We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Puerto Rican Food in Sonoma County” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Coqui

El Coqui
400 Mendocino Ave., Santa Rosa, CA 95401-6314
(707) 542-8868
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 404 Restaurants in Santa Rosa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, On
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
“Incredible Puerto Rican Food in Sonoma County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ate lunch at El Coqui yesterday. My husband had eaten there before but it was my first time. It was fabulous; truly authentic Puerto Rican food in a lovely restaurant + friendly, professional service and very reasonably priced. We both ate the Chicharron de Pollo which was delicious. Crispy skin, moist, flavourful chicken serviced with sweet and green plantains, rice and avocado/tomato salad. I would definitely eat there again and would highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orange county
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A taste of Puerto Rico !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is authentic as you can get without flying to the island. They have habechuelas, tostones and mofongo! Servers were sweet and attentive. I had the limeade..just the right blend of sweet and tart, My husband has the arroz con leche..just llike his mother used to make. We were so jazzed that we found this in Santa Rosa.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Something different!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Never had Puerto Rican food before and we loved it! It's a small, cute restaurant with friendly servers. Our small party got there early for lunch, so we did not have to wait, but it got very busy very quickly. The staff was happy to explain to us the various dishes, and everything we had was delicious (shrimp, chicken, rice, salad, plantains, ice cream, flan). It was a really fun and satisfaying new experience for us and we would go back in a heartbeat if we lived in Santa Rosa!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food, nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The food is pretty good. The service is ok. Kids are ok here as well. Small, but nice place. Prices are decent.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the home cooked food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have eaten here on several occasions and each time have walked away content. The food tastes like something your auntie would make...a delicious home cooked Mel. My choice is always the pork chops with Spanish rice, black beans and sweet plantains. We highly recommend you give El Coqui a try when you are in Santa Rosa.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Coqui also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to El Coqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Coqui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.