We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nonni's Restaurant Itali

Nonni's Restaurant Itali
420 Mendocino Ave, Santa Rosa, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 442 restaurants in Santa Rosa
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Wow, from the moment we entered the restaurant, we fell in love with the place. There was a guy playing Italian favorites on an accordion (singing as well) and from what I could see, he had no microphone, although his voice carried nicely throughout the place. The atmosphere was so uniquely Italian that it brought tears to my eyes (and I'm not even Italian!). My husband had the Lasagna and there wasn't a speck left on his plate when he was done. I had the Veal Marsala, which was also very tasty. All in all, the place gives you a very warm, comfortable, like you're "at home" feeling. I wish we lived closer to Santa Rosa, because I would make this restaurant a "once a week" destination.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    22
    10
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chino, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Mouth watering authentic homemade Italian!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I went here on a whim while doing a weekend getaway and we walked away pleasantly surprised. The family that runs the resturant is 3 generations into it and it shows they all have a vested interest inproviding you with the best food they know and grew up with.

The ambiance is wonderful not too dark but has a good taste or romantic Italian. The service was great and our glasses never went empty. The staff were extremely knowledgable of the menu and very attentive but not too much to interrupt our dinner.

We had the baked brie for an appetizer and it was very delicous with soft flaky crust and yummy brie inside. For the main courses we ordered the gnocci's and also something like a chicken marsala. You could taste the home made love that went into each and every bite. The gnoccis were soft so you knew they were fresh and the chicken was mouthwatering. We were too full to try their homemade desserts but next time were around this area we'll definately be coming back here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Wonderful Homemade Italian Food at Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

After a previous evening of very disappointing food, we had a wonderful experience at Nonni's. Serviced by family members, who aim to please, the portions are extremely large. I wish we would have ordered an individual first (the homemade soup was wonderful) and then share an entree (unless you like to bring it home).

Highly recommended by a foodie!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Local Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Family owned, we were seated by the owner, son was our server and the owners wife roamed the restaurant making sure everyone was happy. Food was excellent and reasonably priced.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I loved the meal and service at this restaurant. It is small but lovely inside, comfortable yet elegant. The recorded music was set a level that enhanced my dining experience instead of intruding on it. The server recommended a really good local Chardonnay. My Caesar salad was perfect, as was the linguini with clams. And the dessert (I can't remember the name of it, but it was served in a glass with expresso, a scoop of ice cream, and lucious topping) is reason all by itself to visit this restaurant. The prices make Nonni's a very good value. I am not easily impressed, so five stars from me is saying a lot.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nonni's Restaurant Itali also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Nonni's Restaurant Itali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nonni's Restaurant Itali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.