We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of North Bay Inn

Save Saved
You added North Bay Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
North Bay Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1875 Mendocino Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Tucson
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

There are many expensive places to spend your money in the Santa Rosa area. If your need is a place to sleep check this one out. The location is excellent coming into town. I think it is the first one off the freeway (but not close enough to be a noise problem). Small, clean. Most rooms set back off the road. I left before breakfast each day so no comments.

I had booked for 3 nights and decided later to stay for two. The owner unquestionably accommodated my change in plans. A good natured man, friendly and talkative. I will stay here again should the need arise.

Room Tip: For maximum quiet try to stay at the rear of the U shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    12
    5
    3
See reviews for
20
23
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We (my wife, newborn and myself) had a terrible motel experience last night with original plans to stay at one place for two nights. We couldn't bare another moment in that place. Then we found the North Bay Inn.

For our budget, it was perfect. It's a small, 20 room inn but the rooms (we had a double bed room) are spacious, clean and have a microwave, full sized fridge and decent channel selection on their DISH network TV. The place is super quiet besides the occasional loud vehicle passing on the nearby street. I haven't heard another tenant whatsoever. We also got wifi included in the price which was essential for me as I'm a writer. The wifi is protected and has a password that they give you at check in. Their internet is plenty fast and doesn't cut in and out like I experience at most hotels. Overall, North Bay Inn is definitely a wise choice for the price and there's plenty of eateries and stations within walking distance.

This will be my go-to stay for this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is small but very clean and nice. The propreitor is very nice and friendly. Convenient location, easy freeway access, close to Junior College where there is track and field facility. I'm very impressed with the hotel for the value, and definitely would stay at this hotel again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This newly remodeled motel is close to many restaurants and very convenient to activities at Santa Rosa Junior College. We were in Santa Rosa for Summer Repertory Theatre and were able to walk easily to the venues for the plays on campus. The rooms were clean, the carpets new, the bed great, and breakfast offerings included coffee, tea, granola bars, fruit, and packaged pastries. Rooms have refrigerators and microwaves. Wifi is free and fast. The management is friendly and helpful. We live north of Santa Rosa and travel there often for shopping, medical appointments, and entertainment. We'll be staying at the North Bay Inn again in the future!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My requirements for a motel room are clean, quiet, safe and reasonably priced. This motel perfectly met all my needs. I look forward to staying there on subsequent visits to Santa Rosa.
True the breakfast is nothing to write home about, but the other reviews seem way off base. The only negative comment I can make is there was no microwave or refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Housatonic, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Passable for a night or two. Not as well maintained as some other older motels I've stayed in. Overall, not bad for the price given the area. As some have mentioned, the "breakfast" hardly deserves the name.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This motel is moderately priced, clean, convenienty located in walking distance to a major supermarket, good take out restaurants, coffee shops, the junior college, city bus lines, a major pharmacy. The rooms are clean though not elegant. The advertised breakfast is a cellophane packaged sugary sweel roll to be eaten in your room. However, if you are a person of color this may not be the place to stay. My 23 year old adopted son who stayed there is African American. He was woken by a telephone call before check out time asking if he were leaving that day. Then he was again woken by a maid who said she could not return later to clean the room. Is this prejudice? Why find out if there are other alternatives.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Bay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Bay Inn

Address: 1875 Mendocino Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95401
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — North Bay Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your North Bay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Bay Hotel Santa Rosa
North Bay Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Bay Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.