We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly caring staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandman Motel to your Saves list
Sandman Motel
3421 Cleveland Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly caring staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was a one night stay on a cross-country trip. It is a family run motel and its greatest asset is the people who run it. The price was better than most in the area and the motel is clean but can use new pillows. The pillows we had are very old and flat. Plan to bring your coffee and a snack back to your room because the office is tiny. The walls are thin and even though the people in the next room were talking softly in the next room, it was difficult to sleep because they talked most of the night.

Room Tip: This motel is on a busy street so try to get a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    119
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
55
79
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Needed to go to Santa Rosa for an overnight to ride in Le Tour de Fuzz, a great bike ride that winds its way through the vineyards of Sonoma County. The Sandman Inn was rated fourth among hotels in the area by Trip Advisor, so I decided to check it out. It is a motel but a very clean one with a friendly staff. They allowed us to keep our bikes in our room and were very conveniently located on the northside of town. The ride start was a five minute drive from the Inn. For location and the basics it was very good.

Room Tip: Lower floor in the back near the pool was a quiet location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

With the exception noted in the headline, Sandman is a perfectly reasonable choice for a motel. The rooms are better furnished and tidier than most. It has the usual issues of noise from above if you’re on the first floor, blank-faced teenagers at the front desk, and a cheap, all-carbohydrate breakfast. But if you want to save money or are just passing through for a night, it will probably work for you.

Now for the big exception. There’s something about places that charge extra for pets. Quite a few, including this one, use pet owners as a way to get rid of rooms that no one else would want. At Sandman the “pet rooms” are in a dark corner building, across from the maintenance room. Parking is down the hallway and around the corner, instead of the usual front-of-the unit location, so don’t bring a lot of stuff with you. It’s a pain to get it to the room. My room also had a glaring florescent light right outside the window that was on all night.

It’s like you have some sort of embarrassing social disease and have to be segregated from the general population. And then you get to pay more than the "normal" people. Next time I’ll plan my stops around places that are truly dog-friendly. It’s not worth the feeling of second-class citizenship at motels like this one.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Everywhere in Sonoma/Napa California wine country is overpriced. We had trouble finding a place that would accept a reservation for a single overnight but Sandman did. All the others we called wanted 3 night minimum. As the other recent review say, Sandman is a good value and reasonable for the area. Check in was smooth, room was no frills/no surprises. Exactly what we wanted. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights on my own whilst exploring the wine country areas of Sonoma, Napa Valley and surrounds. I researched everything before booking here as it had great reviews and was so cheap in comparison to everything else including best westerns.

Check in was excellent. The girl who served me was so lovely and since the county fair was in town she told me I should try to make it there which I did and had a wonderful time.

The room was really nice. Motel standard but upscale in comparison to other Sandmans I have stayed at on low budget tours. I had a double bed (which was comfortable), en suite, a fridge and microwave. Wifi was great, it never cut out or lagged. There is a pool which looked good but I didn't have time to use. Breakfast was free each morning, pool side (standard stuff like cereal, toast, waffles etc) which was good value as well.

Overall location was excellent. In Santa Rosa just off the highway. Had gas stations, Kohls, target, fast food and restaurants right around you. Walmart and other stores were about 6 min drive from the motel.

I would not hesitate to stay here again. It was by far the best value, even on a thurs-sat stay, and accommodation was clean and better than expected.

Buy some expensive wine and cheese with all the money you save staying here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place was easy to reach off the 101. Room was large, clean and quiet. Laundry facilities available if you need them. Breakfast was good and employee kept it well stocked. Low cost for good value. Large property and looked like it was sold out for Labor Day weekend. Person at front desk recommended a place for dinner that we had to drive to in the middle of an industrial area, and then it was not even open! We ended up eating at the restaurant that was right next door to the hotel! It was good food, reasonable price, and very friendly service. All the food looked delicious. We had 2 different types of salmon which were both good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, Usa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Sandman is an excellent value for the area. Very nice room, big swimming pool, nice hot tub, and great price. I didn't bother with the breakfast, because I'm a carnivore and was looking for serious eggs and meat, which were available with a very short walk. But I was impressed with the value - affordable for the area and very nice accomodations. A lot of stuff nearby, including a Trader Joe's and a number of restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Motel

Address: 3421 Cleveland Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Santa Rosa
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Rosa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#6 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sandman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel Santa Rosa
Sandman Motel Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandman Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.