We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Bay Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added North Bay Inn to your Saves list
North Bay Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1875 Mendocino Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good value for the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Based on reviews and price we stayed here for 2 nights recently. The management was nice, room was clean, quiet, bed was comfy, easy access to street, breakfast was typical continental. During the summer this area is very expensive so we felt lucky to get our room for a decent price. This is definitely better than a Motel 6 since they give you breakfast, a fridge, microwave and free Wifi. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    41
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
30
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Without TA, I wouldn't have seriously considered North Bay Inn, but I'm so glad I did. I stayed for one night for a weekend in Wine Country and was beyond pleased. As others have said, this is a traditional motel. There are no frills, but what you get is a very solid experience. I stayed in Room #120, which is a double room and it was fresh-smelling (non-smoking) and very spacious. I was very pleased with the roomy fridge and microwave in the room. The beds were very comfortable and it looked like the furniture and bedding were redone recently.

The location of this motel is excellent. A short drive from downtown Santa Rosa, there is a coffee shop across the street or Starbuck's if you prefer that. We ate at a very good vegan Thai Restaurant nearby. If you want to skip out on the continental breakfast (it's just danishes and coffee and instant oatmeal), go to the Community Market health food store next door and get fresh produce, yogurt, and lots of other goodies.

While not necessarily reasonable, the value for what you get cannot be beat in the very expensive Wine Country. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was in the area for a workshop. I wanted above all a quiet, CLEAN, secure place, located near Highway 101 (but not too close) and of course not expensive which is not easy in this area.

The North Bay Inn is a simple, traditional motel that met my requirements. The lady at the reception was really nice and that contributed to my feeling of security and well being. The room was spotless clean with every item in good order and well maintained. The bed is comfortable, the linen spotless clean, the shower is not the prickly flow but generous, the refrigerator is noiseless. There is a microwave.

I spent 2 nights and brought all my food for breakfast, the workshop and the evening dinner in the room. I give it top rating in its class. This is a place that is practical, affordable (given the area) and an excellent choice for my specific purpose.

The motel breakfast is minimal: a pot of coffee, hot water and tea bags, packaged industrial pastries. There is milk in the "staff only" fridge. Note that there is a Starbuck and a Peets coffe on Mendocino avenue towards Highway 101 past Steel Lane. Also the place is quiet as it seems that the people who come to this motel are well behaved.

The non-smoking rooms are truly non-smoking and fresh. As an incentive to keep them this way there is a penalty of $200 for those who smoke in a non-smoking room. You cannot go wrong if your priorities are similar to mine.

Room Tip: The AC is noisy so if it is hot bring airplugs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Price was ridiculously high, and the verbiage about how well the place was appointed was very over the top. Clean, but not anything better than motel 6 for half the price. Staff was pleasant but certainly did not go out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This motel is very clean and fairly roomy if you need a place for a night or two. It is not luxurious at all. The TV is very confusing to even figure out how to change channels. It is a far walk (about 30 minutes) or a 5 minute drive to some nice restaurants in downtown Santa Rosa, including the popular Russian River brewing company. On our stay, it was fairly expensive for what it is, but we were in Santa Rosa on a popular weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you're looking for a nice, clean, comfortable, well priced room in Santa Rosa, this is a good place to stay. It was a nice sized room, had a very comfortable mattress, good TV reception, free wireless, a microwave and small refrigerator. The desk people were very nice.

Room Tip: We had a room towards the back, farther away from the road. It was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I decided on a last minute gettaway to the sonoma county area on a budget with out any room reservations. We looked at all the low priced motels looking to save money. We didnt feel safe with any of them including and especially Motel 6. We looked at The Double Tree and thought it was pricey for such a small room. The Best Western was also pricey concidering the beds were old, to firm and springy.
Our last ditch effort that saved us from the expensive Double Tree was The North Bay Inn. The lady at the front desk was Part owner with her husband, which could be seen working aournd the premisis as we spoke. She gladly let us look at a room. we like to be sure eveything worked. They Have satelite Tv with a reciever in every room. Which meens a nice picture and an active usable guide. The TV's were old school though. We stayed looking at the room longer than ussual and they called the room to ask if we were gong to take the room... I said were were just checking out the TV and had a hard time with the reciever. They were just staying on top of people who want to look at a room and "USE" the room while "JUST looking " at it. I was glad to see they stay on top of it and dont let it become a problem.
They stay was more than we expected. Close to shopping, restaurants, grocery and the college. Everything worked and was very pleased with all aspects of our stay at The North Bay Inn.

Room Tip: Only 20 rooms I suggest a room in the middle towards the back such as rooms 108-111 they are farthes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
#6 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#8 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Rose
Hotel La Rose
#3 of 26 in Santa Rosa
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Santa Rosa Wine Country
4.4 mi away
Palms Inn
Palms Inn
#18 of 26 in Santa Rosa
3.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay Inn

Address: 1875 Mendocino Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95401
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — North Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your North Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Bay Hotel Santa Rosa
North Bay Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.