We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of North Bay Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added North Bay Inn to your Saves list
North Bay Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1875 Mendocino Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Santa Rosa
1 review
“Too expensive for what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Price was ridiculously high, and the verbiage about how well the place was appointed was very over the top. Clean, but not anything better than motel 6 for half the price. Staff was pleasant but certainly did not go out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    36
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
27
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This motel is very clean and fairly roomy if you need a place for a night or two. It is not luxurious at all. The TV is very confusing to even figure out how to change channels. It is a far walk (about 30 minutes) or a 5 minute drive to some nice restaurants in downtown Santa Rosa, including the popular Russian River brewing company. On our stay, it was fairly expensive for what it is, but we were in Santa Rosa on a popular weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

If you're looking for a nice, clean, comfortable, well priced room in Santa Rosa, this is a good place to stay. It was a nice sized room, had a very comfortable mattress, good TV reception, free wireless, a microwave and small refrigerator. The desk people were very nice.

Room Tip: We had a room towards the back, farther away from the road. It was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I decided on a last minute gettaway to the sonoma county area on a budget with out any room reservations. We looked at all the low priced motels looking to save money. We didnt feel safe with any of them including and especially Motel 6. We looked at The Double Tree and thought it was pricey for such a small room. The Best Western was also pricey concidering the beds were old, to firm and springy.
Our last ditch effort that saved us from the expensive Double Tree was The North Bay Inn. The lady at the front desk was Part owner with her husband, which could be seen working aournd the premisis as we spoke. She gladly let us look at a room. we like to be sure eveything worked. They Have satelite Tv with a reciever in every room. Which meens a nice picture and an active usable guide. The TV's were old school though. We stayed looking at the room longer than ussual and they called the room to ask if we were gong to take the room... I said were were just checking out the TV and had a hard time with the reciever. They were just staying on top of people who want to look at a room and "USE" the room while "JUST looking " at it. I was glad to see they stay on top of it and dont let it become a problem.
They stay was more than we expected. Close to shopping, restaurants, grocery and the college. Everything worked and was very pleased with all aspects of our stay at The North Bay Inn.

Room Tip: Only 20 rooms I suggest a room in the middle towards the back such as rooms 108-111 they are farthes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is good, basic motel accommodation with the high standards of cleanliness and friendly check-in we all expect and usually get. Two of us "mature adults" stayed one night in a room with one queen bed. The room had all the amenities, including fridge, microwave, TV (old one), phone, iron and board. No coffee maker, but we travel with a little one so I just now noticed.

I rated the room "above average" because of its spaciousness, furnishings, and newer fridge (Sanyo, very quiet). Desk/makeup table, table with two chairs for eating, comfortable armchair. Heater (it's March) is a large wall unit, but is controlled from within the room so keeps a steady temperature. Furniture all matches, not the hodge-podge common when you depart from the big chains.

Slight demerit for the light over the wash basin - a fluorescent which flickered annoyingly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawai, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Everything was great, clean spacious room, great WiFi, good night lighting, spacious parking,
and a very friendly, knowledgeable staff.
The North Bay Inn has a bunch of restaurants and shopping places within a block away.
Only thing I could gripe about was the free coffee could have been a bit stronger but I live
in Hawaii and I am used to very strong coffee. The continental breakfast offering was generous.

Aloha Leon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were "Price Line" ing hotels in Santa Rosa and the first one we went to was very unappealing, over-priced and felt unclean and unprofessional (something like "Vanguard or Vandeport--near Cleveland St) so we took a chance on North Bay Inn and we are so glad we did! The room is spacious, wifi was no extra charge (unlike some of the way more expensive chain hotels!). It is no frills lodging which is perfect for us. All we need is clean and comfortable and this was perfect! There is a microwave and a fridge in the room so we were able to store our cheese and smoked salmon. We enjoyed a free cup of coffee in the morning. Perfect!! Also, you get to park at your door! Loved that!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay Inn

Address: 1875 Mendocino Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95401
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — North Bay Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your North Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Bay Hotel Santa Rosa
North Bay Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.