We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables Wine Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Rosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gables Wine Country Inn
Save
You added The Gables Wine Country Inn to your Saves list
4257 Petaluma Hill Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95404   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Santa Rosa B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Can't wait to come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for a Memorial Day weekend getaway, and fell in love with the Gables. Pam and Larry are very hospitable, and opened up several bottles for all the guests to enjoy on the back deck. When we asked for a dinner recommendation, Pam made the reservation for us and even gave us a printed sheet with directions to the restaurant. The Victorian house was decorated perfectly in period furniture. Breakfast was delicious (lavender bread with lavender picked fresh from their garden!), and they were happy to accommodate vegetarians. Can't wait to come back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
91
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, Ca
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We have stayed at B&Bs across the nation and in Europe, and The Gables just might be our favorite we have stayed at. The historical building is gorgeous and kept immpecably. We had a late check in and an early departure due to our plans to go Ballooning ( see our UP and Away review). And They were so accomodating. They even made us a " sack breakfast" with some fruit, muffins, and yogurt to take with us on our journy, which at 5am was VERY appreciated. The 2nd morning we were able to experience the real breakfast and it was super yummy and fun to meet at the other people staying in the house. Pam and Larry sat with each couple to discuss thier plans for the day and offer us free tasing cards ( which can REALLY add up in present day wine country).
The room was exquisite, too. The antiques were appropriate but comfortable. The bed was so comfortable and the "Comphy Sheets" were so soft and clean. The claw foot tub made for a nice relaxing bath after a day of wine tasting. If you don't like wine, there are a lot of other experiences to have in the area. Along with the Balloon ride, we went to the coast and had Oysters at Tamalas Bay which was so much fun!
We can't wait to return!! Thank you Pam and Larry!

Room Tip: The main street the Inn is on can be noisy ( didnt matter to us) but if thats a concern, as for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here (with another couple) for a weekend while touring the Sonoma wine scene. It was our first visit to Sonoma, so we weren't certain what to expect.
Well, Pam and Larry may run the best B&B I have been to in a long time! Attentive and personable, they made certain everything we needed was provided, including the "inside scoop" to wineries and restaurants in the area.
Seems that they have done their homework, and they are on a first-name basis with almost every restauranteur or wine group in the area!

Our friends are from CA, and I know they are going back. We hope to do the same. Can't say anything except STAY HERE (and get your reservations early).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed for our 50th anniversary. Pam and Larry treated us like good friends and family. They had executed our daughter's requests and had wife's brand of champaign on ice, flowers, chocolates all set up in our room when we arrived. Gave us a tour of their amazing B&B…including our own fireplace. Breakfast was 5star gourmet quality. They made reservations at their favorite restaurant for dinner, which was the perfect, romantic Italian restaurant. Beds comfortable and room quiet. Very, very pleasant stay. Then they recommended a day trip to the Redwood State park and the coastal seashore where we had a great lunch. Location is rural…outside the Santa Rosa hustle and bustle and traffic….but minutes to stores and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a truly amazing vacation to The Gables Inn! Everything from the accommodations and breakfasts to the concierge services and hospitality were the most remarkable I’ve experienced. As a world traveler, I have spent many nights in upscale hotels in beautiful locations; however, this Victorian mansion coupled with Pam and Larry’s care and concern for guests currently tops my list of travels.

First off, The Gables Inn is a quiet refuge offering its guests a serene and pampering environment. Upon arrival Pam greeted us with fresh baked cookies, which she does daily, and a big smile. She asked what we would like to do while staying with them, so we listed a few things and informed us she’d “take care of it” for us.

Following a fantastic dinner recommendation, we returned back to the Inn to get some rest. The beds and sheets were remarkable! If you can imagine slipping into a pat of butter and being lulled to sleep by the sounds of nature, this is what you will experience at The Gables Inn. (*Note: I had to purchase the sheets on the beds for use at home. Just ask Pam, she'll help you out with this, too!)

Each morning you awake to the most phenomenal breakfasts I've had! Pam uses the lavender and blackberries from the grounds to make amazing scones and Larry's fancy soufflés are sure to please. As a result, a purchase of their personal cookbook is a must. Larry is quite a chef, the portions are huge, and your belly will remain full for hours after indulging in these decadent breakfast creations.

Pam is a wonderful hostess and concierge who personally plans your days for you if you’d like. Incredible! This was the first vacation I have ever experienced that once I arrived I had to make no more decisions for the rest of my stay. Each morning Pam brings you a map which she highlights with you indicating places to stop, wineries to sample, restaurants in which to indulge, and sights you must see. If you want an individual basket of bread, cheese, and wine to accompany you, Pam will fix it up and will give you a list of the best picnic spots. Yes, there’s WiFi to check out restaurant reviews on Yelp, but no television and no stress whatsoever…just pure paradise!

Thank you Larry and Pam; we will be back very soon!!! :)

Lynn & Mark Catalana

Room Tip: Each room has its own "personality". Pam will help you out in choosing the perfect locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here twenty-five years ago and although it now has different owners, it was such a wonderful experience! The new hosts, Pam and Larry, are charming, kind and terrific cooks! We ate peach crisps made with peaches from their tree and lavender blackberry scones with lavender from their yard. Yum! The 100 year old plus Victorian home is a grande dame worthy of her place on the historic register. Pam marked up maps to recommend wineries to visit and helped me find unique places for dinner. I cannot say enough great things about this trip!

Room Tip: Each room has its own personality. There is also a departed cottage if you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had a wonderful 2 night stay at the Gables! Pam & Larry are the best hosts. They helped us plan a relaxing day in wine country and started us off with a very filling and delicious breakfast. We stayed in the cottage that has a loft bedroom, though I am sure all of the rooms are great. The historic house is beautiful and on a lovely piece of land. Thanks so much Pam & Larry!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gables Wine Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Wine Country Inn

Address: 4257 Petaluma Hill Rd., Santa Rosa, CA 95404
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gables Wine Country Inn is a beautifully restored Victorian mansion in the center of California's spectacular Sonoma Wine Country. The Inn, a striking example of High Victorian Gothic Revival architecture, sits on three lush green acres with magnificent vineyard and valley views. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Gables Wine Country Hotel Santa Rosa
Country Inn Santa Rosa
The Gables Wine Country Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables Wine Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.