We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average hotel experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Railroad St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
1 review
“Very average hotel experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Fitness room is small with outdated equipment, bar prices are crazy high, area around hotel sketchy requiring lots if security, service average. Not worth what they charge. Will not return. Hotel layout is such you cannot use stairs.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    190
    97
    44
    22
See reviews for
74
195
23
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If one is looking for Hyatt quality, I believe this location should fit the description. This is an excellent base when touring the Sonoma Valley either for business or pleasure, especially wine tasting. The location is easy on/off the 101 freeway just on the edge of downtown. One appeal of this place is the easy walk to many downtown restaurants, shops and wine bars. Parking is free.

The lobby is unassuming and not overly large, there is an inviting sitting area near a fireplace and few tables near a lobby bar. The front desk is set up for two people and the staff is warm and friendly. I cannot say enough positive praise for the front desk staff. More to follow.

Our king room on the second floor overlooked the garden patio, the one with the fire pit. The decor had a bit of rustic barn feel with one large chair, desk and task chair. The dresser drawers are small and tucked behind doors. The closet is small and the door to the bathroom is a sliding barn door which is sort of heavy and did stick making it even more difficult to slide. The bed is the best feature, sleeping was restful and extremely comfortable. Overall the room is comfortable, adequate size, clean and comfortable.

The Brasserie restaurant and bar serves excellent food. The bar staff are engaging, fun and keep lively conversation. I did enjoy an amazing pulled pork sandwich for lunch as well going back that evening for a glass of sparkling wine. I was here with my wife for her event. The catering staff were excellent and the food was very good.

The hotel is quiet as we learned the location was sold out both nights of our stay. Room to room noise is minimal. We did have an unfortunate incident when at around 10:30 Friday night we heard the familiar click of the door lock and the door opened. Luckily we had secured the safety latch so the door could not open completely. A young adult couple were assigned our room. I think the young couple were more mortified than us, it was a minor mistake. Had the safety latch not been on, it may have been a much more embarrassing incident.

The next morning I went to the front desk and spoke with Marco the front desk manager. He first apologized and had genuine concern when explaining that a computer glitch opened a block of rooms. It was his professionalism and forthcoming not to hide behind the incident which provided us peace of mind this was a fluke incident.

My slightly negative critiques of the room features and the room incident in no way should deter anyone looking for a quality experience. The staff are what makes this Hyatt exceptional and why I give it an excellent rating. From Dave and Marco, the catering staff, housekeeping to the restaurant and bar; every interaction with hotel staff was positive. Thanks for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Do take a stroll around the grounds, it is a beautiful place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Nice Hyatt. Average. Grounds good.
Rooms clean. Have had better beds before
Pool area is nice. Bar is good too.
Good location close to old town. Lots of bars and food.
Lots of homeless people too
AC units a bit loud
Bit a nice location for wine tasting

Room Tip: Get a room with a patio with French doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Both staff members we interacted with had a positive attitude and definitely tried..but there is only so much you can do without support.
Saturday night with a single lone guy working the front?
Room is nice and there is a nice courtyard, but you have to walk to whole length of the hotel to get to the elevator to get to the room right above reception...not user friendly...especially with only 1 or 2 luggage carts. Oh and you need to pull out your room key to use the elevator at all...I did not think this was such a bad area ???

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington, CT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Pro:
Staff was friendly, professional, helpful, accomodating.

Lobby has fresh fruit and cold water stations set up. Both helpful after long days of wine/beer touring.

Free parking.

Easy on/off highway. Easy to find. Easy to walk around Santa Rosa from hotel (for post wine/beer touring eats).

Lovely grounds. Fire pit, pool, lobby.

Con:
$10/night for WiFi access. I hate when hotels charge for this. Scratch that, hate is not strong enough. Whatever is stronger than hate.

We got a patio room so we could have some outdoor space. It was directly in front of the pool which meant we had to keep the blinds closed so that we could also have some privacy.

The room was really small. Wall to wall with just a king bed and a chair.

The bathroom door was a sliding door that didn't latch. It also didn't stay closed entirely....a little strange and uncomfortable, even while staying with the hubby. And there was no fan in he bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced (especially compared to downtown San Francisco!), the hotel served us well for a family vacation with two days in SF and one in the Sonoma County Coast And the redwoods. Time your drive to the city to miss peak traffic, and don't miss Santa Rosa's own Charles Schultz Museum, or the small plates at Willie's Wine Bar! Two blocks from the hotel, Railroad Square offers lots of options for food, drink, and more.

Room Tip: 3d floor corner overlooking the creek & the gardens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at the Hyatt Vineyard Creek for our daughter's wedding. The rooms were spacious and clean. The highlight of this hotel is the staff. They were enormously helpful and always smiling and courteous.
The wedding garden is beautiful and the banquet facilities excellent. I read a yelp review that stated the banquet food was horrible, but I disagree completely. The food was very good. Many of our guests commented on how much the enjoyed it. People especially enjoyed the cheese stations during the cocktail hour.
We very much enjoyed the wine tasting Friday evening.
If I had to find a negative it would be that this hotel needs a gift shop. If you stay here ask for a patio room, we loved ours!
Overall we spent close to $30,000 at this hotel and it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa

Address: 170 Railroad St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 story boutique hotel with Tuscan-style architecture. Rich wine country colors and oversized furniture gives the feel of comfort and home in the lobby and rooms. Sun drenched courtyards border the meeting rooms, allowing for natural light and patio access on our 14,000 square feet of space. The wisteria covered walking paths are bordered by a 80 foot water wall and 18,000 square feet of open grass space and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel Santa Rosa
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel And Spa Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.