We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a renovated older motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redwood Inn

Redwood Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Rosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redwood Inn
Save Saved
You added Redwood Inn to your Saves list
1670 Santa Rosa Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95404   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Apple Valley, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great value in a renovated older motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here three nights a couple of weeks ago. It's an older motel, mostly one story buildings, but it's been renovated and very clean. Owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room didn't have a hair dryer, but the manager was quick to loan us one (in original box even). Breakfast consists of a few packaged goods in the room, but we bought our own supplies; the room had a fridge and microwave, plus a Keurig coffee maker, so we didn't mind being independent there. It's a convenient location, right near the 101 freeway, but our rooms were toward the back and quiet enough. WiFi coverage was decent (better than at some fancy hotels).

Room Tip: There's a shopping center a block away if you need anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
3
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We spent one night at the Redwood Inn in Santa Rosa. We were nearly the only guests in a moderately large motel (Monday eve in January). The motel was very easy to find, just off hwy 101. The double queen room was immaculate. There was no breakfast, but snacks were available in the room at no extra charge (OJ, water, apple juice, Natural Valley bars, Welch's fruit snacks). The room had two chairs plus a desk chair. The room had a TV, microwave, refrigerator and a keurig coffee maker. Missing: no grab bar in the shower, no bathroom hooks for bathrobe or cosmetic bag, weird narrow shelf in bathroom could only hold a small bottle of shampoo and a bar of soap, no luggage rack.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodInn, Owner at Redwood Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank You Kindly for your positive review. We are most appreciative of your pointing out our short comings. Immediate attention will be given to each item listed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a great value and that's why I rated it 5 stars! My rating is based up a midweek stay of 4 days at the end of October. We were looking for an economical motel - absolutely had to be quiet, clean, safe and with no frills. We got that & more. The room had just been renovated, very clean, there were complimentary snacks & juice in our room every day & it was really quiet. In the busy season maybe it isn't as quiet but for our stay it was peaceful. Also I asked for a hairdryer and was given a brand new one to use.
This was far better experience (nicer room & more modern) than the Best Western we stayed in previously which is just up the street.
We were told afterwards that this area may not be that safe but it looked ok and since the management office is in the middle and staff always seemed to be around in the day, it appeared very safe. Given that this is a simple and economical motel, our experience was excellent.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet, no smoking room. Ours was on the upper floor in the middle and was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Comfortable beds. Room was clean and up to date. Area seems safer than it appeared at first. Friendly staff. Wifi in the north section wasn't working, but the staff fixed it. No breakfast is included, but they offer complimentary snacks in the room. Would stay here again. Water pressure could be a little more.

Room Tip: Check the wifi service in the north and south sections before choosing which room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Don’t expect anything fancy, but it’s a clean, functional room for a reasonable price. Management had turned on the A/C before hand; so the room was comfortable on a very hot day. They even supplied a few snacks and soft drinks. We were a little surprised by the plastic-wrapped mattress, but it didn’t seem to affect our sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived in Santa Rosa on a US holiday weekend with no reservation.
Redwood Inn was the first place under $100 we found. The only room left was a fully handicapped room with 2 double beds. There was no shortage of hot water and clean linen. It was clean and quiet. It was occupied by several workers all of whom left their boots/runners just outside their doors. It was surprisely very quiet. The cleaning staff were friendly and very helpful. The owner/manager struck us as being a no-nonsence business like person. We would stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I spend a lot of time traveling for work and recently spent sever weeks in Santa Rosa. I visited many motels in the area and selected the Redwood Inn for my extended stay here. The rooms are bright and clean, and the furniture and bedding was new! Redwood Inn provided plenty of clean towels and room service every day. The Redwood staff and management are on sight 24/7 and keep the motel well maintained and noise free. I will stay here again on my next trip to Santa Rosa.
David from Detroit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Inn

Address: 1670 Santa Rosa Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95404
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redwood Inn has an easy access to Hwy 101 and Hwy 12. There are several nearby Restaurants, Stores and Gas Stations including Costco gas station. Shopping Centers and Santa Rosa Mall are within driving distance (one mile). We offer Comfortable Rooms, Suites, and Kitchenettes. Smokers’ and Nonsmoker’s Units are available. Local attractions include Charles M. Schulz Museum, Safari West Animal Experience, and Spring Lake Park among others.Complementary In Room Breakfast Items are Included. Several Restaurants are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Redwood Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.