We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Interior, Reasonable Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Equus at the Fountain Grove Inn

Equus at the Fountain Grove Inn
Fountain Grove Inn, 101 Fountain Grove Pkwy. (Mendocino Ave.), Santa Rosa, CA 95403
7075780149
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Equus at the Fountain Grove Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #117 of 448 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mendocino Ave.
Transit: 8 miles from Sonoma County Airport
San Jose, CA
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice Interior, Reasonable Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had dinner, also breakfast the next day. The dinner menu was not very extensive but the food was prepared well. Breakfast was buffet style, and there was plenty - including cereal, fruit, eggs, yogurt, coffee, bread. The cost was not too high so I can't complain. This is right outside the entrance to the Fountaingrove Inn in Santa Rosa, California, where we stayed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    27
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Happy Hour!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The happy hour specials are too die for.. the cocktails yummy, the atmosphere is humming and happy, the service is great and friendly, I just cannot say enough about this place!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a good time at Equus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Whenever in Santa Rosa, the trip would not be complete if we didn't stop in at Equus. Personable staff, good food and comfortable surroundings make this an ideal place for a glass of wine and appetizers. The hotel is wonderful, can't say enough good about it, and the main restaurant looks inviting, but I haven't been in there for a couple of years.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A little hard to find but worth the search”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had an end room with a sitting area, lovely hors d'oeuvres waiting for us in our refrigerator when we got there (pre-ordered) and a comfortable, clean and sunny room.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“After a tentative start, a good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife has special dietary needs. Unfortunately, only the head chef has the power to agree to variations, and he was off duty when I made the reservation. Fortunately I caught up with him on the afternoon of our meal, and he was cooperative. Both our meals were beautifully prepared and presented. We had an attentive but not intrusive waiter, and were seated in a pleasant booth. This was a nostalgic visit for me since I knew and loved the Equus from back in the mid '90s. I am happy that the standards have been maintained.
The wine list (presented on an iPad) is, as you would expect, predominantly local.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Equus at the Fountain Grove Inn also viewed

 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Equus at the Fountain Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Equus at the Fountain Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.