We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegetarian/vegan, organic & locally-sourced buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaia's Garden

Gaia's Garden
1899 Mendocino Ave, Santa Rosa, CA 95401-3628
+1 707-544-2491
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 448 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian, International
Dining options: Takeout, Buffet
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Buffet
Mount Shasta, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian/vegan, organic & locally-sourced buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We happened to be staying at the hotel next door and were extremely pleased to find Gaia's Garden. We usually have to go out of our way to find good veg options when we travel, so it was a treat to find something so conveniently located. We selected the dinner buffet which was $8.95 for all we could fit onto a 9" plate, which included vegan pasta, polenta, an Indian curry with rice, corn-on-the-cob, steamed veggies and more. It was all very delicious and quite filling. All in a very clean, lovely and peaceful environment. Hope they continue for a long time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Veg/vegan buffet for a non veg/vegan eater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife is vegan and I am not even a vegetarian. This was a wonderful spot with a great all you can eat dinner buffet...I was even happy with the varied selections. I loved it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mostly vegan, gluten-free, somewhat organic AND healthy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Not only was nearly everything vegan and gluten-free, but the greens and potatoes were organic, and it was great! I was also pleased that the food seemed low in oil and salt. However, there are many condiments and add-it-yourself seasoning options for those who like their food heavily flavored!

I was just a little disappointed that the lasagna had cheese on it, as it was the heartiest option there, and could've been made vegan by using cashew cheese, or daiya cheese and vegan nutritional yeast. "Rawmesan" makes a good vegan parmesan cheese.

But besides that, it was the best all-you-can eat restaurant I have ever been to, considering how truly HEALTHY the food options were.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa CA
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Super Super Healthy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Fiber load for sure. The 4 of us had the buffet. Nice way to try something you might not otherwise. The Chai tea wasn't so good and someone had forgot to brew the iced tea..... The soups were quite good as were the rest of the choices. Very filling. Good experience out of our comfort zone. As a dental person the anti fluoride poster on the front door rubbed me the wrong way.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great vegan faire. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I enjoyed the buffet here. Owner operator was a cool guy, the process a bit odd but once we got it explained to us, we had it worked out. Casual atmosphere, there may have been live music at some point, it never really started. Location was convenient, parking okay. Food was excellent, varied and interesting. Will come here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaia's Garden also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Gaia's Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaia's Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.