We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!! Up and Away Ballooning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Up & Away Ballooning

Up & Away Ballooning
Sonoma County Airport, 2200 Airport Blvd., Santa Rosa, CA 95492
707-836-0171
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$235*
and up
Ranked #1 of 64 Activities in Santa Rosa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The most personalized, professional ballooning experience in the Sonoma County Wine Country. Gourmet brunch served in the gardens of Kendall-Jackson Winery after the flight. Best safety record.***Now wheelchair accessible***
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Best!!! Up and Away Ballooning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Hot Air Balloon flight was beautiful! Autumn colors were magnified as we viewed grape vineyards and trees. Mike and his staff are awesome! The pilot, Daniel, was excellent and pointed out many sights. We felt absolutely safe with him flying the balloon. We were even able to see the ocean! The brunch afterwards, put on by Mike's wife was delicious. This is a 5 star experience!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review.
Much appreciated.
Kind regards!
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    17
    0
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Can't say enough about our Saturday morning in Sonoma. We drove up from SF, a mere hour and change drive at 5 am to be greeted with smiles from the crew at the Sonoma County Airport. From the first interaction to the last, the team at Up & Away was professional, kind, funny and truly fostered the experience for each and every individual. Shout out to captain Danielle.

Great for couples, friends or families.

If you've never been in a hot air balloon, this is the company to do it with. Hovering over the vineyards and watching the morning fog lift was amazing.

Great crew, awesome product, delicious brunch :)

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Appreciate the review, thank you very much for that
and your business.
Mike and Patty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Island, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Everything I hoped it woud be and more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

One of the highlights of our trip to California was our balloon trip with Up & Away. I booked with Up & Away because of their excellent customer reviews. We took off from the Santa Rosa airport after watching the balloons set up and inflated. David was the captain of our balloon and Mike, the owner, was piloting the other balloon. We had a beautiful ride over vineyards and the Santa Rosa area. We felt very safe and even though I am afraid of heights, this felt totally comfortable. David and Mike answered all our questions and were great hosts during the flight and the champagne brunch which was on the beautiful grounds of a winery. The brunch was delicious with quiche, chocolate covered strawberries and much more. We couldn't have asked for a better experience. They have a good website that will answer questions you might have.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks very much Dale, was great having you out.
Kind regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington, United States
1 review
“A Dream Come True!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have always wanted to ride in a hot air balloon...so for our 15th wedding anniversary my amazing hubby planned a surprise trip with Up and Away.

Our trip was in question a couple of times due to the weather, so when we finally lifted off the ground and floated over the Sonoma vineyards, we were beyond thrilled. We so appreciated Mike and his entire team--from their concern for our safety and comfort, to their experience and expertise, to the sense of humor they all shared. Our pilot was well-versed in both ballooning and local history/ trivia, and we fully enjoyed his commentary throughout the flight.

After a perfect take-off, scenic flight, and a textbook landing, we were treated to a yummy homemade champagne brunch in the walnut grove at the Kendall Jackson Vineyard. In all, it was wonderful!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for the review, and for hanging in there with
the goofy weather this year!!
Kind regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience, Great People!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

During our recent vacation to the Sonoma Valley my fiancé and I went on a ballooning excursion with Up & Away. It was a marvelous experience made even more so by the friendly, knowledgeable, professional crew and especially the owner and senior pilot Mike. It was apparent that safety came first, but having fun was just as important. These guys really know the landscape and their love of the valley is apparent. Afterwards Mike and his crew hosted a really fun champagne brunch at a beautiful winery that was prepared by Mike’s lovely wife Patti. An added bonus was the great people from all over, including some locals, who made up our group. We decided that next trip to the Sonoma Valley we’ll just have to go ballooning with Up & Away again!
Bill & Karen

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balloonguy01, Owner at Up & Away Ballooning, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thanks so much Bill for your kind words, makes all the
behind the scenes hard work all that more worthwhile.
Appreciate you taking time to send out the review.
Best regards
Mike and Patty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Up & Away Ballooning also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Occidental, Sonoma County
 

Been to Up & Away Ballooning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Up & Away Ballooning, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.