We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid lodging, pretty grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Railroad St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast for Two
Ranked #5 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Solid lodging, pretty grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night and enjoyed it more than most, it seems. The room was comfortable, typical 3.5 star hotel. We found it clean and inviting. Our room faced the courtyard which was a nice perk at night when the fire was going on below. Most people probably don't get a chance to walk around the grounds which is too bad as its quite large and well kept. The pathways lead out to the main streets though we were a bit cautious late at night. Staff was efficient and friendly; especially the gentleman who brought our breakfast in the morning. It was late unfortunately (about 20 min after our requested window) but the guy had such a nice attitude and demeanor, we were charmed. Plus the sticky bun french toast was very good (too much cheese in the scramble). About a 10-15 min walk downtown. Really, no complaints except the towels were a little rough.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    183
    95
    44
    22
See reviews for
70
186
22
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

After much thought we decided on the Hyatt at Santa Rosa. It is a very nice property, with a very friendly staff. From Santa Rosa it was very easy to explore all the areas Sonoma has to offer. We had a patio room over looking the pool and garden area. It was spacious and well appointed.

Room Tip: Patio rooms are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

The Hyatt in downtown Santa Rosa is in an excellent location from which to explore the Sonoma and Napa wineries. The rooms are large, quiet, and decently decorated. The breakfast restaurant is attached but you need to walk outside to reach it (as it appears to be run as an external restaurant).

The building is a rambling 3-story pseudo-Spanish style place. Outside restaurants and some wine-tasting places are within easy walking distance. I was pleasantly surprised to see the local and organic scene, which I did not expect in the historic district of Santa Rosa.

You will need a car or tour to sample the wineries... all within a comfortable distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san clemente, ca
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a very nice, generic hotel. It does not offer many amenities that less expensive chains do (free breakfast or happy hour). There is no coffee in the lobby and you have to walk outside to the restaurant (sometimes in the rain) for coffee and/or a pricey breakfast. They charge for internet if you don't have an upgraded room. Probably won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the courtyard are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
874 helpful votes 874 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I recently stayed 2 nights at the Hyatt Vineyard Creek for business in Santa Rosa. As a Hyatt elite member, I prefer Hyatt properties, but the recent reviews get it just about right--it is a decent Hyatt, not quite up to snuff compared to most city Hyatt properties, a little tired, with decent and sometimes very good service, but lacking the niceties found at most Hyatts elsewhere. The location is superb, with easy walking access to downtown Santa Rosa or driving access to nearby wineries and freeways.

Considering Santa Rosa really doesn't have any excellent hotels, as agreed to by my colleagues and clients who live there, this Hyatt may actually be your best bet for a decent hotel. Just be sure not to expect typical Hyatt niceties when you stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Checked in after the sun set so couldn't see much of the property. Service at checkin was efficient and friendly. Good advice on wineries. Room was large, maybe a little too large for the amount of furniture in it. Bed was very comfortable and slept very well. Free parking helps. Bathroom spacious with separate shower and tub. Breakfast held at the Brasserie and the eggs Benedict was very well done and tasty.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This place is just what we needed! We wanted a traditional Thanksgiving dinner away from home and a chance to see The Schulz Museum the next day. Brasserie restaurant put on a nice three-course, prix fix holiday meal. Every staff member we encountered at the restaurant and the hotel was friendly and hospitable. This hotel has a remarkable sculpture garden out back. I imagine this is the setting for some awesome weddings. The fireplace in the lobby and the fire pit in the courtyard make this place a pretty cool spot to hang out with friends.

The previous review wrote, '...not much Hyatt." That may be true but not in a total negative aspect. This is one of only a few Hyatt Regency properties left in the country with free onsite parking and no resort fee even though it has a spa. Santa Rosa is a low key town so it was nice to not be ambushed by valets and bellmen when we arrived in the porte cochere. Don't get me wrong, there are times when I want that level of pampering and service -- almost all other times in fact -- but this wasn't one of them. So, appreciate this wonderful property for what it is: "Hyatt Unplugged" if you will.

The rooms: Housekeeping was suboptimal but acceptable. The phone was dusty and had what looked like makeup and some grime in the handset craddle which is a sure sign that it is not being cleaned with disinfectant regularly. Phones, TV remotes and light switches are germ hotspots that need regular attention after each guest. Moreover, a cavernous void existed in the credenza where the refrigerator use to be. The lack of a refrigerator was an inconvenience for us because we have a 2-year-old who needs milk to wind down before bedtime and occasionally in the middle of the night. Lastly, we were given what Hyatt calls a "hypoallergenic room." This is an upgrade according to the front desk. There was an air purifier humming in the corner of the room when we walked in; however, the filters were caked with dust and lint so I'm not sure what the advantage was to having it. We have no allergies, so it wasn't that big of a deal for us one way or the other.

At the end of the day, the amazing people, perfect location and beautiful grounds are what will make us come back here again. It's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa

Address: 170 Railroad St., Santa Rosa, CA 95401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Rosa
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 story boutique hotel with Tuscan-style architecture. Rich wine country colors and oversized furniture gives the feel of comfort and home in the lobby and rooms. Sun drenched courtyards border the meeting rooms, allowing for natural light and patio access on our 14,000 square feet of space. The wisteria covered walking paths are bordered by a 80 foot water wall and 18,000 square feet of open grass space and gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel Santa Rosa
Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel And Spa Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Vineyard Creek Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.