We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Torch of India - Santa Rosa

Torch of India - Santa Rosa
507 4th St, Santa Rosa, CA 95401-6323
707-569-7500
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 464 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: B Street
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good lunch buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This review is for their weekday lunch buffet- limited selection but quality food. Buffet had one appetizer, one soup, four veg and three non veg curries, salad & two desserts. You have a choice of bread between naan & garlic naan. Naan arrives hot & fresh at the table. Curries in general were flavorful, looked fresh and not overly creamy. Soup and appetizer were a disappointment, dessert & salad were average.

While the food in general was good but nothing in the menu was finger licking good or exceptionally flavorful. Also, I found a complimentary drink missing in the buffet. A choice of drink like tea or soda in the buffet would have made up for the missing zing.

For the price, it's a reasonably good buffet. Staff is attentive & the place has an ethnic feel to it. Decor is mellow yet pleasing to the eyes. All in all, a good try!

Tip: They have recently increased their weekday lunch price to $9.99.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Lunch Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I love indian food and I had not found a place since moving to the north bay. My boyfriend never had it so when I saw the sign for an all you can eat buffet meal, I thought a buffet would be best so he can try different flavors. It was a delightful break from our shopping in Santa Rosa. I was surprised how authentic the food was and it was pleasantly displayed with a lot of choices. The $8.99 price was great too. I love that they serve the bread hot to order. The decor is beautiful with linen napkins and cultural art on the walls, neat and clean, with excellent service. I recommend this place and will certainly go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in town by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The owner is also the chef and is passionate about the quality of his food, which is exceptionally good, and varied.
Be careful when asking for spicy- you will definitely get it!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've been to Torch of India for lunch three times in the last few months, and have come away completely happy each time. As vegetarians, it's often hard to find a place where we can have delicious, interesting food that's not cheese/sauce laden or boring. There are several vegetarian choices on the lunch buffet, and all of them are terrific. I've noticed that the lunchtime crowd is a mix of workers from downtown offices and couples/friends, plus a few solo diners, and this would be a comfortable spot to dine alone. Park across the street at the mall (the first hour or two are free) and walk the short distance to the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Green with Envy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The Torch of India is tucked away in a narrow rectangular space, but the food is delicious. The green papua salad is a great starter. We always have enough to take away and have a second meal at home. The curry dishes are well seasoned. The mild version still has a delightful bite to it.
The cost is reasonable and you receive value for your money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torch of India - Santa Rosa also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Torch of India - Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torch of India - Santa Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.