We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fun Place To Ear” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willi's Wine Bar

Willi's Wine Bar
4404 Old Redwood Hwy, Santa Rosa, CA 95403
(707) 526-3096
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Willi's Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 448 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mark West Springs
Description: A 2009 San Francisco Chronicle Bay Area Top 100 Restaurant. Willi’s Wine Bar's classic roadhouse appeal captures the casual, laid-back nature of the Sonoma County Wine Country. Tourists and locals feel equally at home enjoying a quick bite or lingering over a glass of wine. The menu at Willi's features 32 international small plates, some wildly inventive and others comfortingly familiar. The knowledgeable staff is eager to help create perfect pairings with wines from the extensive wine list. Diners will find a dazzling array of wines by local producers and are likely to find the winemakers themselves at a nearby table. All wines are available in a two-ounce taste as well as by the glass or bottle. Patio dining is covered and heated.
Va
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Fun Place To Ear”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is an experience not to be missed if you are in Santa Rosa. Small plates of food give you the opportunity to share, to taste different things and to enjoy the whole dining experience. Great place to go to with friends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    102
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Broussard, La
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great service, ambiance, selection, and quality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Willi's Wine Bar executed every phase flawlessly: service, ambiance, selection, quality, etc. We especially liked being able to pick our own wine flight along with their great diversity of dishes, all we tried were excellent. While the pork belly pot stickers and the Moroccan lamb were great, the dish that stood out most was the warm spinach salad with goat cheese, pancetta, and almonds. The synergy of this dish was outstanding! (We are vacationing foodies from South Louisiana and plan to return to Willi's on future trips to this area.)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Favorite meal of the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We asked a local vineyard to recommend a good place for lunch - and we are so glad we did! Willi's Wine Bar was the perfect location for a leisurely lunch on the patio. We almost drove right by - the outside is deceiving. I'm not sure we would have stopped without the recommendation!
Our party of 4 ordered a cheese plate, two salads, and 6 small plates. I tried all but one and the food was really good. The menu had a great variety for both the food and the wines. I would highly recommend to visitors.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“No More Willi's Wine Bar for Us”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Unfortunately, we will not longer be eating at Willi's Wine Bar. While it was originally one of our favorite restaurants in the area, after our experience last week we will not be eating there anymore. We arrived for our reservation and were seated at a table in the bar. There were four of us and as soon as we saw where the table was, we asked for another table due to the loudness of the bar area. There were a number of vacant 4-tops in the porch area and the front dining room, both much quieter areas. The person seating us said she would check. A few minutes later a woman approached and said we had to sit there, nothing else was available. We explained that it was too loud, one of us wore hearing aids and there were a number of other 4-tops that had no one sitting at them. The woman refused to accommodate our request, saying if we wanted to sit at another table we should have requested that when we made our reservation. I asked, "so we're supposed to request a specific table when we make reservations?" and she replied "Yes." We decided to take our business elsewhere, which we successfully did, winding up with a nice table at Baci in Healdsburg.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StarksManagement, General Manager at Willi's Wine Bar, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are very sorry that we were not able to accommodate your request to move to another table on your recent visit. We do our best to make our guests comfortable and obviously we failed to meet your expectations in this instance. We would have been glad to move you if it had been possible. Unfortunately, the empty tables that you noticed had been reserved by other diners. We do hope that you will return. If you contact us directly, we will be happy to note your preference in your customer file so that the host will see it any time that you call for a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“So many great dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We made a reservation based on Willi's great reviews and it did not disappoint. We tried about ten different plates on the menu and shared them between the table. Great and unique menu. Parking was nice and way too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willi's Wine Bar also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Willi's Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willi's Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.