screened window you can actually open. Good darkening curtains. Get room 216, or was it 116? on the first floor, at the end near the pool in late Fall, Winter, early Spring because no one goes to the pool anyway. Nearby are Carrows restaurant, Trader Joes and a dollar store. not far from 2 Malls and downtown shops. The Luther Burbank house/gardens with a docent tour was actually very interesting. Dancing at the Flamingo Hotel. The California Old Faithful Geyser in Calistoga is one of only three like it and more faithful than the more famous one in Yellowstone Park.

Room Tip: Stay in the end room near the pool in Spring, Winter, Fall
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Close to freeway. 15% off if you get hotel card (at least bring photocopy of email if you don't get card in time). Allow dogs, but no sign of dogs having been there - good clean up. MW, frig, TV, internet, nice people run the place, kept it clean.
No amenities like spa, workout space, pool. Bare-bones, but I came here knowing that. Suits me fine.
Breakfast only from 7:30-9:30 so I missed before work, and just generic wrapped Danish roll.
Served by purposes, safe, clean and close. I stay here everytime work takes me to Santa Rosa!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, Ca.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Spent 1 nite at this hotel. 1st room they gave us we refused, in the corner dark and smelled. 2nd room 105 was ok but not worth the price. Lousey cont. breakfast. woould not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisantarosa, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country, responded to this review, September 16, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Management was approached about what actions could be taken to make our valued guests feel that they are getting their monies worth.

• Breakfast staff received additional training in putting on a good cont. breakfast.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will change your mind and once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country. We do take our reviews very seriously. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

If you want a place to just get some rest and get back on the road, this place is fine. The hotel is basic, but clean and in a good location. I wouldn't use it for a vacation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisantarosa, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country, responded to this review, April 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn & Suites for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. I am glad that the hotel was adequate for your needs and that the location was a good one for you.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gualala, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights with our young children, and it was nasty. The curtain had what looked like blood staines on them, and so did the box spring matress. I was a little scared. The bathroom was nice, but that was about it. I wanted to have a cup of coffee but there was no coffee just sugar. we stayed upstairs and the walkway was made of wood and was falling in. On the second night we saw a cockroach above the doorway in our room. I have never seen one before, so needless to say I wasn't taking it too well. I feel bad giving bad reviews we are not wealthy people and we cant afford to stay at the 5 star places, but this was bad. I think they should try renovating the rooms. i would not recommend taking your kids to stay there. Mine were terrified.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvisantarosa, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country, responded to this review, February 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, it is very much appreciated. I am so sorry that your children were terrified and that your visit was not the pleasant one you had anticipated.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

1) Maintenance staff received additional training as to what is expected of them in keeping our property in proper condition. They were instructed to inspect the property and see that proper repairs were made. They also were instructed to look into the matter of cockroaches and to see to it that any such problem was eliminated.

2) Housekeeping staff received additional training as to their responsibility as our employees to maintain a proper level of cleanliness.

3) Housekeeping staff received additional training in making sure that the rooms are properly maintained for the guests, with coffee and all the amenities.

I hope that the next time you are in our area, you will once again choose to stay at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country

Address: 866 Hopper Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95403 (Formerly Ramada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Wine Country Hotel is located in the heart of the magnificent California wine country. Guests will enjoy our 34 beautifully decorated guestrooms and suites, featuring stylish decor comfortable furnishings and contemporary amenities for an enjoyable stay. At this Lodging Santa Rosa wine country motel our friendly staff is available 24-hours a day. At Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Wine Country guests are treated to a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Rosa Ramada
Ramada Santa Rosa
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Wine Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.