We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redwood Inn

Save Saved
You added Redwood Inn to your Saves list
Redwood Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Redwood Inn
1670 Santa Rosa Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95404   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
San Sebastian
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Very happy with our stay here. It's good value, especially compared to the exaggerated prices on the coast. We can only agree with the positive comments below. And indeed the owner does not appear to like smokers in his motel. Suits us fine.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This place is clean and well-run. It was a very good value for me, due to the fact that I needed an extended stay hotel room for approximately a month. This place was cheaper than the extended stay america hotels (about 1/3 less). The property managers of this hotel are very much on top of everything that is going on there, and they run a tight ship. I would stay there again, and would recommend anyone who needs to go to Santa Rosa for any reason stay there.

Room Tip: Request non-smoking (but you cannot smoke).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here with my husband and 4 kids on our way out of San Francisco on our way to the Avenue of the Giants. I booked this hotel because of the extra beds and space the family suite provided. For only $95 I thought the accomodations were a great deal. This room was really like a small apartment. There was a separate bedroom with a queen bed, a bathroom with toilet, sink and tub, 2 beds (a queen and a twin) in the front living area with TV and a separate kitchen with a small table. This family suite easily accomdated our family of 6. The room was exceptionally clean and it was a great place to stay for a quick night. I didn't need to use the kitchen facilities in the room, but it would have come in handy if I had needed to cook or prepare a fast meal. If you are looking for a budget hotel for a larger family, this will meet your needs perfectly.

Room Tip: Ask for the family suite if you need beds for 5+ people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are remodeled and painted recently. Small rooms and small older TV. Good channel selection. No hair dryer so I donated mine to the cause. Rigid non smoking policy for the nonsmoking rooms which I encourage and appreciate.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The motel is on a very busy street.It is well maintained and the staff is good. BUT-- there is a bar across the street and it is hard to explain the level of noise coming from it.Horns and drums!Sufficient to say we got "no" sleep between 10:30 and 2:15 and this was on a monday night.We can't even imagine what it would be like over the weekend.We came here because of the other reviews so dont know if it is constant problem but will not try it again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedwoodInn, Owner at Redwood Inn, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
We, the management at Redwood Inn, regret your experience due to the noise from the Mexican restaurant across the street. Such occurrences are very rare, though there may have been a birthday party or a similar celebration. I, the owner of the Redwood Inn, stayed on the premises for several nights during Christmas and the New Year and experienced a similar issue. Unable to personally resolve the issue, the local authority was able to speak with the proprietor across the street and stop the noise. Since then we haven’t heard the loud music being played. We apologize for the extended disturbance during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011 via mobile

I am a non-smoker and the friend I traveled with is not. So I booked us that way. My room was, although quite dated, very nice. My friend's room was hideous. I would stay here again because it was a lovely, nostalgic place and very nicely kept. There was a fridge and coffeemaker in the room and complementary snacks. I don't remember if there was a microwave. There is a Denny's across the street and a gas station. Very convenient to 101 and 12. I would recommend this hotel to non-smokers.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Never before have I stumbled on a place as unexpectedly perfect as Redwood Inn. Hidden in Santa Rosa, just 50 miles north of San Francisco and in the heart of wine country, this establishment is one of the finest I've seen. The rooms are spotless, the staff is friendly, and it's a quiet and safe place to stay. The rates were very reasonable as well. My suggestion: travel a little farther from SF and stay at Redwood Inn (and visit the Charles Schulz museum while you're in Santa Rosa), you'll save money and have a great time! Visit their excellent website to learn about what's in town!

Room Tip: Friendly people who don't smoke typically get the best rooms anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Redwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redwood Inn

Address: 1670 Santa Rosa Avenue, Santa Rosa, CA 95404
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redwood Inn has an easy access to Hwy 101 and Hwy 12. There are several nearby Restaurants, Stores and Gas Stations including Costco gas station. Shopping Centers and Santa Rosa Mall are within driving distance (one mile). We offer Comfortable Rooms, Suites, and Kitchenettes. Smokers’ and Nonsmoker’s Units are available. Local attractions include Charles M. Schulz Museum, Safari West Animal Experience, and Spring Lake Park among others.Complementary In Room Breakfast Items are Included. Several Restaurants are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Redwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redwood Inn Santa Rosa, CA - Sonoma County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.