We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa with a view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villa Restaurant & Bar

The Villa Restaurant & Bar
3901 Montogomery Dr., Santa Rosa, CA 95405
707-528-7755
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #252 of 464 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Villa with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is a restaurarant with good basic Italian standards and very reasonable prices. They have a bargain happy hour, and on top of all of this they have the best view in Sonona County. It's definitely a place to come with a friend, an out of town visitor for a white tablecloth dinner of old fashiponed Italian food and a wonderful view. It's one of my favorite places to come on a summer afternoon for happy hour and view.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Longtime favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Villa is a longtime local favorite. With its early bird specials, it caters to the nearby Oakmont retirement community. It does an excellent job with many Italian favorites, including veal dishes and pasta. My calamari steak dore' was perfectly done, with a light egg batter, the best version in this area. Vegetables - often neglected - are perfectly cooked, with a brilliant color. The ambiance is typical Italian, very friendly, many large groups, somewhat noisy, but not unpleasant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good for families but not romantic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I had expected a restaurant with a more subdued interior with dark lighting and dark wood. But no- it was very bright inside and loud. We went on a Sat. night and I was hoping for a romantic restaurant but the clientele was mostly for older folks, big families and birthday celebrations. The service was very slow. The food was expensive but okay. My wife's filet was great. My NY steak was dry and tough. I wouldn't rush back here. If you do decide to go, there is a steep dirt driveway to the restaurant (hard to see in the dark) and a chaotic parking lot at the top.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good budget happy hour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The bar area has a good happy hour. The drinks are cheap(white wine for $2 a glass), the appetizers are good(although most choices are deep fried, with the exception of the wings and pizza), and the view from the deck is beautiful. The service is great is Sandra is there. I was not thrilled with the service from the other bartenders. It is mostly an older man's place for happy hour. It is a good place to go when you are on a budget and want a cheap meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Villa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good place to go for a easy going spot to relax. Service is always good. Prices are reasonable, with great views of hills. The last of Santa Rosa's "old guard" comes there....Fun and entertaining.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Villa Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to The Villa Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villa Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.